We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Working Vacation, but still very comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Real Acapulco Diamante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Working Vacation, but still very comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was booked into this hotel during the first week of February of this year and was very happy with my stay. The staff were all extremely friendly and greeted my girlfriend and myself as we walked by. The two restaurants in the hotel both offered excellent food at reasonable prices and the pool/beach areas were never crowded.
I read some of the reviews on this site before going and was worried, since some describe the hotel as overly crowded but that was definitely not the case. I suppose this is not a busy tourist season.
Rooms were neat, clean and very comfortable. My only complaint was that the wifi was not always reliable, but really, it seems a silly thing to complain about when you are on a sun-drenched beach.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend to all.

Room Tip: All rooms have a bay view, but for the best view try to book a room higher up the structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    98
    54
    33
    24
See reviews for
102
91
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I just returned from three days at the Camino Real Diamante and I have to agree with the last reviews. The location is really out of the way and there are no close by options, other than the two restaurants on site. both were ok, but not great as you would expect from a four star hotel. The room I had had paint peeling on the front door and frame, tile missing on the in room baseboard, and plastic chairs with a marble table. Great view from the patio, but the lock on the patio door, and the deadbolt on the main door didn't work. Comfortable bed, attentive staff, but for me a serious lack of the WOW factor that I look for in a comparatively priced hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Director General at Camino Real Acapulco Diamante, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Please receive a warm greeting.
Thanks for your comments on our service and facilities, We definitely will use them to further improve our quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed here about once every year for the the last 5 years, about 8 day periods, and unfortunately this has been the worst year, it just seems to be going downhill, it used to be a great place in the past.

For starters we spend a lot of time at the pool, and this year it was almost impossible to get a spot in the shade, if you wanted a spot in the shade to relax you needed to get up at 0630 and go throw a towel in a cot to reserve a spot, otherwise be ready to be in the blazing sun, they removed a large number of the umbrellas that last year had nice shade next to the pools. And this season and everybody was fighting to get a place where they could just lay down to relax and read a book without having to end up with severe sunburns. The "Beach" they have is extremely crowded since it is very small, it's about 30 meters of beach at the most, rocky sand, and the water is not very clean, the pools are nice but on the colder side most of the time, especially the lower one.

Mind you, the hotel manager (Mr. Matias) seems had some of his familiy around, seemed to be his wife at least, and plus some acquantiances and they all had nice places in the shade to relax, some people seemed to have a small terrace reserved everyday for them by hotel personnel who would bring out pool toys and towels until the "favorite" guests arrive. There would be angry tourists from Brazil for example asking pool personnel for a place in the shade and you never see anybody from management doing anything about it, management seems absent on this matter, except for famlily and friends of course.

Then the food is just getting plain mediocre, and very overpriced for the quality, I do NOT mind overpriced, but when you are getting average to mediocre food, well it's no fun, expect to pay almost 70 USD for a light dinner at La Huerta, and like I said before if were something really good I would gladly pay. If you stay a few days you will get tired of the food by the second day and going out for dinner is a big pain, this hotel is FAR AWAY from everywhere, a Taxi will be expensive and in the high season it could mean around an hour to get to a place to eat. The room service menu is very scarce, last year they at least had some great pizza which this year is gone, it was one of the good things.

The INTERNET is practically USELESS, Intermittent, Extremely Slow, and you don't usually get the service with the hotel fee, you should expect to pay an extra steep fee for something that is practically USELESS, and when personnel are notified, they just give you the runaround. Then on TV many channels like FOX or HBO have either no sound or frozen image, so the TV is bad also.

The room furniture and else in general, is just getting old, everything made out of wood is very banged up and old. Then around the hotel, expect so see several spots where the paint is peeling, roofs leaking water into halls, and expect to pay extra for everything like bottled water, parking, etc.

Also it seems as if lately they just want to fill the hotel during the season, and all sorts of different people come in, some are a plain nuissance with no manners or education, loud, drinking, and some with music by the pool, I got a couple of towels stolen and you don't see security anywhere.

One of the nice things was an awesome fireworks display on New Years, I would say most of the rooms have a nice view, as does the pool areas, walking up the road in the morning is nice, and the gym and also pretty good, and you are not charged extra to use it, checking in can be either really quick and simple or the opposite, depending on who's at the reception and the number of guests, but it is usually good.

I really hope they get their act together, it's a shame to see it have changed so much for the worse in just one year.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 5th floor, near the center, or to the West, much better view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BlenderPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The place is sub standard regarding rooms and restaurants. The pools are nice and large but there is only one or two waiters to serve the whole beach & pool area. It can take more than one hour to get a piña colada. The private beach is the one thing that could make me think to come back to this place.

Room Tip: There's a really noisy night club in the docks that plays loud music Friday and Saturday nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexicatessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only reason I dont give it five stars is because the rooms,mand the wholemhotel in general, need a bit of maintenance. Otherwise, I loved it.

Its private and small beach is cozy and very clean. The pools marvelous. Food also great but a bit expensive. Service really good. Hotel price superb.

You better have a car if you plan on wondering around. The hotel,is between the old Acapulco and the new Zona Diamante. Isolated. Perfect for couples. Light was out for a whole day and thats a no no, but everything else was better than expected.

Well.... they should also get softer towels and sheets. anyway, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Partial ocean views have a GReAT vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatototo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

First of all this Hotel does not deserve ti have 4 stars, this place is a mess, when I arrived there, there was just one bell man and two front desk people, when we saw the room it was totally different than it is on the pictures, dirty pillow cases and all the bed sets, there was a hole on the roof and it was liquing, there was a lot of wanter on the floor, there was no A/C on our room neither on the hallways and the tail of the hallways was broke and horrible, we paid $650 dollars for 3 nigths. When I asked to speak to the manager she was "busy" and it took me a while to talke with her, finally, she offer us to change rooms and location but it was the same mess. My boyfriend and I moved to another hotel calles" Las Brisas Acapulco" i highly recommend this hotel! When I finally spoke with the manager from this hotel she told me that we can't have our money back so they keep it. Do not visit this place it is not a 4 Stars Hotel! HELL NO!!!! so tourist people be aware from this people specially the manager.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place and visit "Las Brisas Acapulco" hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stephnermin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is very well located - it is situated not in the main Acapulco Bay, but in the next one, close to Puerto Marques. This has several advantages in that it is much quieter (no road traffic noise and fumes) than those on the main drag, and also that the sea is much calmer and therefore it is much easier to swim here. It is also quite secluded. This is a very nice hotel, but for me, it misses something that makes it truly special (for the price, I would stay at Las Brisas instead). The rooms are nice, if not any more special than an average hotel. Ours did have a nice view, overlooking the beach. The main problem for us was that there was a smell of sewage in the passage way right outside our room that you could also smell from the balcony. Maintenance tried to fix it for us, but it came back again the next day and had to switch rooms. We were told that the problem doesn´t affect the whole hotel, so maybe it depends which room you are in. The restaurants were ok, but nothing special food-wise. The sea was lovely, great for swimming, and there was a nice view from the beach. There is not much room to sit on the beach, but there is plenty of space on the terraces above. All in all, while this is a very good hotel, I would say that there are better options for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
2.0 mi away
Quinta Real Acapulco
Quinta Real Acapulco
#30 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#9 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#4 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
3.9 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Acapulco Diamante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Acapulco Diamante

Property: Camino Real Acapulco Diamante
Address: Carretera Escenica Km 14 Baja Catita S/N | Fracc. Pichilingue Diamante, Acapulco 39880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Acapulco Diamante 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Acapulco has a privileged location surrounded by tropical vegetation, locating his great construction of 7 acre Beach into one of the most Luxurious and Safety Acapulco Residences, just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 Min from Costera Avenue. Our Hotel invite you to absolute rest, offering all services for your comfort and relax time, such as; Room service 24 hrs, SPA, 1 restaurant international food open from 07:00 - 23: 00hrs, Restaurant Sea Food Specialties open 13:00 to 23:00 hrs, and our Pool Bar restaurant for Snack directly to your pool, same pools with a beautiful view of the bay Puerto Marquez, Whiteout leaving the privacy offered by our homely beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Camino Real Acapulco Diamante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Resort Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing