We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food in an atmospheric setting”
Review of La Roca

La Roca
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Nogales
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb food in an atmospheric setting”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We took a table outside on the balcony overlooking the street at the front of the restaurant - a great place to watch the world go by, listen to the music from the bar opposite, and generally soak up the atmosphere.

The margaritas are tremendous, and highly recommended. The food was plentiful, tasty, and the service was excellent. It's the place to eat in Nogales.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunnjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    44
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nogales, Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Greta hacienda style restaurant with ok food for the price, but the experienece is nice, half of the restaurant is inbeded in a cave and thath makes it original. their bar though small is greta for margaritas

Helpful?
Thank Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the area”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I have been going to La Roca for mant years. We love the ambiance, the long time staff, excellent attentive professional service, the classic Sonoran menu and of course the food. We were delighted to see the restaurant once again packed with both Mexicans and border crossers like ourselves. The Nogales economy is still suffering but there are signs of recovery.
To say, as one reviewer did that La Roca is a bit pricey for Mexican food is to compare the price of a meal at MacDonalds to fine dining anywhere. Real Mexican cooking is rare if not impossible to find North of the border. Fortunately La Roca is but a few steps to the South and accessible to anyone who appreciates fine food and first class Margaritas.
You can cross quite easily at the pedestrian gate slightly to the East of the main downtown gate. You exit the gate to Calle Elias, the street La Roca is on.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch experience!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We visited this restaurant with friends that go there often. We were so impressed. The service was impeccable and the staff were sooo friendly. We all got something different and no one was unsatisfied. The prices were very reasonable for the quality and quantity of food. You MUST try the guacamole and margaritas. We will definitely go back. Great atmosphere (mariachi band), nice decorations and surroundings etc.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LARC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I love Nogales...and La Roca is excellent!”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a high class place by Mexican standards and easy to walk to...we were concerned about that because we are limited. It is about 5 blocks or so from the border. Ask a few people and take a little short cut over the railroad tracks. We had lunch there as we did not want to be in Nogales after dark, and loved it, felt perfectly safe the entire time. We shopped and ate and were pretty much done by 4pm....headed for Tubac which was very pretty but quite expensive in comparison.

La Roca is a colorful restaurant in a lovely decor...in our group of 4 we had guacamole w chips, the salsa, chimichangas, enchildadas, tacos w lettuce and tomatoes.... all quite excellent served by waiters in
bow ties and jackets. Don't worry a bit about the food. It was excellent. All four of us paid about
$40. and it was quite a delight. Please be sure to tip the waiter the 15-20% standard tip.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat-thryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roca also viewed

 
Nogales, Sonora
 

Been to La Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing