We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Architecture”
Review of Boca Chica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boca Chica Hotel
Ranked #24 of 169 Hotels in Acapulco
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Spent two nights at the Hotel Boca Chica following a recomendation of a friend of mine to try out something new.

Location: it is located on the far end of the Acapulco main bay, on the peninsula facing an island. If you want to be in the middle of the happening of Acapulco this is certainly not the place to stay since it is quite a trip to get there, either from the airport or to the main attractions like restaurants or bars. You definetely need a car to get there, either taxi, own or rental car. That part of Acapulco is certainly one of the poorer areas which you instantly notice when driving there.

Property: I am not sure when it was constructed but it has a 50's or early 60's feel. The property is beautifully restored, all key elements form the old days were maintained. The garden with all the plants is gorgeous. The view to the sea fantastic.

Guest rooms: I was lucky to have one of the corner suites (room 210) on the second floor (there are only 30 something guest rooms). It was spacious, the shower is placed in the room surrounded by a shower curtain which is not everyone's piece of cake but I did not mind since I stayed myself in the room. There is WIFI throughout the hotel, guestrooms and pool area and it is included in the room rate. There is a minibar, they provide sandals, there is a bathrobe, amenities, safe deposit box, TV, telephone and a nice seating area on the balcony as well as a hammock. There is no glass in the windows, there are nets placed instead and shutters which regulate the air and light coming into the room. I liked that detail in particular since it gives you a nice feel of colonial times.

Breakfast: continental breakfast (toast, butter, marmelade, coffee and orange or grapefruit juice) is included in the rate. Everything else is to be paid in addition. When I asked for tea instead of coffee it was not possible to change this without paying extra for the tea which I found pretty annoying.

Staff: In general, staff is efficient though not particularly empathic about what they are doing. You rarely encountered a smile or some charming comments which I would expect in such kind of hotel and size. Only the ladies making up the rooms showed some sign of smiles in their face when you met them on the corridors.

Other amenities: there is a restaurant placed in a Palapa (the typical local palm leave covered roofs), serving quite good food. The choice is not overly big but sufficient for the size of the hotel.There is also a swimming pool, not very big but sufficient. Sun beds and chairs are there as well as towels. There is also a spa where treatments are provided though I did not check that out. There is no sand beach but you could swim in the ocean if you do not mind the rocks.

Summary: a great property, great architecture, lovely gardens, nicely appointed rooms. You need transportation to get to the main attractions. Efficient though not overly charming service provided by staff. I would certainly stay again but would feel more comfortable if staff showed a bit more of empathy when serving the guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

going to acapulco now looks wrong and dangerous, it might be if you are in the wrong place at the wrong moment. but.... if you go for business and you really want to jump in the 60's
go to this frinedly and stylish hotel.
the staff is super kind and the food amamzing, the rooms are big and well decorated.
all together is a total go, the spa is also great.
it's a special corner in a messy city, the ocean in front is calm and the felling is being in a 60 style movie.

love it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank astondb9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Amazing minimalist hotel in Acapulco beach! Service is perfect, the view is unforgetable and you can't miss the spa! We went there (my girlfriend and I) for the spring break weekend and it was great. Quiet place, not at all crowded. Just the perfect place to relax an have a great time. Prices are a bit too high but affordable.
Overall it's a beautiful minimalistic-designed hotel. You have to check it out!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diegoccorzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The restaurant at Boca Chica Hotel has been popular with both locals and tourists for decades, serving good food with infamously slow, but friendly service. The hotel was sold and beautifully and trendily modernized by Habita (the Mexican chain that acquired the property) who wisely kept the retro feel and also wisely left the lovely restaurant well alone. The menu is oriental and sadly, local or Mexican dishes are nowhere to be seen. The chef is from New York and the food is for the most part very good.
Our table had been reserved (for 10) to celebrate a friend’s birthday. We arrived punctually to find a completely empty restaurant (1 table who soon left) and we had to wait while our table was put together because it had not been set up previously. My friend had also asked about the possibility of them providing a little birthday cake to which she was told, "well that depends on how much you consume..." She explained that we would be 10 people, eating and drinking, but this did not seem to be good enough and we were denied a cake. There is not ONE SINGLE restaurant in Acapulco who will not make a little extra effort for a client's birthday even if it is just to shove a candle on top of a Jell-O.
An extremely slow and surly waiter rolled his eyes when told that we would be needing separate checks, which I can understand is a nuisance in a bustling restaurant, but by this point we were the only table in there. My friend ordered white wine and was informed that they HAD RUN OUT!!! There was no offer to send someone to the well-stocked, brand new Superama supermarket 1/2 mile down the road. On questioning the head waiter, he explained that Superama doesn't stock the brand of white wine that is on their menu...I suggested that it might have been a good idea to buy in a case of ANY decent white wine to carry them through...meanwhile we stuck with Margaritas. Having lost patience with the goings on (or lack of them) and complaining to the hotel manager, we were offered two little bowls of edamame and a round of Margaritas in an attempt to calm us down.
This is the third time that I eat here recently and every time have had appallingly slow service, with food waiting collection on the bar while the waiters do absolutely nothing, ignored by the head waiter and the hotel manager rushes round talking officiously into his cell phone presumably negotiating world peace or something of equal importance.
I HATE to see this kind of laziness and mismanagement in a place that I have always loved and that has been very much a part of my own family history. They desperately need to fix the attitude problem: Yes Boca Chica is a trendy boutique hotel and I am sure that the manager would love it to be filled by nubile 20 year olds in bikinis, but it isn't. It isn't filled by anybody. I have stayed in other Habita properties which could be described, as painfully trendy but their staff has always been extremely friendly and helpful and the service always impeccable. Somebody needs to explain to Boca Chica that trendy is not a synonym of rude, indifferent or snotty and that a table of 10 well-known local "ladies who lunch" or anybody else for that matter, is not to be sneered at, ESPECIALLY when it your only table on a Friday lunchtime.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The Hotel itself is very old, but fully renovated. It is small, with only one restaurant, a bar and a very small night club.

It has just about 30 rooms.

It is kept very clean and tidy everywhere, from the rooms to the halls, and the all the common areas.

The pool area is small, and if the hotel is at full capacity (or even 60%) it could get very crowded. We went on the first week after new year's eve, and we had the hotel practically to ourselves, but the staff said that the previous weekend it was fully booked.

The rooms are quite comfortable, all have ocean view (the view is to the Island La Roqueta, a natural reserve). It has a small mini-bar, a balcony -that has a hammock and two comfy "acapulco chairs"-, a great in-room shower, a small flat screen tv, and an ipod/iphone dock.

I suspect that this dock will be connected sometime to in-room speakers, as it has the sound cables connected to a wall socket, but we did not seen any speakers on the room.

The restaurant was also quite good, the menu is a mostly japanese and japanese-fusion, with few, but very good dishes. Service there was quite relaxed, and friendly. But misses some small details. Nothing that will ruin your experience or meal, though.

Breakfast menu was also quite simple, but delicious.

We did not get to visit the night club, "Coco Wash". Did not even noticed it was there for the first couple days. Perhaps it was not open as we were so few guests that week.

Now the surroundings. The hotel is right next to Caleta beach. This is a very popular beach, and mostly working class local families and groups go there. It is surprisingly clean -as the bay itself-. Loud music blasts from some of the beach restaurants there almost non-stop.

You will hear them from your room, but in my opinion, this is not something that could keep you awake at night or the afternoon "siesta".

The beach has some small and cheap restaurants. Could be good to drink a couple beers, and some fried fish or shrimp. Contrary to what you may heard, it seemed very safe. As we were strolling there late afternoon, I could see a few police officers, and lots of families with small children. However, try not to attract too much attention to yourself, or flash expensive jewelry or equipment. I think the best security advise is to use your common sense, and enjoy yourself.

There is no direct access to the beach from the hotel (well, there is, but is shut down). So you'd have to exit to the street and walk a few meters to the public beach' entrance.

Down the street where the hotel is located there are a few restaurants, and a karaoke bar. Avoid them, as they scream "tourist trap". Ask the hotel staff for some restaurant recommendations on town. There is also a small convenience store.

It also has a spa, with a very extensive menu of services. Seems a bit pricey, but I'm sure it's worth it.

The hotel also has access to the bay, so you can do some snorkeling, or kayaking. The guy in charge of the equipment -Ricardo- is very friendly and helpful. If you ask him, will take you to a snorkeling tour, to see different kind of fish and other sea-life.

He can also hook you up to rent jet-ski. Just be aware that this service is completely independent from the hotel.

The hotel is VERY pet-friendly. We took along a small dog and she was allowed to be anywhere on the hotel. If you are also taking your pet, please be considered to other guest that might not be as dog-friendly as you: clean after your dog, and keep him/her away from the pool.

Overall, the hotel is an excellent place to relax, with very good food and service, and an atmosphere that takes you back to the sixties.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have a vey limited sea view. Otherwise, all the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vipage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

American Express found this place for us. We came into town at midnight, I know what your thinking so was I. Please do not believe all the bad press, we had no problems and we were in a rental car (another subject).
This place is hard to find, we paid a taxi driver to take us to it, we were two blocks away and yes it was scary because of all the hype, but really no threat at all!
The staff adjusted our rate because of our late arrival, we were moving to our time share the next day.
This place is clean as a whistle, great staff, great service, great breakfast (very resemble)
The Rooms are like being in a James Mitchner novel in the south seas, very romantic and tropical. It is too bad we were so tried from traveling and only stayed one nite.
Only draw back at the south most part of Acapulco, taxi rides about 20-40 pesos per person back into centro one way!
Stay here, price is right and it is great!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaCoach61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

OK.. so we went to relax on our wedding anniversary, first off october is the off season so there wasn't that many people on the property, I don't know how it gets very crowded on spring break, summer or new years... it really is kind of a long drive from the airport-toll road you have to go across all of acapulco since it's located on one of the ends of the bay... the neighborhood is a little unsettling since it's next to a beach where all the local families hang out but once you get to the place and settled in you won't notice it at all...

Anyway the hotel is some 50 odd years old... don't worry it's remodeled, minimalistic decor, hammock-A/C-flatscreen-safe-ocean view in every room, the staff was really attentive, it seems they've worked out some of the kinks mentioned in other reviews...

First off everything is really clean, rooms are comfy, you don't need much just to chill out an relax, the minibar is stocked accordingly, the pool area is a little small.. so if you want a spot by the pool better get up early because it fills up really fast... there's a terrace downstairs in the marina/boat landing/gym area where you can also soak up all the sun.. they have a privileged location so you get plenty of sun to work on your tan in all of the hotel areas...

The restaurant has a somewhat limited lunch/dinner menu but everything is very good... top notch, very tasty but after 3 days it can get a little boring... don't get me wrong we loved the food but sushi, tempura and sashimi everyday? sure they throw in some grilled fish and meat for variation... the drinks are great they use fresh fruit for everything, juices, cocktails etc

The spa is adequate, nice sauna and hot tubs, the person giving the massages was excellent, also the pedi-manicurist... the gym equipment is a little limited but useful none the less... as for the kayaks and boat, the boat is available for about 100 dlls an hour to do as you please... the kayaks are free, you just have to wait for your turn... the water is really calm and since there's no beach.. just rocks you can do some snorkeling and enjoy looking at all the fishes and little creatures that hang around the place...

Overall it's a very pleasing experience, really cool ambiance... it invites you just to unwind and relax... two peeves though first off.. they really need some new music by the pool/restaurant area... listening to the same playlist for two days straight is a little boring.. oh yeah and the wi-fi connection sucks!!

But aside from that I highly recommend the place... I'm thinking about going back in a couple of weeks!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
18.6 mi away
Bambuddha
Bambuddha
#17 of 169 in Acapulco
78 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 169 in Acapulco
336 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quinta Real Acapulco
Quinta Real Acapulco
#30 of 169 in Acapulco
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Los Flamingos
Hotel Los Flamingos
#22 of 169 in Acapulco
95 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 169 in Acapulco
834 reviews
3 mi away
Sands Acapulco Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boca Chica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Chica Hotel

Address: Playa Caletilla, Acapulco 39390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range: $121 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boca Chica Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Boca Chica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boca Chica Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing