We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always stay here in MTY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Ambassador
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Monterrey
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I always stay here in MTY”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This Sheraton has the feel of and older, grander hotel from the past, without seeming out of date. The restaurant is great and I recommend trying the goat if you are really hungry. The buffet at breakfast is a mix of traditional English and Mexican breakfast foods. The service is always great and everyone at the front desk is always helpful in arraying taxis for my 5am flights home. The gym leaves something to be desired and it was raining both times I tried to go to the pool so I can't comment on the pool area. There is also a small convenience store right across the street from the hotel if you want to avoid the minibar prices. The rooms are the nicer, relatively large Sheraton rooms with the alcove for the bathroom and closet. The location is a little further away from the main business area of Monterrey but taxis are cheap. The one time I booked a hotel closer to San Pedro it was awful and I checked out and called the Sheraton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraCohenEscobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    85
    46
    41
    23
See reviews for
37
27
19
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

If that is true, Monterrey has a lot of very bad hotels. The room maintenance was very dicey and asking for assistance in making things better appears to be a complete waste of time. There was a rollaway bed from a previous visit (slept in) that was in my room upon check in and the sofa had been moved up against the television credenza in order to make room for it. In 48 hours of asking, no one ever came to the room to fix it (or service the room). I was very, very happy to check out after two days. One bright spot was the exceptional associate in the restaurant who placed a to go order and was friendly and accommodating. Such a nice change from the majority of associates who were simply disinterested.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterrey hotels

Mexico City
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Ambassador is a classic Sheraton Hotel located in downtown Monterrey. Clean, corteous staff and a very good room service.

The only problem is that nowadays Monterrey has no commercial activity downtown. Tips for business travelers: check where your meetings are gonna take place and then book a hotel nearby

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEBASTIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a typical classical Sheraton Hotel in Monterrey and it was good and cosy. We get there a real friendly Service and we can recommend this Hotel to others. Good Location and the Hotel was nice and cosy outfitted. Room was in a good middle Class Standard outfitted and we found there all was clean. Good Itmes at Breakfast, wich we did liked and it was tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazurandAzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is old fashion, not to many outlets in the room and you have to turn each lamp by yourself. The room lacks natural night.

Check in was slow, food was just ok.

Compared to other options the hotel offer Little value.

Room Tip: If you have other options try them first. The hotel is too expensive compared to what it offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPM_WORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Monterey, they have a clean Airport better than average taxis, so for us Americans we can get around down there. This hotel is a nice hotel I have stayed there for 5 years it is in the central part of the city. The service is excellent the people are friendly and English speaking.
OMG the bed in room 577 is truly one of the best I have ever slept in. I have a driver that is English speaking that can take me or you around a city if you need help with that.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airmartex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location downtown. We were there for a wedding (not at the hotel) and although we arrived very late, we were greeted very warmly. Our Starwood Preferred got us an upgrade without asking for it. It was a huge corner room. There were no robes and there was a cost for the bottled water, but the valet parking was very reasonable. The breakfast buffet was amazing and the character of this older hotel was a ok with us!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveofmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
0.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
0.6 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#14 of 96 in Monterrey
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
#18 of 96 in Monterrey
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Tecnologico
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Monterrey Pabellon M
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ambassador

Property: Sheraton Ambassador
Address: Hidalgo 310 Oriente | Zona Centro, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Monterrey, the Sheraton Ambassador Hotel offers a prime location for today's business traveler. Our friendly staff will put you at ease, recommending local restaurants and activities. You can even take care of a car rental onsite. 229 oversized guest rooms and suites with comfortable beds and bathrooms have everything you need to make your stay more enjoyable. Stay active with a health club as well as tennis and racquetball courts. Relax in our beautiful outdoor pool or solarium. Gather with friends or colleagues for dinner at our restaurant or a drink at our bar. All rooms now feature wireless High Speed Internet Access at a fee, HD LED TVs, and The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Stay connected to friends and family with Link-at-Sheraton Experienced with Microsoft®, a connectivity hub in the heart of the lobby. A11 meeting rooms are available for meetings and conventions, offering a combined 10,200 square feet of space. Our Grand "Embajadores" is ready to welcome up to 750 people for whatever type of event you are planning. The Sheraton Ambassador Hotel is a great place for your next meeting or convention, offering stylish comfort and total convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ambassador Hotel Monterrey
Sheraton Hotel Monterrey
Sheraton Monterrey
Monterrey Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing