We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of tranquillity in a big city”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saltillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rancho El Morillo
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Saltillo
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because they accept pets. What we found was an oasis of green grass and trees, beautiful flower gardens, a big clean room with a hot shower. They have wonderful walking trails through the back of the old hacienda. It is very quiet day and night even though they are only a kilometre from the main highway because the hotel is set well back from any main streets on a dead end street. The only sound we heard all night was a distant train whistle. We had a great dinner and a very filling breakfast in the dining room. We were only stopping for the night this time, but will return here each year for at least two nights so that we can explore the city and relax in the gardens. Thank you Norma for a great visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThunderBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2010

Ask for El Morillo's Curado de Pera at the bar!! I love it!
The owners and the staff are dedicated to the guests. I truly didn't want to leave.
Rhonda Rougeau

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMRofAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This is a hotel in the middle of the woods, like a oassis in the desert, where you can relax in a quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vviajero59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

After traveling for four days and 3500 kms from snow covered Canada, we were tired and lost. A police officer helped us locate Hotel Ranco El Morillo. After checking in, we were lead to our rooms on the side of the 75 year old Ranch located on Saltillo perimeter road.

The rooms were basic but very clean. Colonial Mexico at it’s best. No TV or phones in the room. Gas heater. Comfortable beds and clean linen.

We met outside on the beautiful grounds and enjoyed a glass of single malt scotch. Norma, the owner, arranged for our dinner around 8:00 PM. It was New Year’s eve and she was having some friends over.

We met in the main dinning room for a traditional Mexican dinner over a bottle of Concha y Toro Carménère Reserve.

It turned out to be an excellent night of conversation and fun telling stories of our world travels.

The garden and court yard was beautifully manicured and lit up with Christmas lights and ornaments for the festive season.

We all had an excellent sleep and had a great breakfast before getting on the road to Puerto Vallarta. A real charm and experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SudburyMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

i have been coming to saltillo off and on for 10 years so am somewhat biased. what i really like at el morillo is they serve the meals with heavy silverware, not cheap bendable stuff, and there are always flowers on the tables and in the cabaña. first class minorly rustic with style is how i would describe the place. they only have 15 rooms (and #13 missing) so sometimes best to make a reservation. however, i have been there when it was full and they put us in another house on the property for the night. the family owns everything once you enter the gates so the chance is they can accommodate you. several years ago our group stayed there one time 3 months in a little furnished house on the property and it was very pleasant. english is well understand and, even better, they very well tolerate poorly spoken spanish without embarrassing you.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank austinmantexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is rustic and simple but perfect in its own way. You can hear the birds in the morning and its just helps bring in a sense of relaxation. The no TV and no phone thing was suprising when I heard about it, but oddly enough you don't need it! The rooms are simple but comfortable. The property is beautiful. I highly recommend Rancho el Morillo for a quiet/relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zliz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

I am planning a permanent move to Manzanillo, Mexico and figured I had better make a dry run through immigration, etc. before loading up my car and going. I wanted to get far enough into Mexico to get a feel for the highways, signage, tolls, fuel stops and so on, so I chose Saltillo because it's past Monterrey if that makes any sense.

Anyhow, the notion that an old hacienda had been turned into a hotel was intriguing plus it had good reviews on this site.

Monday night I was the only person there who didn't work there and felt like part of the family. Tuesday I was gone all day, but had breakfast in the hotel dining room and it was very good. Lunch and dinner are by previous arrangement, so if you want to eat there let them know earlier in the day. Remember that Mexico does not have Daylight Savings Time so don't show up an hour early like I did and wonder why no one is there.

It gets chilly in March in Saltillo and the only heat in the rooms is by small gas space heaters on the wall. They will warn you to turn them off before you go to bed, good advice I imagine. You want to make sure you wake up in the morning. Not to worry, there's plenty of extra blankets in the closet.

Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saltillo hotels
1.6 mi away
City Express Saltillo Sur
City Express Saltillo Sur
#2 of 28 in Saltillo
320 reviews
8.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Saltillo
6.2 mi away
La Fuente Hotel & Suites
La Fuente Hotel & Suites
#21 of 28 in Saltillo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quinta Dorada Hotel And Suites
6 mi away
Mision Express Saltillo
Mision Express Saltillo
#10 of 28 in Saltillo
9 reviews
2.6 mi away
Urdinola Hotel
Urdinola Hotel
#18 of 28 in Saltillo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho El Morillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho El Morillo

Address: Prol. Obregon y Periferico L. Echeverria | Calle Del Morillo, Saltillo 25070, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Coahuila > Saltillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Saltillo
Price Range: $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing