We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd like to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Kazan, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'd like to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great place!
We visited the hotel between hurricanes in the autumn of 2013. We were very lucky! The hotel was empty and we enjoyed almost complete solitude. Three great pools, average rooms, a good restaurant, a beach club, a shop with products and souvenirs, children's playroom, and most importantly - the ocean nearby and service wes really great!!
A bit pricey meals at the hotel ... but you can buy groceries at Walmart (before it can even be reached on foot within 15 minutes.) The room has a coffee maker and refrigerator.
We are pleased to be back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliyaGati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    204
    111
    53
    36
See reviews for
308
194
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A Citizen of the Globe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been a Fairmont follower for over two decades and have enjoyed impeccable hospitality the world over. After reading the past reviews on the Acapulco properties, I knew that I had to (dramatically) adjust down my expectations when booking at the Pierre Marques. Frankly, if you are well travelled and especially if you are used to luxury hospitality, you are in for a big dissapointment at the Pierre Marques.

Arriving at the hotel is fairly easy and uncomplicated. Things start go going wrong when the Presidents Club section of the front desk is non-operational and your hard-earned points are overlooked and benefits not awarded. I was definitely not expecting royal treatment (despite being a Diamond member), but the lack of attentiveness, upgrade and amenities, just made me feel bad even asking for recognition (which I didn't)

This hotel is vintage in the real sense of the word. Everything seems to have been conceived and still be managed in the 70's.

Fairmont must have some very good (real estate?) reasons to allow this hotel to continue to be a Fairmont property. Some first-hand examples:

- No welcome amenitites. In fact, no welcome anything. How aout ice cold water in the 90s heat?
- No Wi-Fi in rooms! What? is this 1982?
- No bottled water in rooms! In Mexico? Really? OMG! Really!
- No minibar in rooms! In a resort! In Mexico! Really? No beer, no rum, no anything!
- No proper international spirits (liqueurs) anywhere - Zacapa, Drambuie, Perrier Jouet! 5 stars? Bacardi only? really?
- Request someone @ front desk to open door of fitness center instead of using room key? Really? 1971?
- Fitness center without fruit, old cardio equipment and rusty dumbells? Come on Fairmnont! Really?
- Business center consisting on an old 486 Windows PC with no printer, no scanner, no anything other than slooow Inernet, really?

All in all, the Pierre Marques is a very large property that got stuck in the 70s and its owners have simply not found the financial justification to bring it to the 2013 standards of a luxury beach resort, which it is clearly not anymore.

At most, this property is a 3 or 4 star hotel inside a gated resort from the 70s. Be prepared to pay premium. If you want luxury, look somewhere else (like the Banyan Tree, for example) or if you are into 3 - 4 stars and a budget, go for the Mayan Palace or others.

I thought long and hard about this review as a Fairmont aficionado and long time Diamond member, but believe me, this is truth and nothing else.



Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Ultraplur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I would definitely recommend the Pierre Marques over the Princess. The atmosphere is more relaxed and the staff are very accommodating and friendly. The resort itself has a unique charm and kept very clean; even after a storm had run through.
The guest services staff were very helpful and arranged some flowers to be delivered in under 1 hour! I have never seen that before. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite with an Ocean View. Well worth it! There is also a 3rd pool towards the East...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jokerpoker_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Fairmont was an amazing resort in Acapulco! The pools, the people, the food, the beach... what more could i say! Everything was wonderful. The staff takes making sure customers are comfortable very seriously. From the time we arrived, we were treated like family and everyone made sure that our stay was comfortable.
Huge pluses...
1. Large beach towels
2. Shuttle back and forth from the Princess 24 hours
3. 24 hour deli with amazing hot coffee and ice cream
4. Yummy breakfast and lunch buffet full of a wide array of choices
5. Ocean front rooms - gorgeous view
6. Cabanas at the beach with drink and food service
7. Large Clean rooms
8. Excellent wifi
9. Staff speaks English as well!
10. Several pools some quiet and others secluded

I can't wait to come back! What a treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meixomama2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Travel is all about expectations and when I go to a Fairmont I expect a certain standard.

This place is like a poorly maintained holiday camp. It is old and tired. So if you want a basic weekend away with the kids and get a good rate well that is fine.
Dont expect high end. The place needs an extreme make over. The beach is full of vendors.
There are much nicer places you could go and I wouldnt recommend.
It is also dirty and tired

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_nomad_pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We live in Puebla and decided to drive to Acapulco for a long weekend. We stayed in the Fairmont, Pierre, Marques and it was very nice. The rooms and property were very clean and the service was great. The buffet dinner was very good but a little overpriced. There are plenty of restaurants around to choose from in this area and a walmart just up the street. We asked for a cot for our child and we had it waiting when we checked in. The pool area was great for our two year old and there is another pool for the adults who want privacy, both very nice.The beach was nice at this location, maybe not as nice as cancun but certainly clean enough. We had a very nice weekend and will definately be back, this time hopefully for a week.

Steve, Cindy and Kolton

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool and ocean. It was very quiet at night. No problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited during our kids spring break which was just before the holy week holiday in Mexico. I think that was the key. The place was deserted the entire time, just us and very few others, as a result we had everything to ourselves - the restaurants, the pools, the beach, everything - and that was precisely what we were looking for. I think our experience would have been much different if we were there a week later during the Mexican holidays, so bear that in mind.

This hotel is older, but that adds to the charm, and they do a decent job at the upkeep. So I'd say about what you would expect from a 3-4 star property that sits in front of the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, so no complaints there.

This hotel is near Punta Diamante away from "old Acapulco" in a gated area that includes the golf course, the princess hotel, and some condos. Very close to the acapulco airport.

There is trolley service between the two hotels, and after a couple of days we found ourselves going to the princess for most of the day as the kids preferred their pool with the water slide (and the poolside food was better there). This was no hassle, in fact, the kids loved riding the trolley over, so it added a bit of excitement to the trip.

This hotel is right on revolcadero beach, with direct access. The beach vendors did not bother us too much, but I think it was low season so there werent that many. Just keep in mind that beach vendors can be aggressive so you just have to go in knowing that ahead of time.. most will go away once you say NO a few times. The beach itself was enjoyable, the water temp was great, and the water was clear. Waves were a bit rough, but not terrible, in fact if you surf this is a great option as you can wake up and hit the water in seconds flat. Oh, and dont take valuables to the beach.

The property also has a kids park with swings and stuff, which the kids thoroughly enjoyed!

There's two restaurants on property, a bar/lounge, and a coffee shop/deli. You can order food at all of them. The food was just OK, though the coffee and sandwiches at the deli were above average. There are also 2-3 restaurants at the Princess. Other than that, there are a handfull of good restaurants within a 5 minute drive, that range from very expensive, to just expensive!

In terms of extracurricular activities, we went to see the cliff divers (watch out for the road construction downtown.. it will take an hour or more to get there from the hotel), and we released some sea turtles to the ocean. I played also played a bit of tennis, they have a few hard courts onsite.

So the bottom line is I would do it again, but only during low season!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latinmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
7.4 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#16 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#17 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
7.2 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre Mundo Imperial

Property: Pierre Mundo Imperial
Address: Costera de las Palmas S/N | Col Granjas del Marquez, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#5 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre Mundo Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private hideaway of J. Paul Getty, Pierre Mundo Imperial, one of the best resorts of the country, is the perfect intimate getaway. Mexican villas, bungalows and low-rise buildings sit amidst tropical gardens overlooking three pools on Acapulco's beautiful Revolcadero Beach. Swim, golf, play tennis and enjoy our fine dining restaurants in secluded luxury at Pierre Mundo Imperial resort in Mexico. A testament to a superior experience and service levels, the Pierre Mundo Imperial hotel has been named the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Recognition. Additionally, the prestigious publication Travel & Leisure ranked Pierre Mundo Imperial as one of the best 100 hotels in Latin America and the Caribbean, and the best resort in Acapulco. USA Today named it one of the 10 best hotels all over the world. Pierre Mundo Imperial also offers the perfect scenery for romantic weddings. Just imagine saying "yes" with the ocean as your main witness. With the soaring mountains of the Sierra Madre on one side and the crystal blue Pacific on the other, the splendid tropical paradise of Pierre Mundo Imperial Acapulco awaits you for your next event or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pierre Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Pierre Marques Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco
Pierre Marques Acapulco
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing