We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great room, okay hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princess Mundo Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Princess Mundo Imperial
Ranked #10 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
293 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great room, okay hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just stayed at the Acapulco Princess for a night while on business in Acapulco. The room in the new tower was very nice. Well done with all the amenities and right on the corner with a wonderful sea breeze. The hotel however does not compete with the newer luxury resorts in Acapulco. Food was just okay and the rest of the hotel is quite dated. Service is still impeccable and if your in town for business and like running or playing golf this is a good option for the price.

Room Tip: Any room in the refurbished princesa 2 tower, especially a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Aphillips,
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments, we do take all feedback seriously and I appreciate all the information you have submitted, we are always looking to make improvements.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed staying at Pearl during your business trip and certainly this is a wonderful location for golfing and running.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    425
    258
    132
    139
See reviews for
655
309
19
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel was a blast in its earlier years but that doesn't make it a bad place now. The accommodations are nice and the lobby and staff were equally as nice. All in all a great place to enjoy a relaxing vaca

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Eric,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation at the Fairmont Acapulco Princess.
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments, we do take all feedback seriously and I appreciate all the information you have submitted, we are always looking to make improvements.
Best regards
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

As soon as we arrived the staff was ready to assist us, everybody is respectful and make you feel as a special guest, the room was first class, super clean and comfortable, we stayed at the pyramid in an ocean view room, the hotel amenities and restaurants are super clean and updated! The beach is beautiful and the hotel's canopies and beach chairs are super comfortable. We love this Hotel, perfect for our family!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sergio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
What a pleasure to read your review Sergio. I am ecstatic that you had such a great experience and I am especially pleased that you received such an amazing service. Acapulco is known for its friendliness and it is an honor to work with a team that cares about their guests the way the Fairmont staff does. I have already shared your comments with my team as a reminder of what we do best.
Please do not hesitate to write me at aca.guestservices@fairmont.com when you plan to return.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our family has traveled extensively in Mexico over the past 30 years and we know what Mexican hospitality is like and this hotel definitely falls short. We started our stay by checking in at the President's Club desk since there was no one else to help with our check-in. The girl treated us with a hostile attitude and informed us that we had no reservation since we had booked our stay months in advance using a different website than the hotel website. Because of this, we had uncertainty on whether or not we would even get a room. We asked to look at the rooms first (which seemed to surprise them) and the rooms we were shown were dusty, dirty and outdated. We were assigned a different set of rooms on another floor. The air conditioners were very old and really did nothing to cool the rooms and the bathtub would not drain. We spent too much time in the rooms waiting for maintenance to fix the problems (we did not want to leave them alone in the room) instead of spending time in the pools or on the beach relaxing. We were moved from floor to floor with inconvenience of packing each time. We spent the better part of our first two days trying to settle and didn't get much time to relax. We were upset much of the time. We never thought this would happen to us in this beautiful Acapulco facility. Something needs to be done. We were definitely disappointed that our stay was not more enjoyable. Our conclusion is that the staff is not hospitality-oriented and needs to improve their service if they are going to compete with other hotels. We had planned to extend our stay if we had an enjoyable experience, but decided to move on to Ixtapa instead.

Room Tip: It seems like the lower the floor, the cleaner the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear John C,
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. This is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry this happened to you. I have notified our facilities and front desk management team so that we look further into these issues.
I would really appreciate if you contact me directly to discuss any further +52 744 469 1019 or aca.guestservices@fairmont.com
Best Regards
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Level Contributor
322 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I am not a big fan of huge hotels and resorts. I was here for business for a few days. The Princess consists of 3 big Soviet style concrete mega building from I guess the 80’s. It probably once was one of the best hotels in Acapulco but that time has gone. Will I come back here? No. Nor will I recommend the hotel. I had a good time though.
I stayed in the remodeled building where the superior rooms are and my room was great. Heard that the rooms in the other buildings were a bit ran down and are in urgent need of updating. 2 of the 3 mornings I was woken up by big diesel busses and people shouting outside that were unloading guests and a guy that thought it was necessary to work with his chainsaw at 7AM outside my room in the garden. Had to call reception to do something about it. Dinner and breakfast buffet was good. When going to the breakfast restaurant the 1st morning, I found myself in a large queueu begging for a table. They funneled all guests to the same restaurant for breakfast resulting in a huge mess. The other mornings I went first to the gym (great gym but you have to pay extra) and had breakfast at 10. Tried also the beach club restaurant but that wasn’t that good. Just by seeing that I was not a Mexican they decided for themselves to leave the spicy chili out of my plate. I can make that decision for myself I think. Service was friendly though. Also ordered food in the bar down in the lobby and it took 1hr to get some octopus badly prepared. I cancelled the order after an hr but they put it in front of me anyway. When asking why it took so long the girl said the kitchen had to unfreeze the octopus first! Though we were at the seaside where seafood was readily available without the need of freezing it. A better bet is the sandwich shop down stairs next to the lobby where the shop start,
Good beach, gardens and pools. Erratic wireless connection: virtually only in the lobby it worked well !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pelowelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Jbmx,

Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent experience at The Fairmont Acapulco princess. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your time spent with us. This is certainly not the fairmont experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry this happened to you. I have notified our management team so that we may look further into these issues.
Again, thank you for your feedback, and I hope we can welcome you back.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you like to discuss any further +52 744 469 1019 or aca.guestservices@fairmont.com

Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Doral
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This used to be a great hotel and can easily become great again if they renovate it. It is in a great location and should become one of the best hotels in Acapulco once they renovate it and redecorate the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Jose,
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent experience at The Fairmont Acapulco Princess.
After reading your comments I do understand your feeling as it is true that would be fantastic to renovate some areas of the hotel. I take this opportunity to recommend you to stay in the recently renovated Pearl Tower. After a $30 million investment, Pearl Tower offers 310 luxury rooms, carefully decorated with the finest amenities and personalized service.
If you would like to discuss your experience with me personally, please contact me at 744 469 1019 or email me to aca.guestservices@fairmont.com
Sincerely,
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel. The service was horrible and the food was not edible. There are plenty of other hotels to choose from in Acapulco. You will be charged extra for every little thing. Oh, and dont plan to bring your dog even though it says it is pet friendly - they will charge you 800 pesos (over $60) every night for the dog. You will also get harassed constantly on the beach by people selling you things. I would avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Pearl tower are by far better than the other rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Princess Mundo Imperial, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Jen
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We do take all feedback seriously and I appreciate all the information you have submitted.
I really regret we didn't meet your expectations.I would really like you to contact me personally at 744 469 1019 or email me at aca.guestservices@fairmont.com to discuss your experience.

Best regards
Thomas Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#9 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Mayan Palace Acapulco
#8 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#7 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#11 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Mundo Imperial

Property: Princess Mundo Imperial
Address: Playa Revolcadero s/n | Col Granjas del Marquez, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#17 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Mundo Imperial: A FAVORITE OF THE WORLD. For Mexico lovers worldwide, where Acapulco is known as a blend of tropical scenery - beaches, hilly jungles, surrounded by the Pacific ocean blanketed with dynamic nuance of nightclubs and restaurants. It is a great destination for an unforgettable holiday The resort is located at Revolcadero Beach, 20 minutes from the bustling center and just minutes from the airport. The traditional Aztec pyramid building, lush gardens, five swimming pools, two exclusive golf courses, gourmet restaurants, and one of the largest meeting spaces in Acapulco meets the wishes of the most distinguished guests of the world and world-class events. Discover Pearl Pearl, a luxury building at Mundo Imperial Princess offers classy accommodation and the best facilities and services, including: iPod clock, 37-inch flat screen, safe in the rooms and much more !. A place where contemporary design becomes one with the sophisticated luxury - a memorable experience for you, your family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Princess Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Acapulco Princess Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco Princess
Acapulco Princess Hotel
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing