We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Aweful Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon

BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon
Ranked #65 of 96 Hotels in Monterrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Aweful Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

In general the hotel is not a good hotel amd the service is very unfriendly! Will never stay here again! Very unsafe part of Monterrey! Breakfast is just "fair" and room service is worthless! This is more a hotel for locals that use public transportation which has easy access to public transportation!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_unlimited22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
14
5
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

I stay at the hotel for a month because of work. Since I arrived the staff was very friendly, they always try to make anything I ask for. When I arrived they don't have rooms for the price the company paid, so, they gave me a Junior Suite without any problem.
The food of the restaurant is above excellent, delicious!
The bathrooms are very clean and the rooms are very clean too.
The only things that I didn't like was that the pool was like a fountain and that the rooms in the first floor in one side have a wall view.
And that one side of the hotel is VERY noisy because of the street.
And the area of the hotel is not very safety, you can't wak around in the night there. lol.
But if you are inside in a good room it's EXCELLENT

  • Liked — Food at the restaurant
  • Disliked — Wall view in my window
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank acnovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

I stayed on the priority clubs' frequent guest program. The place was a-ok, really, with computers and complimentary guest washer/dryer. Breakfast was nice. Pool was about the size of a large hot tub, so it was substandard, and this building is not heated in its' courtyard area, which leads to the rooms, so it may be cold in December and January. The location is great for those who don't want to be downtown or in San Pedro and prefer to be near the central bus station. Good parking, outdoors and free.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AsherAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2006

My wife and I have never been to Monterrey. We have traveled to many different countries and cities though and stayed in many different hotels. The Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay. The rooms are nice and clean. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. We do not speak spanish and the hotel staff went out of there way to help us. We recommend this hotel to world travelers and first timers

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2005

Super hotel for a very reasonable price. Great chiliquiles and wonderful coffee for breakfast. They provided a car to take us to several locations. Very friendly folks. Now for the bad: the pool is small and the beds a bit hard. While in Monterrey we ate at Las Pampas(Argentinian steak house); El Gran Pastor for cabrito; and Anahua(Central location near the Micro Plaza - I think there are six of these in Monterrey) for fish. All were excellent. I've concluded there is no bad food in Monterrey. The city has several museums. We went to the glass museum at the glass factory, the Museo de Historia de Mexico, and the Fundidora. All worth a vist. I would love to spend at least another day at the Museum of the history of Mexico.

Helpful?
7 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2005

This is a great, clean hotel with reasonable rates. Room service was fantastic and reasonably priced. Try the Mariposa de Aguacate. I ate one per day while I was there. If you don't speak at least some Spanish, you might have some problems. The look on the staff's faces when they realized that I spoke Spanish (and they would not have to struggle with English) was one pure relief! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
1.5 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Monterrey Centro
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Monterrey
BEST WESTERN Plaza Monterrey
#69 of 96 in Monterrey
2.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Centro Monterrey
BEST WESTERN Centro Monterrey
#68 of 96 in Monterrey
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Galerias Monterrey
0.0 mi away
City Express Monterrey Norte
City Express Monterrey Norte
#60 of 96 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Courts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon
Address: Avenida Cristobal Colon 1768, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 96 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing