We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, but a little too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Princess Mundo Imperial
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, but a little too expensive”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here just for one day and we enjoy it. Prices of rooms were too high, but it was high season. The hotel seems to be from the 1970's or so, but they really worked hard to make it somehow modern. Personnel is really kind and helpfull, but in high season there are a lot of queues around the hotel, so it makes things slower (nothing to worry about)

Rooms are actually really good: nice panoramic view of the beach (in the tower 2), spacious rooms, confortable beds and no noise.

Restaurants, are too expensive. There is no question about this, but food is really good so take advantage of the included breakfast. Drinks are also expensive, but yard glasses helps you minimize the price (just a little bit)

Pool and beach are both good. Towels and Beach places are free for the guests. The only bad thing about the beach is that a lot of local guys will try to sell you everything all the time. It is not hotel's fault as this is a public beach, but it gets annoying.

TIP: Get up early to get a place in the beach or in the pool. In high season it gets really crowded really fast. Take the places in the beach on the second or third row, as in the closest to the beach you will have a lot of salesman asking you to buy stuff.

Room Tip: Take any room on Tower 2, even the ones with garden view, gives you a good panoramic. This tower is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanvzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    469
    290
    144
    154
See reviews for
740
334
23
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We came here as part of our honeymoon and it was clearly one of the best choices we could have made.

We arrived late in evening, around 9:30pm, having missed our original flight from Oaxaca. Straight to the bar it was! Being low season we found there were only a smattering of guests downstairs at the Laguna Bar - an outdoor undercover area surrounded by a man-made lake with 2 swans as residents! 2 friendly, chatty curious swans, one black and one white, who would swim around and come over to us for a visit. We ordered cocktails through our awesome (attentive, funny, friendly) waitress Liliana, and proceeded to have one of the best nights of our life.

The downstairs bar would become one of our staples during our 2 weeks stay. The other was the all you can eat smorgasbord of the Chula Vista. Delicious offerings of traditiona Mexican and modern Western (mainly American) cuisine that we stuffed ourselves with on a daily basis - sometimes negating the need for dinner that day! We learn soon enough to just have the tiniest tidbits of everything so that we didn't get full before we had a chance to sample everything they had to offer. Delicious.

It was unfortunate that our love of Chula Vista meant that we only ventured over to the Beach Club Restaurant a couple of times, because they easily made the best seafood pasta I have ever had, and a pretty mean Caesar salad too!

Now I'm not much of a pool / beach person, but it was so warm and the water was so beautiful that I couldn't resist. Like a child I squealed as I went speeding down the slide into the saltwater pool right outside the Chula Vista, giggling like a twit as I landed into the water. After the first few days the hotel became overrun with accountants (?) on a business conference - which turned out to be great, because it meant that the hotel opened up the previous dormant pool bar, and we could now have cocktails on little cement seats in the pool by the pool bar. Other than that were swims under the pool waterfalls and romantic evening swims in the 3rd pool, which was usually empty when the sun went down, so we could have it all to ourselves. The only pity was that the pools were closed at 8pm. We would have loved to have more time in the pools in the evening, after our humongous lunch had time to digest somewhat. But i can understand that for safety reasons they probably don't want too many people swimming around after dark.

We went down to the beach one day and the water was so incredibly warm, at least 23 degrees, but unfortunately there were so many people spruiking their wares (not related to the hotel) that we couldn't relax (although clearly we were just in our bathers and had no money on us) so we ended up leaving, which is a shame because I don't think we will ever find water so warm again, but what can you do.

On Sundays they had the most spectacular all you can eat at the Posadita Steak and Seafood Grill, it was a shame that it was only on once in our time there.

The staff were amazing, so polite and helpful and friendly, the food delicious, the resident swans, flamingoes and parrot just adorable, and our room was beautiful, with a balcony overlooking the ocean.We had room service on our last night there just so we could enjoy it! Gorgeous state of the art bathroom, I cannot recommend this place enough - except for the part of me that wants to keep it a secret ;) we loved every second there, and plan to go back as soon as we can :)

Room Tip: They all seem great to me! Each room has a view - ours was overlooking the beach and it was just gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilDrag0nfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
176 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very nice resort with many swimming pools, pool bar, gym center, beach almost private.
Good rooms, very big, bathroom is OK, not new but OK.
Good inside restaurants, very good food.
But unique consideration is the location, it is far from the acapulco downtown where you can find some night life.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Italo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mundo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

i have been there 5 times now. Mostly for work during the week and recently for a weekend for pleasure.
The main building i have stayed for work have often thought is tired and in need of freshening. The rooms are spacious enough but the facilities are old. Bathroom fixtures tell the age. Electrical outlets to connect a phone charger or laptop are hard to find and few. But why worry about that because there is no wireless internet in room. I had to go to the hallway to get service. Even then, and in the conference rooms, service was spotty and slow. the age of things shows again in that they will charge $185mnx per day for wireless service elsewhere, when you can get it. if that was my only knowledge i would not recommend the place as there many other options that are nicer and for the money... well. i expected more. When i iquired about a personal stay the OTC rate was $4800mnx a night for 4 of us. Even the corporate rate was not much better. Online is definately the way to go with room rates from $148 usd with breakfast included.
So we took a chance and booked for 2 days, adding a 3rd (which i had to do as a seperate booking as the front desk couldnt extend me on their own). We were given a room in the north wing which is i think the newest of the 3. Here was more to my expectations. The one element being the bathrooms - the door to the toilet/ shower lets every note come into the rest of the room. (I really dont need to hear other people doing their business). Beds are plenty comfortable. Buffett is plentiful, just watch out for the birds, and i wish the friut was more than a fly trap.
Pools and beach was great. On the weekend the place fills with weekenders from DF. All in all if you want to R&R this is a good place to do just that.

Room Tip: get the north tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanoMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed 5-6 times. Always a good experience. As far as Acapulco goes, this is probably one of the best for your money. Try to stay in the "Pearl" which is renovated, but the other rooms are okay as well. The place is more for families but if you go at low season it can be romantic as well. The buffet for breakfast and dinner are really good and the view from the dinner buffet at the Pearl is really nice. They keep it clean and even though it is showing it's age, it is still good quality. It is pet friendly but you will pay about $25 USD. The staff is friendly and overall the hotel is great. The arquitecture is classic... check it out. Little hint that you can swim into a small cave in the natural water pool. Also, kudos to Fairmont for the turtle conservation station at the hotel. the baby turtles are cute!

Room Tip: Ask for the Perla (Pearl) tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were there for a family reunion the week between Christmas and New Year's. Terrible choice. Not Fairmont normal standards. Crowded lobby, noisy lobby and no internet in rooms as advertised and the internet connection in lobby was lousy. Overcrowded pools. Beach with lots of vendors and four wheelers making lots of noise and smog next to where you sit at the beach. Food was ok even if expensive breakfast buffet. Will not return. Dissapointed.

Room Tip: apparently the newer buildings are "better" than the main tower. We won't be going ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
394 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is simply stunning. It is an older property, but it has aged very well. The common areas are impressive, with generous Aztec motifs and sculptures throughout. The pools may not be as impressive compared to what is standard in resorts today, but the interiors are simply timeless. The rooms are decorated in a formal, reserved manner, which suits a beachside resort well. I unfortunately only stayed one night, but nevertheless I was impressed. 9/10

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 167 in Acapulco
703 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
7.4 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 167 in Acapulco
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Mayan Palace Acapulco
#7 of 167 in Acapulco
966 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 167 in Acapulco
287 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#12 of 167 in Acapulco
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Mundo Imperial

Property: Princess Mundo Imperial
Address: Av. Costera de las Palmas S/N | Fracc. Granjas del Marquez, Playa Revolcadero, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Family Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Mundo Imperial: A WORLD FAVORITE. Located in Acapulco, consider one of the top beach destinations worldwide,offering to their visitors a warm tropical climate throughout all year. Special magic of this paradise makes Princess Mundo Imperial one of the favorite of the treavelers, located at Revolcadero Beach, at Zona Diamante consider the best area in ​​Acapulco, just a only few minutes from the Acapulco International Airport. Traditional 15-storey Aztec pyramid-shaped building, lush gardens, 5 pools, two exclusive golf courses, fine dining restaurants and one of the largest meeting spaces in Acapulco, satisfy the wishes of the most distinguished guests of the world. Discover Pearl Perla, a luxurious building within the Princess Mundo Imperial, offers exclusive accommodations, finest facilities and services, in where contemporary design becomes sophisticated luxury - unique experience in order to satisfy our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Acapulco Princess Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco Princess
Acapulco Princess Hotel
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing