We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice for a weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Mundo Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Mundo Imperial to your Saves list
Princess Mundo Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Revolcadero s/n | Col Granjas del Marquez, Acapulco 39890, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #9 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice for a weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

For a short weekend getaway the Fairmont Princess is great. Yes, the hotel needs a major facelift as it feels rundown but the hotel is right on the beach and provides an enjoyable environment. The breakfast buffet was a major hit. Given the dangerous events that Acapulco has experienced my top priority was a safe hotel. I felt completely safe at this hotel and was pleased that the fairmont offered enough activities and dining options that I never felt the want to leave the hotel. There is a large security presence and I would definitely feel safe returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    386
    227
    128
    119
See reviews for
590
278
18
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The swimming pools are really good, the breakfast is nice. It lacks of activities, they don't have bikes for rental and you have to pay for everything, very few amenities included

It's a nice hotel, a bit old, I think they should improve the check in and checkout time, I waited 30 minutes on the row for my checkout.

Room Tip: avoid princesa section, there are big noisy fans out there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's a 20 minute ride into the downtown area of Acapulco however, worth the stay. The Hotel has lots of dining options and the beach is incredible. The hotel is located away from others so you feel like your on your own island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I,m sorry that some travellers have had negative experiences. We didn't choose this hotel, we were here to stay a few days before joining a cruise across the Pacific. On arrival late in the evening as part of a group our room was already allocated, so no delay there and our bags turned up soon after. We walked in to room 1619 (at the very front of the hotel) and gawped at the scene in front of us. Below, the gardens and just beyond the most beautiful beach which stretched both left and right. When we woke in the morning, there it was still, delightful. Is it because my Wife and I are polite, pleasant people? We were treated with courtesy by the staff throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. We did have to time our meals to miss the large numbers attending a convention but that was no hardship and there was an excellent choice of food to be had. All this would have kept us happy there but we did walk 15 minutes to the nearby shopping mall just to explore a little of what was 'outside'.
10/10 for the lifts which we never had to wait more than 30 seconds for (and this was so frustrating at a later hotel) but a big ZERO for the two miserable staff and cardboard coffee cups at the little coffee station in the foyer. Don't let this put you off staying here.

Room Tip: At the front row, we had room 1619 which was on a corner-great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentOldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I just came back from the hotel and I could not be more disappointed! They quoted me price in dollars and they charged me double the price that I was given. They would not take my payment in dollars, they said I would be charged in pesos and they gave me the exchange rate. Today I saw my statement and instead of exchange rate being $ 1.00 --- 12.87 pesos which they assured me would be the rate they did exchange rate of $1.00 --- 9.00 pesos!!!! I contacted the hotel and after being transferred around they told me that no I was charged the correct amount. I am going to contact my bank once the payment is charged because as of now it is still pending and they can not do anything about it.
This hotel is overrated and overpriced. Not to mention that they overcharged us in Chula Vista which is their buffet. The told us that we would be charged less because we only had salads but the price that we paid there I have not paid anywhere else when I had we had a full dinner!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamtuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited this weekend the Fairmont Princess to assist to the Mexican Open, since the event is in the same hotel instalations. It is worth notice that this Fairmont is very far in quality from the Fairmont in Europe and US, the building is really old (around 70´s), and it hasnt been fully refurbished since. For example the TV´s are still CTR! The hotel itself it´s still nice with big green areas, good service and excellent food, however the relation cost/benefit is kinda bad, for 250 USD night you can get better options in Acapuco (f.e. Las Brisas). The pools are kinda small for the number of rooms, and there are no umbrellas! so carry on your sunblock! Something that is worth notice is that the check in/out took us more than 20 minutes each, the people at the reception were to slow and had the mentality that "since were full because of the Mexican Open you have to wait". Also kind of annoying is that at nights the lobby bar plays music all night long, so you have to manage to sleep hearing dance music, just a shame... I wouldn´t come back, specially for the price you are paying and what you get in exchange.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the upper levels, or in the Pearl tower which is newer and quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velezmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from our four day stay at this hotel. We had been concerned about security in Acapulco, but felt very safe here. The setting and architecture are beautiful. The staff were very friendly, especially in the buffet restaurant. My husband is a vegetarian coeliac and he found it difficult to find suitable food as not all the staff understood 'gluten free' and the hotel did not provide gluten free bread. I, however, as a vegetarian, enjoyed the food and found plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the same side as the air conditioning unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#10 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#11 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Mayan Palace Acapulco
#7 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#8 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
3.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#6 of 178 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Mundo Imperial

Property: Princess Mundo Imperial
Address: Playa Revolcadero s/n | Col Granjas del Marquez, Acapulco 39890 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#5 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Family Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Mundo Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized as one of the top 500 hotels in the world and top 25 resorts in Latin America by Travel & Leisure, Princess Mundo Imperil is located over the Pacific Coast on the Revolcadero Beach, 20 minutes from the bustle of downtown and a few minutes from the airport at the Acapulco Diamante Area. The exclusive complex of 480 acres offers to its guests a spectacular scenario that will enhance all the senses while you admire the magnificent 15-story Aztec pyramid-shaped building surrounded of beautiful and lush gardens containing over 750 plant species and home to a colorful assortment of swans, flamingos and tropical birds. Hear the cascades of its 5 sparkling pools and saltwater lagoon. Taste the exquisite Chef creations at any of its 5 Restaurants. Breath the most relaxing fragrances at the Spa & Salon and feel the breeze of ocean at the new Turtle Dunes Golf Course.For the guest looking for a luxury experience in Acapulco, Pearl offers exquisite accommodations and the finest services and amenities, which include: an iPod clock, 37-inch flat screen, in-room safety deposit box and more! A place where contemporary design becomes one with standard of sophisticated luxury – a memorable experience for you, your family and friends.Turtle Dunes: Our Country ClubIf you enjoy participating in sports with style, we invite you to learn more about the brand new Turtle Dunes Country Club, the centerpiece within the Princess complex, for whole-hearted golfers seeking a premium golf experience in Mexico. Learn to play like a pro from childs to adults! Turtle Dunes Country Club , to establish Lorena Ochoa's flagship teaching academy, providing members and guests with a state-of-the-art practice and learning center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Princess Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Acapulco Princess Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco Princess
Acapulco Princess Hotel
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing