We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Monterrey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Monterrey
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
266 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you get a room close to the dining hall it will be noisy. I was lucky and was on the 9th floor. I think the staff is great and the food is good. I will stay there again when in MTY. The gym is nice and the pool is a great addition

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cratsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier R, Manager at Crowne Plaza Monterrey, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Google Translation
Agradescemos de antemano sus apreciables comentarios. Son estos los que nos hacen " crecer" como equipo de trabajo.
Estamos a sus ordenes y lo esperamos muy pronto a este su hotel Crowne Plaza
Javier Rdz M
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    119
    58
    28
    20
See reviews for
39
30
21
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

About what you would expect. Close to airport and shuttle is efficient. Restaurant was average but there is a very good Italian restaurant nearby. The hotel bar was the way I like them, not well-lit and the beer cold.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yankeeinwilmingtonnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Monterrey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear yankeeinwilmingtonnc,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine setting of our hotel bar and the convenient location of our property from the airport. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I loved everything (staff, food, bar, rooms, service), but at night, if you need to rest after a long day working, you will not like. I spent 2 nights there: the first they were transmitting a soccer game and I listened to everything downstairs, even from the 7th floor. In the second night there was a party and listened to the music also. Terrible.

Room Tip: Rooms Higher floors to avoid the noise every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier R, Manager at Crowne Plaza Monterrey, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. At this point in particular we are refreshing our property.
We are sure that on your next visit you will find a nice surprise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The room was fine, gym ok. Location is a short walk to nice parts of the city center. Service was generally friendly. But... very loud music on both nights playing from the atrium lobby until 1am. Made it impossible to sleep even on the 12th floor before an early morning flight (sound carries straight up). Very frustrating given that people pay to sleep here. Internet generally slow and unpredictable. Toilet seats don't stay up. These pitfalls seem below Crowne Plaza standards.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fltraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Monterrey, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Fltraveler9,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret you experienced noise challenges during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterrey hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff is kind, food is excellent and rooms quite comfortable, yet everything is ruined by the never ending "party" downstairs.

Any weekday, early or late, the music and noise is too high, primarily because of the live music at the lobby's restaurant. Rooms have double doors, but not magic doors. They seem to have the effect of the staff believing they can host constant music and noise without us guests hearing it. They are so wrong.

While on the restaurant, if you are lucky enough, you will dine with a nice piano and great food. If you are not (which seems to be most of the time) you will be unable to chat or enjoy anything due to the unnecessarily loud music.

If you do like loud music and party, you will not appreciate the bands I've had heard, nor the very poor sound quality.

I'll be back to Monterrey, but not here. Can't believe it's a Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: If you must come to this hotel, ask for the highest possible floor, as far as possible from the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarbrizuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier R, Manager at Crowne Plaza Monterrey, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios ¡
De antemano le comento que estamos en una etapa de remodelacion. Para seguir brindandole un servicio de calidad y comfort.
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne for business. My first impression when seeing the building from outside was uh oh :/ But once inside, it is beautiful, but you can tell that it is an old building. It has a sophisticated feeling, except that I didn't find the staff very helpful. They would do what you ask for but you had to be after them. My biggest complaint was trouble with my room key, but after the third time it was resolved.
A downside is that breakfast was not included. Upside is the location, since it is in downtown. But if you have a choice I would most definitely recommend staying in the San Pedro area.
There's a LOT of noise in the hotel, BUT, my room had double doors, so it drowned out the noise.
Overall good hotel, if I had a choice, maybe I would choose Fiesta Americana instead.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face Ave. Constitución.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Many kings and emperors have fallen throuhg the ages, and right now it's the turn of this one. The "Crowne" has fallen from their heads, Been in a Crowne Plaza for the first time in my life, it was a visit for kind of a romantic food ocasion with my wife. Last week we visited Fiesta Americana and it was delightful, so we guess that Crown Plaza being a more acquaintanced brand will blow or minds with the food. But it was awful, no taste at all, food lacked flavor, the management and care of the food products where hideous. Flies lurking all around the place and when a man pointed out to a waiter there was a fly in a cake, the worker got angry and started to argue with the customer, doesn´t even the manager cared for the situation, even giving a discount or something to blow some steam off the client. When you reach down the food areas all the workers where backstage, instead of serving customer, we had to yell out several times to get serviced. I must say that we attended a buffet service with no more than 30 people in the restaurant. If that's the service they give for a 30 person meal i don't want to imagine how it will come for a 100 plus service. Don't go eat there. P.S. I have a Bachelor Degree in Culinary Arts and been on the Food Service Business since 1995.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaulCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Monterrey, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear SaulCampos,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are sincerely sorry for the issues and unsatisfactory you received at the restaurant. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
0.2 mi away
Krystal Monterrey
Krystal Monterrey
#3 of 96 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#13 of 96 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ambassador
Sheraton Ambassador
#34 of 96 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Tecnologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Monterrey

Property: Crowne Plaza Monterrey
Address: Avenida Constitucion Oriente 300, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Monterrey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Monterrey, located in the Monterrey Historic Area on Avenida Constitución, in the heart of Monterrey, is just a few minutes from the Mariano Escobedo International Airport and major business centers, as well as the most important museums and entertainment facilities. Our facilities include rooms for conventions with a capacity of up to 1200 people, a business center that is open 24 hours a day, high-speed Internet access in the rooms, our new Sleep Advantage concept, Club Solarium with jacuzzi, indoor heated pool, gym, massage room and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Monterrey Hotel Monterrey
Monterrey Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing