We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands Down the best sunset ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Flamingos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Los Flamingos
Ranked #19 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Winter Park, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hands Down the best sunset ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

We were taken to the historical hotel Los Flamingos by our favorite cabbie because he toted it as the best place to watch the sunset in Acapulco and he definitely delivered! This hotel is full of history including the Tarzan house where Johnny Weissmuller vacationed with his fellow Hollywood stars. You can even rent out the Tarazan house for $100/night - though I would have paid $300.00/night if I could see that sunset every evening. The service was impeccable. Our waiter brought us to a small cliff just down from the Tarzan house where we watched the sunset by ourselves. He then came back with two coronas - he had to walk quite a distance to deliver our cervezas!

This hotel is definitely not the place to whoop it up and party if that is what you are after but if you are looking for a romantic moment viewing one of the best sunsets in Mexico, Los Flamingos should be your destination.

Los Flamingos is located right near La Quebrada in Old Acapulco so check out the sunset and then head over to the cliff divers to round out your evening.

Helpful?
3 Thank Karissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
14
32
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

Minus the Hollywood history it would have been tough to overlook the need for some basic maintenance on paint & plaster. The place is sitting on a diamond of a location so most people would be happy with just the essentials being more welcoming to guests. All the same, I am glad we stayed for the experience but probably we will try another place next time. The restaurant has a personal charm & good food (with a breath-taking view).

  • Liked — History, view, the restaurant
  • Disliked — Poor condition of the facility.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cacouna, Québec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

I cannot say that this is the best hotel I stayed in nor the best restaurant I hate at, but I really did enjoy my stay there. You have to pick a room giving on the Ocean, if you don't you might hear the trafic in the street. We (4 friends and I) stayed there for 4 days, eated there (mostly room service), drank their fabulous Cocoloco and let me say that for the price we paid IT IS the hotel to be in Acapulco. The view is breath taking and the stories that this hotel holds are simply amazing. While staying there, a nice lady had the next door room and was telling us that she had been renting the same room for the last 40 years 1 mounth every winter! It's true that this hotel does belong to a other era but it's very nice to go there and imagine what it use to be.

  • Liked — The view, Cocolocos and price
  • Disliked — Old
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LRVPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

Loud Street Noise...none of the reviews I read mentioned this!

We stayed in a Junior Suite, Sat/Sun/Mon nights. I never slept soundly on any night. Sat. night was the worst with cars blaring music or beeping horns driving by all night long.

The hotel was built in 1930, it was isolated up on a hilltop. Since then the city has grown up to it. The hotel is very close to the street. The only room which may not have much noise is the Tarzan House since it sits on it's own little hill.

Everything else is as reviewed by others.

The bad...Insects, spotty hot water, no shampoo/conditioner, no air conditioning, TV with rabbit ears antenae, dusty rooms, barely adequate maintenance.
The acceptable...cheap rates, staff is friendly, pool is good size with great view, Junior Suite was good size with balcony & hammock & killer views, nice landscaping full of beautiful plants, many birds flying around, only about 36 rooms so feel is intimate, almost exclusive.

If this property where in top shape...it would cost at least 3 or 4 times as much. This is truly a case where you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — view, not overcrowded
  • Disliked — night noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2005

The layout, locale and views are epic. The history is fascinating. The rooms (bathrooms especially) are rustic at best. If you can rough it you'll like this place but is it worth the price? Probably not. It's like Acapulco in general, everyone has their hand out. If you're not keeping track of the tab they'll take you for a ride.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pconSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2005

We (6 of us) stayed at Los Flamingos Hotel in mid June. This was my third time at this Hotel and will not be my last. Quiet, friendly, CHEAP, and a very accomodating staff make this the place to stay in Acapulco. So it's not right on the beach, but the view is well worth it. A quick 5 minute drive and you're in the heart of the city and the popular beaches. The hotel is the old Hollywood gang hangout (Johnny Weismuller, John Wayne, Cary Grant, Red Skelton, Fred McMurray) and their pictures are all hanging in the open air lobby. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2005

The Hollywood Elite Chose this place for a reason!

I have stayed at the Los Flamingos every time I have been in Acapulco.
The views…. The views……. I noticed a few posts below about having to worry about things being stolen, what a laugh. This place has been family owned and operated for ever. I have left rolls of money on my dresser and thousands of dollars worth the photographic equipment. Out. And would never ever consider it a risk.

The music at the pool is not piped in. Juan is the pool man and he will play anything you ask. Don’t forget to bring your cds as well, he will play them too.

If you’re a couple looking for romance and you think you can stand each other for a few days …. Ding Ding you will have a winner at this place. Room #17 No air Ocean breeze.

I’m going to spend my 25th here this October.
As far as the food being ok or average.. Try ordering something besides a hamburger.. Hello!
The Restaurant is famous for its shrimp.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank WorldTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#29 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
4.1 mi away
Acapulco Malibu
Acapulco Malibu
#20 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Quinta Karla Pie de la Cuesta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
One Acapulco Costera
One Acapulco Costera
#18 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cocos Camp
Cocos Camp
#31 of 179 in Acapulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Zaira del Mar
Posada Zaira del Mar
#25 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Flamingos

Property: Hotel Los Flamingos
Address: Av. Lopez Mateos | Fraccionamiento Las Playas, Acapulco 39390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#10 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Flamingos 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Flamingos Hotel
Los Flamingos Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing