We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good place to get away from it all.. at the right time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre Mundo Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Ranked #9 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good place to get away from it all.. at the right time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited during our kids spring break which was just before the holy week holiday in Mexico. I think that was the key. The place was deserted the entire time, just us and very few others, as a result we had everything to ourselves - the restaurants, the pools, the beach, everything - and that was precisely what we were looking for. I think our experience would have been much different if we were there a week later during the Mexican holidays, so bear that in mind.

This hotel is older, but that adds to the charm, and they do a decent job at the upkeep. So I'd say about what you would expect from a 3-4 star property that sits in front of the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, so no complaints there.

This hotel is near Punta Diamante away from "old Acapulco" in a gated area that includes the golf course, the princess hotel, and some condos. Very close to the acapulco airport.

There is trolley service between the two hotels, and after a couple of days we found ourselves going to the princess for most of the day as the kids preferred their pool with the water slide (and the poolside food was better there). This was no hassle, in fact, the kids loved riding the trolley over, so it added a bit of excitement to the trip.

This hotel is right on revolcadero beach, with direct access. The beach vendors did not bother us too much, but I think it was low season so there werent that many. Just keep in mind that beach vendors can be aggressive so you just have to go in knowing that ahead of time.. most will go away once you say NO a few times. The beach itself was enjoyable, the water temp was great, and the water was clear. Waves were a bit rough, but not terrible, in fact if you surf this is a great option as you can wake up and hit the water in seconds flat. Oh, and dont take valuables to the beach.

The property also has a kids park with swings and stuff, which the kids thoroughly enjoyed!

There's two restaurants on property, a bar/lounge, and a coffee shop/deli. You can order food at all of them. The food was just OK, though the coffee and sandwiches at the deli were above average. There are also 2-3 restaurants at the Princess. Other than that, there are a handfull of good restaurants within a 5 minute drive, that range from very expensive, to just expensive!

In terms of extracurricular activities, we went to see the cliff divers (watch out for the road construction downtown.. it will take an hour or more to get there from the hotel), and we released some sea turtles to the ocean. I played also played a bit of tennis, they have a few hard courts onsite.

So the bottom line is I would do it again, but only during low season!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latinmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    168
    93
    46
    31
See reviews for
244
160
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel takes you back in time - but in a good way! Built maybe in the 40´s - has been recently redecorated.
Hospitality of administrative is impeccable - everyone going out of there way to make sure you are having a good time. A small hotel , by todays standards - so gives you that feel that everyone knows you . Food is good and the beach - couldnt be better!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy54058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have visited Fairmont Princess and Marques. They are very nice. However not the place to be during Mexican holidays. No one enjoys waiting 30 + minutes to be seated for breakfast or being elbow to elbow with other visitors. The Marques. WOW. Yes the furniture is a little older but I can't say i'll ever return to the princess after experiencing the Marques. Lets be serious who spends an excessive amount of time in the room anyways! For families with younger children it is perfect. Especially in the off season. Not one ounce of stress. Beautiful ocean views from poolside. If you want to walk to the beach its a few minutes with the kids. Need something from your room as I often do with children. Well that walk is 5 minutes each way rather than 20 minutes at the princess. Food wise. The dinners. LOVED them! I find the buffet meals to be expensive for what you are offered in the off seasons. The dinner buffets are delicious just a little pricey. Not a fan of whats offered for breakfast. MORE MEATS please. Ham , Bacon, Sausage... not just a tiny amount of bacon in a bowl that's already been picked dry.

If you are looking to enjoy yourself and relax even with multiple children haha Marques!!! Couldn't ask for a better place!

Room Tip: VILLAS were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleLady87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

pros
service. quick and not overly bearing
rooms. comfy, big and well decorated
outdoor areas. very clean and well kept

cons
view. the ocean view from our roomwas blocked by a long line of ugly huts on the beach. big con!
building. looks old
gym. difficult to get the concierge to open the room and some of the machines were out of order

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel, on a Saturday night. Despite the number of rooms and the resort-like look around the swimming pool, the place overall gives a sense of relax and 'chill'. It is right on the beach, where you have so many people trying to sell you all sorts of things / activities. This is however not pressing and annoying. Strangely, the hotel's umbrellas and sunbeds are far from the water, which makes it a challenge to find refreshment in the water, when the sun is high in the sky and the sand burning. Breakfast is quite massive, but food does not seem (and certainly does not taste) very fresh - some is laftovers form the night before. However, you can have some fresh food cooked in front of you. Definitely worth a weekend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The service was outstanding! Since the very first moment we arrived on the Hotel, everybody was very kind. We need to change one of the rooms because my mom cannot up an down the stairs and They offered us a special room for senior citizens that was very comfortable and with an excellent view to the ocean and the pool.
We had a little problem with our safety box because it had low battery that was fixed immediately.
I strongly recommend the place! I enjoyed my staying a lot!

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huatulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived for one night for business. Upon entering reception, I wanted to change hotels immediately, but it was already paid for. H I have a severe mold allergy and the reception chairs had it all over the back of them. The receptionist couldn't locate my reservation but I had the confirmation number with me. The front desk saw my reaction to mold and sent someone to the room where I was going to stay to make sure that nothing had mold on it. Thankfully it was only a shower mat which the housekeeper immediately removed. The room was a decent size but in definite need of a facelift. Basically the whole property needs to be remodeled. It was obviously built in the seventies and really looks like it. The furniture also needs to be revamped. They still had the old large box televisions but the bed and linens were comfortable. The location is superb, right on the ocean. I had a better opinion of the place the following morning after having a good breakfast in a lovely restaurant right on the beach. I would recommend this hotel to older American and Canadian retirees coming down for a two week mexican vacation.

Room Tip: The room I had was right in front of the ocean with a terrific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakini68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#11 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#8 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Mayan Palace Acapulco
#7 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#13 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre Mundo Imperial

Property: Pierre Mundo Imperial
Address: Av. Las Palmas s/n | Col Granjas del Marquez, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#5 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pierre Mundo Imperial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private hideaway of J. Paul Getty, Pierre Mundo Imperial, one of the best resorts of the country, is the perfect intimate getaway. Mexican villas, bungalows and low-rise buildings sit amidst tropical gardens overlooking three pools on Acapulco's beautiful Revolcadero Beach. Swim, golf, play tennis and enjoy our fine dining restaurants in secluded luxury at Pierre Mundo Imperial resort in Mexico. A testament to a superior experience and service levels, the Pierre Mundo Imperial hotel has been named the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Recognition. Additionally, the prestigious publication Travel & Leisure ranked Pierre Mundo Imperial as one of the best 100 hotels in Latin America and the Caribbean, and the best resort in Acapulco. USA Today named it one of the 10 best hotels all over the world. Pierre Mundo Imperial also offers the perfect scenery for romantic weddings. Just imagine saying "yes" with the ocean as your main witness. With the soaring mountains of the Sierra Madre on one side and the crystal blue Pacific on the other, the splendid tropical paradise of Pierre Mundo Imperial Acapulco awaits you for your next event or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Pierre Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Pierre Marques Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco
Pierre Marques Acapulco
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing