We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Still my favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Flamingos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Los Flamingos
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
brandy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still my favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Well I returned again this year and stayed for 2 months. Need I say more? I love this place. Everyone who works at this hotel is sooooo nice. The guests are also so,pleasant. The hotel is old, but it has so much charm and character, it cannot be surpassed. I'm looking forward to next year when I can return to my home away from home, hotel los flamingos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank psjrnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    10
    9
    2
See reviews for
12
28
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband ad I spent 3 nights in Hotel Los Flamingos in late March, 2013. Los Flamingos is an old, traditional, established hotel that was the playground of the Hollywood stars such a Johhny Weismuller, Errol Flynn, John Wayne and many others. It is located on a cliff with a beautiful view of the Pacific ocean.

The staff of Los flamingos is extremely courteous and helpful - I would give them a definite rating of 10. They were the best of the hotel. Second best was the large kidney shaped swimming pool which is well maintained.

The rooms, however, leave something to be desired. We stayed in a "superior" room. It was relatively clean, however we did find some spiders and a baby scorpion. These things were easily taken care of and might be fairly common in the tropical environment of this hotel which is surrounded buy lush gardens. The beds were very firm, something which we like, but might not be high on everyone's list of desirability in beds.

The biggest problem we found was the extremely low water pressure in the shower. I asked the staff to check this out and they even changed the shower head, but the problem wasn't solved. I'm imagining that since this hotel is quite old, possibly the water pipes are blocked by mineral deposits and this is what causes the problem of the low pressure. It was quite difficult to wash my medium length hair. I can deal with spiders but I like a strong or at least reasonable shower.

This hotel would be spectacular if it could solved the water problem and have a bit more maintenance to it's facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TirsoBarbaraLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
195 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The prior review by RFNJ explains this property best.

As someone who is not a hotel guest but a frequent visitor this is a must visit property especially if you are into all of it's Hollywood history.

Located in the Old\Traditional section of Acapulco Los Flamingos boasts incredible views out at the Pacific.

We were fortunate to catch Whales breaching the surface for about 30 minutes on their scenic patio.

We had 3-4 drinks while on their patio Cervesa's are 25 peso Margaritas 65 each and are very good.

Go close to sunset like all the travel tips tell you it is worth some down and relaxing time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truck2chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have been a frequent guest at Hotel Los Flamingos, having eschewed the big modern hotel offerings on the strip in favor of great views, service and ambiance.
The hotel is an old hotel - there are no flat-screen TVs, and only some of the property has wifi access.
It is set off the strip in the old section of Acapulco, but getting downtown is never a problem. And what it lacks in modern convenience, it more than makes up for in charm, style and service. I have never met anyone there who did not pass me with a warm smile and greeting. They respond very quickly to requests, know the city and are very helpful.
And as mentioned over and over, the vista is incredible, and sunset cocktails in the restaurant become the highlight of many a trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RFNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to this hotel several times, first time was around 2001, 2002. And have returned almost every year after that. Maybe it is because of it's amazing views of the Pacific Ocean, or it's tranquility under the palms and next to the pool. I have had the best chats over Coco Locos. And the most romantic time in its suite 16, under the restaurant. Not to mention the best service Mexico and Acapulco can offer.
If you're a fan of Mexican cuisine make sure to visit on thrusday, when they do the most delicious Pozole.
If you're a film buff this place is a Gem for you!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SergioLeon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in Los Flamingos for 2 nights in August with a couple of friends and their kids. The reputation of this hotel and it's Hollywood beginnings were what tempted us and so we'd reserved the RoundHouse (Casa Tarzan) which accomodated all 6 of us. Isolated at the far end of the cliff-tops on which the hotel is built, there's even a private little path leads down to a spectacular and private viewpoint of the best sunset in Acapulco!

There were other guests at the hotel, but the swimming pool next to the Casa Tarzan was always deserted, which made it feel like it was our private resort!

The hotel up-keep feels slightly neglected - there's no need for air con in the roundhouse as there are simply anti-mosquito screens that soften the cooling sea breeze! The owner is clearly against modernising probably for fear of forgetting the past glory!

But you don't come here for an air-conditioned, simple room. You choose Los Flamingos for other reasons! And, after reading the newspaper articles and admiring the photos on some of the walls, you head to the bar for a Coco Loco, half expecting John Wayne, Cary Grant and Johnny W to be propping up the bar waiting for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Now, I wouldn't waste your time reviewing a hotel if it had no merits, so bearing that in mind, I'll tell you about Los Flamingos. In the whole realm of the Acapulco scene, Los Flamingos hotel is positioned high atop the Northern cliffs. So if you like an out of the way hotel in a bustling vacation city, this is your hotel. The food, the view of the Pacific, the pool and the atmosphere of the place is worth the visit. And the Sunsets from our balconey or "on campus" in general, were incredible! Like many, "out the way" hotels in Mexico, the response to email reservations is sporadic, at best but we were ready to try a Classic unconfirmed reservation, hotel ! Again, I have a semi-working knowledge of Spanish, enough to handle most any situation. So getting things or services at this hotel was not a problem. They had an energetic bellboy there that made us feel like we had our own butler, caretaker, errand runner and best friend, rolled into one !
We got there on the weekend, so we had plenty of company staying at the hotel. Drinks and meals were great and reasonably priced. Despite, the out of the way location from central Acapulco, the Cliff divers, Diego Rivera's house, and other worthwhile sights are nearby.
To the negative, the average priced rooms we stayed in, need a little updating before we go back there again. We tried a regular and an A/C room, unfortunately, the A/C room lacked the balcony perk. Again, an upgrade probably would have solved the problem but they were quite full, as it was the weekend. I don't regret the stay one bit but I hope they update it soon. It is interesting to see all the photos of famous people who stayed there in the past and their Gift shop was a pleasant surprise. We purchased more there than in the rest of our trip combined ! They have a wide variety of local crafts and clothing at very Reasonable prices ! All told a very nice retreat.
A good "staying spot" in Mexico, SkippyFrizz :-)

Room Tip: An A/C room with a balcony is the only way to go. Good luck getting a confirmed reservation !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skippyfrizz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#27 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Quinta Karla Pie de la Cuesta
4.5 mi away
One Acapulco Costera
One Acapulco Costera
#13 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
El Hotelito
El Hotelito
#90 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boca Chica Hotel
Boca Chica Hotel
#24 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
4.1 mi away
Acapulco Malibu
Acapulco Malibu
#16 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Flamingos

Property: Hotel Los Flamingos
Address: Av. Lopez Mateos | Fraccionamiento Las Playas, Acapulco 39390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Flamingos 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Los Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Flamingos Hotel
Los Flamingos Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing