We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and grand!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parque la Huasteca

Parque la Huasteca
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.99*
and up
Huasteca Canyon Via Ferrata Zipline and Rapelling Adventure from Monterrey
Ranked #12 of 111 things to do in Monterrey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rugged mountain great for rock climbing.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and grand!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is definitely one of my favorite spots in the whole city, the views are just amazing, it really makes you see how small you are in comparison to nature. I went there to take some night pictures and they are just absolutely astounding.
The ONLY thing I would criticize is that there are no bathrooms, there was only one that I could see, and it was privately owned next to a store, they charged to use it, and it was pretty bad, not the worst I've seen, but still pretty bad.
I think maybe one of two port-a-pottys (at least) along the way would be good to have, especially if you're there for the whole day or night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abby_Medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    49
    8
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Anyone visiting Monterrey really must make time for a trip into La Huasteca. The views are nothing short of spectacular - pictures cannot do it justice. Since the hurricane, the road is only gravel and I would advise against going more than 4-5 km unless you have a vehicle with good clearance, but even in a small car the first 4-5 km are easily managed. If you are not a hiker or climber, this is still worth the trip - even if you don't leave the car.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_Leafs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterrey, nuevo leon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for rock climbing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If looking for a place near the city of Monterrey to practice rock climbing, "El cañón de la Huasteca" is a great place to start, has many routes with different degrees of difficulty and on the weekends you will always find a fellow climber willing to share experience and goo stories with you.
Beware of the lonely dogs that abound there, you can fall in love with one and want to take it to home with you!
(Is in the mountains.. ok? they will be no bathrooms so bring your toilet paper with you)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank aleitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Walking and Hiking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Walking and hiking in the canyon is beautiful and great fun, however, you need to go with someone who has been there before. The roads are washed out from the hurricane, but are being re-paved as I type this (which is actually a bit disappointing. I love the rough ride and rural-feel you get once you pass in to the canyon!). A lovely place to take visitors to Monterrey who want a lovely long, not too strenuous hike.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FullPassportTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacan, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sightseing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was a beautiful place, full of air and tranquility. I used to go there to have an special moment, inner space. But unfortunately due to insecurity and violence that Nuevo Leon is linving and having you cannot go there at night and on weekends is so full that sometimes people use to drink and get drunk. Very poor security. That's a big shame

Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque la Huasteca also viewed

 
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
 

Been to Parque la Huasteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing