We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little off the Costera”
Review of La Tortuga

La Tortuga
Ranked #48 of 328 Restaurants in Acapulco
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just a little off the Costera”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is one of the best places in Acapulco to eat. I love the place. Just a little outdated perhaps but the food is really good, the prices good and those pickled hot veggies are favourites. Not sure if Omar is still there since I did not have time to get there on my last trip to ACA.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EthelDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    22
    6
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service at an affordable price.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We followed a recommendation from tripadvisor and were glad we did! Rufino served delicious Mexican food with a relaxed, easy-going attitude. He was always there to fill our glasses, make sure we were fine but mostly was out of our way. We had the tortilla soup, then split the Tortuga Combination dish all washed down with a couple beers each. The bill was just over 300 pesos and we were extremely full and satisfied. We want to go back to try their specialty: a fillet of fish stuffed with shrimp cooked with garlic and olive oil. They also have a breakfast menu that looks delicious and serve tortas. The restaurant is just off the main road, so it is a bit quieter and more authentic. I would definitely go back, maybe even on this trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nchacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing food, incredible service.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Slide down the side street next to the Office Max and enter the world of Rufino at La Tortuga. This is a must visit restaurant. The service is fantastic and the food is outstanding. While entertaining me with news from Australia, Rufino educated me with new spanish phrases and tales. I could not finish the meal so Rufino topped it up with more rice and packed it for me to take away, but not before a quick glass of Tequila. When travelling to Acapulco do yourself a favour and head to La Tortuga. Thanks Rufino,
Tom from Australia.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tommytom1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Chile Rellenos!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were instantly made to feel at home at this little Mexican cafe. Our dinner was delicious - Chile Rellenos are my favorite - and a Mexican troubador entertained us while we waited for our meals. The waiter, Ruffino, has been there for 45 years and he made us feel very special. Just ask Roberto and Benjamin to bring you here. You'll be glad you did!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Ama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST margaritas in Acapulco!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great food, very fresh and homemade. And their drinks are KILLER. He makes margaritas with fresh-squeezed limes. Delicious vegetarian options and a sweet, friendly staff. Very authentic, delicious, not-touristy, killer Mexican food. Highly reccomend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tortuga also viewed

 
Acapulco, Guerrero
 

Been to La Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing