We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Sheets!!”
Review of Hotel Royalty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royalty
Ranked #76 of 96 Hotels in Monterrey
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My family & I have stayed at this hotel every time we visit Monterrey for many years now. We have noticed the quality of this hotel deterioate. When we entered our room tired after a long day. I open the sheets on the bed and found BODY HAIR on the sheets. These sheets were never changed from previous guests. GROOOOSS!! We called front desk & they sent someone up with fresh sheets but did not offer to make bed. After a long day we still had to make our own bed! And then the sink in the bath room was cloggged up. You could only hash your hands quickly before the sink would fill up. Bathroom was also pretty dirty. Whoever is in charge of housekeeping is NOT DOING THEIR JOB. We wont be visiting this place anymore. Their are plenty of over BETTER hotels to stay in Monterrey for the same $.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelPalmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2007

I selected this hotel to expend a long weekend visiting Monterrey downtown with my wife and my 19 month old daugther. I wanted a traditional hotel without paying a high price. This hotel provide a excelent value.

The best of this hotel is its location. You are only 2 blocks from the Macroplaza. We are able to go for a walk and then came back to the hotel so my little one can take her nap. It was extreamly convenient. We didn't use our car at all. A taxi to Parque Fundidora was 20 pesos. We were able to walk to Paseo Santa Lucia (the new river walk) and the come back in a taxi for only 10 pesos (1 dollar). The river walk is really nice.

The size of our room was fair (large enough to put our portable crib). There was a small table in our room with two chairs. The AC and shower worked without any problem. The hotel is in a good shape but if you want luxury you need to go somewhere else such as Ancira Hotel or Santa Rosa suites.
The service was very good but I struggled quite a bit with the manager in order to get a new room. It seems that due the low price, this hotel is very popular with college students. There was two large groups during our stays. They were extreamly noisy. Finally, we got transfer to a different floor.

We didn't try the continental breakfast because there is a VIPS in front of the hotel and a Sanborns two block away. You have to try these places, specially for breakfast. I guess some foreign people don't realize that Sanborn that looks like more than a pharmacy/magazine store has a restaurant inside. The service was awsome!

Another food recommendation was a small restaurant behind the Catedral (Casa Oaxaca). A excellent option if you want something from south Mexico.

In summary this hotel is a very nice option if you don't care for a fancy hotel.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank SergioAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
12
Reviewed July 25, 2005

I have stayed at the Hotel Royalty every time that I have been to Monterrey with my sister, we love it. The service is wonderful, I've never been treated better in a hotel. I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank joseregio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: preferentemente en habitaciones de 2 o 3 piso ya que abajo hay un bar y ruido.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamarindoerredezeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
2.3 mi away
Travohotel Monterrey Historico
2.5 mi away
Best Western Centro Monterrey
Best Western Centro Monterrey
#58 of 96 in Monterrey
42 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mision Monterrey Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
2.6 mi away
Krystal Monterrey
Krystal Monterrey
#5 of 96 in Monterrey
763 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Monterrey Valle
Hotel Ibis Monterrey Valle
#10 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royalty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royalty

Address: Hidalgo Ote 402, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 96 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range: $49 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royalty 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royalty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalty Hotel Monterrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing