We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh sea food on beautiful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Esmirna del Mar

Esmirna del Mar
Ranked #15 of 318 Restaurants in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh sea food on beautiful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Esmirma del Mar is a Barra Vieja sea food restaurant with a really nice view of the Pacific Ocean. The food is pretty good and there's a great cost-benefit ratio. Service is a bit slow but the waiters and manager were really nice. My only minor issue is that we weren't informed that credit cards were not accepted at that moment and had to pay cash.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    36
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Sebastian Hernandez, acapulcoforall.com, took us out to this quaint restaurant for a truly wonderful dinner. The food was very good and large portions. We watched the sunset and listened the ocean throughout the meal. We complimented the chef many times that night!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 62WorldTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We ate a wonderful meal of fresh fish and shrimp at this restaurant by the ocean. The food was fantastic as was the atmoshere and the service. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Dr. and Mrs. viswanath

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ted v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredibly fresh seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

If you are in Acapulco you must visit here for a sunset meal. I would suggest visiting during the week as the weekends can be very busy with many locals enjoying the view and food as well. We visited on a week night and there were only three tables that were there. Guaranteed palapa with a great sunset view. The sunsets in Acapulco are beautiful and this was an incredible beach with a perfect view!
Now for the food - incredible! They bring the fish/ prawns/ shrimp that were caught right there on the beach that day and you pick out what you want to eat. We split a 3 kilo Red Snapper with another table and had the garlic prawns and guacamole for an appetizer. Both were delish, as were the margaritas. The star of the show though was the huachinango ala talla, or a red fish that had this red sauce on it and then grilled over a charcoal fire. The lady serves it to you so there are no bones. My only regret was there was so much food I could not finish it all!
The bathrooms are basically rudimentary and are where the showers are located for those showering from the beach.
Must eat here for the food and of course the adventure!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALTON
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fish in beach huts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

One of the best meals we ate in the Acapulco area. Be aware, this is a shabby beach bungalow-type place with palapas in the sand, not a dress-up place, so bring the whole family, wear your bathing suit under a beach dress, and bring your bug spray. After eating there the first time, we would go again earlier in the day to enjoy the ocean and beach before eating dinner. Go with at least 4 people, so you can order the whole fish "a talla". If you are presented with too large a fish, ask for a smaller one, but they probably aren't going to stock fish smaller than 2-2.5 kg. The complete dinner is worthwhile for the rice, French fries, salad, frijoles, etc.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esmirna del Mar also viewed

 
Acapulco, Guerrero
 
Acapulco, Guerrero
Acapulco, Guerrero
 

Been to Esmirna del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing