We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star??? No way!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Ranked #21 of 169 Hotels in Acapulco
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Dirty, ratty, pucky! Just look at the pictures. The TV was a tiny old model that we couldn't get some channels on (which was particularly annoying since I had taken some days off specifically to watch an event on ESPN). The chambermaid just kept bringing in remote after remote and laughing when they didn't work either. She finally called maintenance, who got us another tiny old TV, which did get ESPN. The next day I moved half a block to the Casa Inn. Purportedly four star, but much cleaner and nicer than this fraud.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKINMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you Mr. or Mrs. ??
I apreciate your comments about our property; but I do not agree with some thing´s that clean or fraud hotel. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 718 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We we stayed here specifically for the all inclusive plan. It was not all all inclusive and we had to eat out almost every night.
Positives
Rooms were big and nice, very updated
The morning breakfast buffet was very comparable to other hotels
Good weather and no rain or bugs in April

Negatives
Beach was discusting and locals were allowed to eat and drink and then dispose if their garbage into the ocean. We never swam in the ocean one time during our week stay
The all inclusive did not include most liquor a including whiskey and vodka
The pools were hot and dirty
The staff was incompetent of the all inclusive plan
We had to eat out almost every night bc the food was so gross

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chazzy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thanks for your feedback, but we want to tell you that we are not an all inclusive hotel, which is why I am surprised by his comments.

I appreciate your interest in our hotel and anyway I will follow your message

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is an ex-good hotel, it looks big and old located on the traditional side of Acapulco. My room was one of the renovated ones, it was a spacious very good room and included breakfast. Breakfast was fantastic, the guy preparing the omelets is a show on itself, and one of the best I ever tried...coffee is awesome. I did not try internet access because it was pricey, and did not want to be disappointed ( used my myfi hotspot) . Beach is there, ask for a beach recliner...expect someone trying to sell you food/drinks...hotel service in the beach is nonexistent.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view, renovated with breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is old, and during our stay, some of the lower floors were being remodeled. However, we managed to stay on the 20th floor, which had already been remodeled and the new rooms are fabulous with an awesome view towards the bay. The staff at the hotel was kind and helpful. As for the food, expect it to be overpriced and average, except for the breakfast because it was particularly good. The pool is always kept clean and the beach is just a walk away from the pool area. As for activities on the beach, be sure to try the parasailing ...it's a fun, one of a kind experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinthya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is old and looks out of date, I haddn't seen a TV that old since like 1990. You need to request the control so that they send it to your room. Several times I got back at 4 pm and the room still wasn't made.

The breakfast is very good, as well as lunch on the menu, but stay away from the lunch buffet.

In general, an average hotel that needs to be modernized

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

It was excellent! I had a Grand room, with a view towards Las Brisas and the left side of Acapulco bay. The staff was great, pools were nice, and the breakfast buffet was very good.
Location is very good.
Will return there often.

Room Tip: The Grand rooms are fine, but they are on the sides of the hotel, with partial ocean views. The suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evaristo_Lobato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was spacious with a lovely view of the ocean. The room had obviously been remodeled not long ago and had a very comfortable Kind Size bed with a large bathroom and dressing area. The cleaning staff kept our room immaculate and the towels provided were large and plush. The pool area was very nice. The hotel was a 1/2 block away from the bus line that traveled up and down the Costera to the downtown area. The yellow buses were air-conditioned and a good option for getting around. Walmart is across the street, and Starbucks is a block away if you require a latte. The only issue we had one night was some late night revelers having a pretty loud conversation after they got off the elevator, but they quickly departed. Overall, I'd stay there again and recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: The ocean views from the high floors were spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoInCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#25 of 169 in Acapulco
385 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#10 of 169 in Acapulco
1,012 reviews
1.9 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#13 of 169 in Acapulco
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
1 mi away
Acapulco Malibu
Acapulco Malibu
#28 of 169 in Acapulco
122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Calinda Beach Acapulco
Calinda Beach Acapulco
#12 of 169 in Acapulco
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Acapulco

Address: Costera Miguel Aleman # 1 | Col. Icacos, Acapulco 39869, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#11 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range: $61 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 573
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged with one the best locations on one of the most exclusive beaches in Acapulco, and with a spectacular view of the bay, also conveniently located near the main local restaurants, shopping malls, and nightlife. Experience and enjoy an excellent service of the most exquisite dining experience and outstanding service, accentuated with the most high quality standards and comfort. The enjoyable experience of our elegant and luxurious guestrooms along with the general living areas, will indulge in a pleasant experience during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Acapulco
Hyatt Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Hotel
Acapulco Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing