We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for steak in Monterrey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gaucho

El Gaucho
Ranked #2 of 897 Restaurants in Monterrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
271 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best place for steak in Monterrey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place is a landmark in Monterrey, it's been there for quite a few years now and it only seems that it gets better. Everything is delicious here and it has great service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anlof9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    141
    35
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Argentinian Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Very good restaurant on Monterrey. Large portions of very good beef. Take a taxi if you do not know Monterrey. Ribeye is the best.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TCBeach60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good food, ask for the house salad. The dressing is tasty.
Order also some empanadas. I recommend the ones with corn and cheese.

If you're gonna celebrate something, book a table in advance or prepare yourself to wait hours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great way to end the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I took a look at Trip Advisor, as usual, I wanted a good steak in Monterrey and up came this restaurant. Upon arrival, I was immediately impressed with the environment and decoration - several TVs showing a football game and some passionate fans cheering for their team. I ordered empanada and filete a parrilla. Delicious. Well served, the dishes have the "double" or "single" option and I regretted not choosing "double". I know price is relative but I would never rate EL Gaucho "pricey", on the contrary, excellent ratio cost/benefit. Highly recommended, don't miss it if you're in Monterrey. I think this is my first 5-star review.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The meat is so great!!! the sauce, the tortillas, the salad, OMG!!! I don't have any complaint. Every time I go there, everything is so good!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho also viewed

San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey
 
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey
 

Been to El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing