We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, large hotel, good for conventions but need to improve check-in / check-out experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Princess Mundo Imperial
Ranked #9 of 168 Hotels in Acapulco
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, large hotel, good for conventions but need to improve check-in / check-out experience”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Located in the best beach in Acapulco, this big location is a classic!
Works better for conventions and groups or with yor family if you like big facilities.
Rooms are good, some of them a bit old but pillows are ver comfortable so you enjoy sleeping
All associates show great service attitude, the Spa... Well, this is the best in the area...
The food... Not many options but the italian restaurant has a good menu and great wines!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evillegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    498
    306
    153
    156
See reviews for
812
344
24
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My experience in the Fairmont Acapulco Princess this weekend was the exact opposite to all the Fairmont brand stands for or, at least, should stand for.

The list of chocking surprises is endless, starting with a careless reception desk with only one attendant in service despite the regular occupation level of the hotel and goes on to a falling piece of stucco from the upstairs balcony that almost hit my 8 year old son in the head and the pillows that carried the disgusting aroma of mildew and years of sweat heads.

Neglect is everywhere: furniture, pools, restaurants and a beach side where locals hold a daily market selling everything from body massages and horseback rides to soups(!?) while it is a real struggle to get service from the hotel personnel.

The only exception to the total disarray was the Gym; clean, well equipped and maintained.

Needless to say, the bill was the only remainder that this was still a Fairmont Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My wife and I went on a trip with about 40 other couples from our country club. We had never been on an all inclusive trip, and had never traveled outside the U.S. What an experience!!! We had an absolutely amazing trip. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the rooms with an ocean view. The room was clean and we loved the tile throughout the room. The view was just awesome.

The food was excellent, the golf was a blast, but the service was just incredible. The host at the buffet learned our names the first day and remembered us each day. He provided us with an ocean view table for every one of our meals. While the trip was all inclusive, we definitely left him a nice tip.

When we arrived we went through a quick "orientation" to welcome us and tell us about local attractions and how to stay safe while traveling around town. We had heard so many things about the "bad water" in Mexico, but the resort assured us that their water was all filtered and safe. The water never harmed us, neither did the trips outside the resort. We actually only ventured off site one night for dinner. The resort had everything we needed and didn't find it necessary to leave the property too often.

By far one of the most memorable vacations we've had. Thank you Fairmont!

Room Tip: You're not at work....enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband & I stayed Sept. 2nd-7th and the hotel finished a Bayer convention and then it went from 25% occupancy to 10% occupancy. So with facilities for 1000 rooms - we had the place to ourselves. Weather was great although it rained once or twice in the afternoon. Golf course was closed for 4 days and then we played 9 holes the day before we left.

Although managed by fairmont, This property is owned by a small US group that has 4 other properties. Not always a fairmont property, it was nice to see that some employees had been there for decades.

Upon arrival we were upgraded from a standard Fairmont Ocean view to the New Pearl tower ocean view. (room 3415 near the elevator, overlooking beach & pool). Our King room was spacious, beautiful, comfortable and nicely renovated. Breakfasts were included and one dinner - i had the "romance" package so we even received a 45minute spa treatment. We were told that they don't sell many of the packages and the staff kept wanting to photocopy what was included - at the spa, the restaurant, front desk etc... On 3 separate occassions, i had to ask for charges to be removed from the bill and that was annoying but remedied.

Grounds are spectular! Great choice of pools, walking/jogging routes, beautiful landscape. I live in Atlanta now and there is currently no non-stop so it's not that convenient for a short stay but when I lived in Toronto i would travel to the Princess a few times a year on non-stop flights. Who doesn't liked 80 degree+ sunny weather when its freezing?

Beach is wonderful - soft sand- ocean has tremendous undertow but you can wade out and dip no problem.

Several women hang around on the beach offering massages - we each had massages for 1 full hour for $200pesos pp. The oil they used is quality and their technique isn't that great but it felt so good under the trees hearing the waves.

Lots of staff, most speak English and the maintenance crew was constantly on the go even in places that few guests would see. The princess has armed guards on the beach and walking around the grounds. I felt very comfortable wearing jewelry and leaving my bag on a lounge to take a long walk on the beach.

MEALS: Tavola restaurant was excellent with the bread basket, olive oil and olive tempanade enough as an appetizer. We had dinner 2 nights at this Italian upscale dining experience. Twice we had lunch at the golf snack bar - terrific angus burger for $19USD - it's large enough to share which i wish we had known before we ordered two with salads. Chula Vista is the only restaurant that hasn't changed over the decades. Breakfast is a bargain at 198pesos pp but it was included. We took the complimentary shuttle over the the Pierre Marques but then returned thinking that the Tavola was a nicer more romantic place to have dinner than positanos.

I would like to visit again! Soon!

Room Tip: Rates vary considerably on various sites so ck it out. Stay in Pearl Tower. Get breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcr8tve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This Hotel is pretty Unique, Architecture, Gardens, Golf Curse, Atmosphere. Is the ideal place to relax, is like a paradise away from the noise, traffic. The "Revolcadero Beach" is great for a walk or swiming in the Ocean. Rooms a prety nice, probably they could make a few improvements, but overall it's great! Pretty Close to the Airport, Safe to Stay. The Food at the restaurants is good, specially the Breakfast buffet. There is a Shoppig Center less than two miles including Costco, Walmart and McDonalds! You can take a day tour to Acapulco bay, but this Hotel is for people who wants to change the daily routine away from traffic, Noise and Crowds! The have a nice bar on the main Lobby, with "Mariachi Music" but if you like clubs and nightlife you need to go to Acapulco bay wich is about 10 miles away. Security everywhere. Good Weather and Ocean Breeze. Nice Property. A lot of Coconut Palm Threes! Peacock, Flamingos, Swans, 5 pool, Waterfalls...a Tropical Paradise! Is a little bit pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The room conditions were not even aceptable for a two star motel. You can tell the room has not been refurbished since the hotel was built (40 years ago?). Notihng worked - air conditioning, lock, shower, closet door, etc). Disappointed no t to have had any empaty by the Fairmont personnel. They should not allow these rooms to be assigned to a normal guest

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished room. They must have some
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canica14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is pretty nice, I stayed at a mini suite at the Pearl Tower very spacious, with a very nice terrace. The bed was very comfortable and there was a big flatscreen TV. There was no mini bar, but you could buy (overpriced) staples at the hotel store.
The food was good at the restaurants and for room service.
Service in general was very good.
Internet fees were really high.
The only problem I see in this hotel is that it has no private beach, and the hotel´s tents and sun chairs are not right in front of the beach. The beach front is occupied by public tents with vendors offering anything from a massage or a drink to a horse ride. Yes, there was a horse (!!) and there were people buying horse rides.
All in all, if this hotel had a private beach would be perfect for low season. If you don't mind this, still I would not go there on a high season as it is pretty big and you can tell that it gets full. If you do go, stay at the Pearl Tower.

Room Tip: Stay at the Pearl Tower. Ask for a mini suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelSpy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 168 in Acapulco
738 reviews
7.4 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#10 of 168 in Acapulco
1,059 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 168 in Acapulco
304 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 168 in Acapulco
952 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#17 of 168 in Acapulco
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Mundo Imperial

Property: Princess Mundo Imperial
Address: Av. Costera de las Palmas S/N | Fracc. Granjas del Marquez, Playa Revolcadero, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Family Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1011
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Mundo Imperial: A WORLD FAVORITE. Located in Acapulco, consider one of the top beach destinations worldwide,offering to their visitors a warm tropical climate throughout all year. Special magic of this paradise makes Princess Mundo Imperial one of the favorite of the treavelers, located at Revolcadero Beach, at Zona Diamante consider the best area in ​​Acapulco, just a only few minutes from the Acapulco International Airport. Traditional 15-storey Aztec pyramid-shaped building, lush gardens, 5 pools, two exclusive golf courses, fine dining restaurants and one of the largest meeting spaces in Acapulco, satisfy the wishes of the most distinguished guests of the world. Discover Pearl Perla, a luxurious building within the Princess Mundo Imperial, offers exclusive accommodations, finest facilities and services, in where contemporary design becomes sophisticated luxury - unique experience in order to satisfy our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Acapulco Princess Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco Princess
Acapulco Princess Hotel
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing