We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good public areas but nothing else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Princess Mundo Imperial
Ranked #10 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good public areas but nothing else”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times during the Holiday season, ONLY because my family owns a condo next door and sometimes there's not enough room for all of us. So although I know the place very well, I basically use it only to "sleep" (see below for explanation), have breakfast, and use the gym, but stay the rest of the time at our condo. If I was planning a vacation on my own, I would NEVER stay at this hotel.

The good:
• Extensive and nice pool areas, although they can feel very crowded during peak seasons.
• Gym has been improved and although it may be insufficient during peak season, it is very complete.
• Breakfast buffet is extensive, including both Mexican and international favorites. However, lines for all egg dishes and made to order quesadillas, can be very long.
• Rooms and common areas are kept very clean in spite of the crowds, and housekeeping staff is very friendly.
• The Willow Stream Spa concession is beautiful, service is excellent, and offers a good selection of treatments.

The not so good:
• Rooms are spacious, with ample closet space, and most have ocean views, but at least those still pending renovation (Princesa and Piramide buildings) have cheap furniture and little amenities.
• The beach is probably the widest I've ever seen, with powdery sand and fantastic waves; however, at least during peak seasons like December, there are hundreds of public tents installed in up to 7 rows from the water's edge, so the ones offered by the hotel are way back and with no view of the ocean.
• Service in the restaurants during breakfast buffet can be good or bad depending on who you get; my guess is that they hire many temporary servers during peak season with the inevitably lack of proper training and experience.

The terrible:
• Incredibly understaffed and poorly trained reception personnel, where it took us, President Club Members, over 30 minutes to get checked in with a prepaid reservation at 8:30 PM when there were few people waiting. During the morning hours we could see dozens of people in line for check-in and check-out, cramping the huge lobby area with luggage, luggage carts, children on the floor, etc., to the point it made it difficult to walk from one part of the hotel to another during several hours a day.
• Guest services is incredibly understaffed as well, to the point that upon arriving to our room and noticing the noise from the connecting doors, I called to see about getting a different room and Guest services never took the call. I called 5 times for 15 minutes and could not even leave a message. I finally went down (which in that sprawling hotel is quite a walk) and saw there were only 3 staff members at guest services, so I still had to wait in line to get help. Furthermore, we were changed to another room that we were told had no connecting rooms, only to find out after moving that it did, so it was all for nothing.
• There is only one small bar in the lobby area, with another by the pool and ocean areas, but still not enough for the crowds.
• The restaurants are not nicely decorated at all, particularly Chula Vista, serving only buffet style and where tables are extremely close to each other. Across from the Chula Vista they set up breakfast and dinner buffet during peak season, in a horribly decorated round room.
• Rooms have very thin doors, and with all corridors having tiled floors, it is incredibly noisy, so you can hear anything and everyone on the corridors, from luggage carts to running children and all conversations. Same goes for interconnecting doors. During our 9 day stay, we first had a crying baby with screaming parents later replaced by young people arriving drunk at wee hours of the morning, all of which sounded like they were inside our room with us. Needless to say sleep quality is horrible!
• Valet parking service is very slow, so plan to wait at least half an hour for your car. The drop-off area is usually cramped by people arriving and leaving with not enough staff to move cars away, so even when you get your car, you may have to wait even longer to be able to drive away.
• Prices are very high during peak seasons as expected, but it is the time of the year when the hotel is at its worst, so you definitely don't get what you pay for.
• Not all rooms have wireless internet access yet.

Room Tip: Pearl tower rooms have been renovated. Make sure you get a room in a building with wireless interne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaMacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    465
    287
    143
    152
See reviews for
733
333
23
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Excellent hotel, but, granted I went the busiest time of the year but they have a serious crowd management issue. They built 2 additional towers but kept the original infrastructure so looooong lines for check in, check out, valet car, beach towels etc. It is a great hotel, but management MUST better organize general infrastructure or they will seriously aggravate customers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Cuori1Capanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I will never stay in this hotel again. spent more than 2 hrs to check in, valet takes up to 30 min to bring the car every time. Every time you ask the hotel personal the first word is "NO". Nobody knows anything, the front desk can't be more useless. No wireless internet in the hotel, they say was under remodeling. Even to leave the hotel was a nightmare, more than 3 hrs to check out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorosado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is 40+ years old and it shows, even with partial renovations.

Service during peak season is terrible. Long lines for everything: check in, gym, restaurants, towels, valet, check out. Not enough personnel and infrastructure to manage so many people.

Attentive and kind staff, but over -burdened. Great breakfast buffet.

Unfortunately this is not a Fairmont quality hotel any longer. Used to be classy, now it is cheap.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyDude09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Their location on the beach is fantastic. Huge waves and clean sand. However, if you rent from the public section of the beach then you will have vendors coming to your tent literally every minute selling everything you can imagine. It gets very tiresome saying "no gracias" a hundred times a day. Their wifi is very spotty and quite slow, we were told that it was due to the upgrades they were installing. In the rooms themselves, they are very spacious, but the beds were a little hard. In the mornings, there was a long wait to be seated for the buffet. Granted, we were there dec 22-29 so the hotel was almost at maximum capacity. There is nothing special about the food served at the buffet, but they do have a very nice, wide variety.
We felt very safe in and around our hotel. We used taxis to get from restaurant to hotel. I do not recommend walking around the city, as the reception will also suggest the same.
My favorite part was that from the beach, the view of the sunsets was incredible!
Overall, this is an average hotel with average service. However, I believe I am slightly biased due to the fact that the hotel was packed and no hotel seems enjoyable when there are that many people.
Also, this hotel is great for families with kids- many pools and slides!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wischme77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach. There are several restaurants at the resort to choose from and the food is good. We really love the kids pool and slide. It is an older hotel, but has recently undergone some renos. The staff is friendly and you cannot beat the location. They offer an almost all inclusive package as well, making them budget friendly for a family. There is a kids club and a teen hangout as well. A great spot. Last visited January 2009

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Gym: Very nice gym and well equiped but if you are not a president club member you need to pay.
Pool: Very nice pool for all age and height.
Beach: Crowded and the lounge chair are far from the water so you always have a wall of local hut between you and the water. The water is very nice for kids and adults as the water is not deep for about 50 feet and after you get nice wave for body board or surf. Totally the oposite of the Acapulco bay.
Restaurant: The buffet selection is good and you have a very nice but expensive italian restaurant on site.
Kids Club: Yes there is a kids club but it is 100 pesos per hours.
Room: the room are clean nice and spacious.

So only a 4 star due to the beach lunge chair accessibility

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade room are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 178 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Mayan Palace Acapulco
#7 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
5.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#15 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Mundo Imperial

Property: Princess Mundo Imperial
Address: Av. Costera de las Palmas S/N | Fracc. Granjas del Marquez, Playa Revolcadero, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#5 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Family Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Mundo Imperial: A WORLD FAVORITE. Located in Acapulco, consider one of the top beach destinations worldwide,offering to their visitors a warm tropical climate throughout all year. Special magic of this paradise makes Princess Mundo Imperial one of the favorite of the treavelers, located at Revolcadero Beach, at Zona Diamante consider the best area in ​​Acapulco, just a only few minutes from the Acapulco International Airport. Traditional 15-storey Aztec pyramid-shaped building, lush gardens, 5 pools, two exclusive golf courses, fine dining restaurants and one of the largest meeting spaces in Acapulco, satisfy the wishes of the most distinguished guests of the world. Discover Pearl Perla, a luxurious building within the Princess Mundo Imperial, offers exclusive accommodations, finest facilities and services, in where contemporary design becomes sophisticated luxury - unique experience in order to satisfy our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Princess Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Acapulco Princess Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco Princess
Acapulco Princess Hotel
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing