We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Elcano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elcano Hotel
Ranked #13 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Very nice stay in ELCANO, professional staff, we loved it.......

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kcarterny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    136
    61
    27
    19
See reviews for
127
117
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Elcano which we thoroughly enjoyed.

While it's true that there was a slight smell of sewage in our room on occasion, the same smell exists on the street - this is a 3rd world country after all!!

We didn't find the hotel noisy at all. It is not close to bars as the previous post suggests. It's across from a golf course. It is a 20-minute walk to Walmart or a short bus ride. A 20-minute walk in the opposite direction will take you to the Galerias Diana - a beautiful, but expensive, shopping mall. Gotta love those buses which we used frequently - no suspension, and often no instrument panels -- noisy bone-shakers but a great experience nevertheless.

We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent variety of food at the buffets (we did all-inclusive) and there was always plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables at each meal. The waiters were not terribly swift and had to be reminded to bring toast, coffee, etc. Not a big deal! The bar staff, however, are very friendly and accommodating, offering drinks to all in and around the pool. Great drinks, too. No watered-down drinks here! Quite the opposite, in fact.

With the hotel's wide frontage, there is ample space on the beach with lots of chairs. The pool was never crowded during our stay.

If you are a beach person, I wouldn't recommend this hotel or Acapulco for that matter. It is not soft and sandy like the Caribbean beaches and the ocean is often very rough and gets deep quickly. Not recommended for little kids.

Overall, we loved our time at the Elcano.

  • Liked — Excellent value for money
  • Disliked — restaurant wait staff could have been more helpful
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

While this hotel is centrally located on the bay beach front, it is dated and not well maintained. There was a daily smell of sewage emanating from my bathroom; towels and sheets were old, worn and in need of replacement, as was the room furniture.
Much of upscale Acapulco has moved far south of this hotel's location meaning the el Cano is close to cheap, loud bars, public markets and a WalMart. If you're looking for a cheap place on a crowded beach and you like to barhop, this could be for you, otherwise: pass.

  • Liked — nothing, really
  • Disliked — the smeel of sewage
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peter076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
540 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We have just returned from a quick four day vacation at the Elcano Hotel in Acapulco with our two teenagers. The very best thing about this hotel is the location. It has a stupendous beach front! Every room from the hotel has an ocean view, although if they have an event going on in the evening it can be loud. I woke every morning early and sat out on our balcony to read, relax and just listen to the calming ocean sounds.
Our seventeen year old son loved the breakfast buffet which offered fresh made eggs, sopas and quesadillas, along with plenty of other selections which varied slightly daily.
We had a junior suite that had two double beds and a fold out sleeper sofa. The room was large and accommodated the four of us more than satisfactorily.
There were plenty of good authentic local restaurants within walking distance which added to the allure of the location.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — While the service was friendly it was most often slow and they would lose track of requests.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hpmicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We are a young American couple, living in Mexico, who decided to spend a quick weekend in Acapulco. I had always wanted to try this hotel, and it turns out it was a great choice for this trip.

The hotel is right on the beach. We had a standard suite, and payed $1200 pesos / night by booking directly with the hotel. (The rates on their website were higher than that, but I called to make the reservation and they were lower.) With the exchange rate at the time, that was less than $100 US a night.

Our room was on the 7th floor and was very comfortable. It has two queen sized beds. Air conditioning and a ceiling fan. A good sized bathroom with lots of counter space. (And with a shower that had great water pressure-- which was a welcome surprise!) A closet with a safe. A TV with cable (that we didn't use). There was also a table and chairs. I'm not sure exactly why it was called a suite. I suppose the "living room area" maybe.

The best part of the room was the private balcony facing the ocean. It was a good sized balcony with table and chairs that looked directly out over the ocean. Absolutely wonderful. The view from inside was wonderful, too, with the drapes opened.

Daily buffet breakfasts were included in price, which we took advantage of. We were there two mornings and were satisfied with the breakfasts. There were options of fresh juices, cereals, fresh fruit, and some hot dishes. There was an egg station, where you could get eggs or omelets made to order. And it was very convenient to have it just downstairs.

We use the pool as well. We were there during off season, and the pool wasn't particularly crowded, but did always have other people in it. It isn't a very big pool, and I can imagine during high season that it would be pretty crowded. But we were very happy with our pool experience. There is also an outdoor shower between the beach and the pool, so you can rinse off after coming up from the beach.

We also used the palapas on the beach front associated with the hotel's bar. The palapas are great-- right next to the ocean. The are roped off to discourage vendors from coming in, but vendors still pass by and attempt to sell you things. But we aren't bothered by that. There is drink service to the palapas. (I don't know if there is food service, we didn't try.) There were lots of empty palapas while we were there-- it wasn't difficult to get one at all.

One recommendation I have for the hotel is that they put coffee machines in the room. Both mornings I would have like to make coffee in the room and sit on the balcony looking at the ocean before starting the day. Instead, I ordered coffee by room service. A pot of coffee cost $30 pesos + tip. I also ordered decaf, which caused a slight problem. Both mornings they brought me hot water with decaf instant coffee. Both times I said I didn't want that and would they please bring me brewed decaf (which they do have). I'm not sure that the communication problem was here, since my Spanish really is fine. But each time it was resolved. However, it would be much easier to just have coffee machines in the room.

Also, there was a mini-fridge in the room. But it was locked. We bought some water and some beer and would have like to put them in the fridge to keep them cold. I suppose there is a way to get the key, but there were no instructions on the fridge and we didn't persue it.

All in all, a very nice experience! I think the balcony and the location were what made the hotel so nice for me.

  • Liked — our balcony with the ocean view
  • Disliked — no coffee maker in the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, LI, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Stayed at this hotel April 17-21, 2008. Nice hotel, dated but kept very clean. Staff was very good and accommodating. This hotel is 2-3stars depending on what you are accustomed to (based on 5 stars). Pool was clean, attached restaurant fairly expensive $10 for a Club Sandwich with fries), short walk to the beach, with a roped off area with chairs, tables, and umbrellas and hotel food/drink service. Short walk to many restaurants, supermarkets (Serano which is a combination food/Walmart type store) where you can find anything, and the best place for cheap snacks, water, etc. Overall very nice, no service issues, rooms were clean (again a little dated). We opted for a corner room (Jr. Suite) with 2 queens and a pull-out sofa bed), nice size room, walk-in closet with safe, plenty of hangers for clothes, and shelf space. They provided towels twice a day, and turn down bed service. Maid service was excellent and very patient, as we slept-in late a couple of days. Remember this is Mexico, and you are in the city of ACA. If you want luxury, stay near the airport. I have been going to ACA for 20 years, and have stayed all over the city-Radisson, Crown, Hyatt, Fiesta Americana –Condessa, the list goes on. In town your limited to these basically (a few others are nice as well) and things change every year. Near the airport the Princess, Camino Real, Mayan are all very nice. I liked the Camino Real the best, small resort with nice size rooms, very small beach, however very far from the downtown area (cabs can be expensive to/from). Last year we stayed 3 nights at the Crown, and 3 at the Camino Real. Year-round I found the weather in ACA to be the best, with the exception of Aug (rain).

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

It was our second stay at the ElCano , perfect beach location,very spacious, clean rooms.
The outdoor breakfast at the beach is very lovely.
Best hotel in acapulco if you wanna stay right in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bicheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#15 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#19 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elcano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elcano Hotel

Property: Elcano Hotel
Address: Avenida Costera Miguel Aleman 75, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elcano Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elcano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elcano Hotel Acapulco
Elcano Resort Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing