We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Ambassador
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Monterrey
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location downtown. We were there for a wedding (not at the hotel) and although we arrived very late, we were greeted very warmly. Our Starwood Preferred got us an upgrade without asking for it. It was a huge corner room. There were no robes and there was a cost for the bottled water, but the valet parking was very reasonable. The breakfast buffet was amazing and the character of this older hotel was a ok with us!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveofmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    81
    42
    36
    20
See reviews for
34
27
19
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here to attend a wedding held in the hotel.
Location is very good, and the hotel is clearly one of those great but old hotels.
Rooms are in need of renovation, in special bathrooms.
Overall, price per value is actually a good hotel to stay if you go to Monterrey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Sheridan Ambassador annually for 8+ years. It is a solid hotel and it kept clean overall. Staff does a great job accommodating and even with communication, I speak little Spanish. I've seen slight room improvements over the years such as tv upgrades however the beds, furnishings, carpet, etc have not changed. They are clean yet out of date.
The spa and gym are great and the pool area is typically peaceful to relax.
This hotel is literally steps from the macro plaza and is in a location where walking works out great to get around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been travelling to Monterrey for over twelve years and this hotel is my favorite by far. It has the feeling of the grand old hotels with beautiful leaded glass as you enter. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located downtown close to many restaurants, pubs and shopping. Great value. The only hotel I would stay in when in Monterrey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWS222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not my type of hotel. I got a suite and the furniture was very aged. The lighting was basically ornate desk lamps. I'm sure it's comforatable if you're over 65 but not for me. I didn't like the fact that there was no mini bar and i had to pay for water and internet either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterrey hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Sheraton Ambassador in Monterrey, Mexico, is great. It is an elegant hotel in a nice downtown location and the food is excellent and reasonably priced. I defenitely go back in my next business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotteto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Picked the hotel to spend a weekend in downtown Monterrey, terrible Idea. The service was terrible. where do I begin......Valet Parking took a long time to give us the card. Receptionist was a guy that never said Hi or smiled once in fact we didn't see a smile from anybody in the hotel.

The Room was only ok, Im a SPG member, never received a different treatment during our stay, in fact they even charge me 70 Pesos for Parking.

Was to trying to spend a nice weekend very bad Idea to stay here, please stay away, there are many other hotels in the area, please pick another one.

Hector N.

Room Tip: none, sixth floor was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hecto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
#20 of 97 in Monterrey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Tecnologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#14 of 97 in Monterrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Monterrey Centro
0.3 mi away
Mision Monterrey Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ambassador

Property: Sheraton Ambassador
Address: Hidalgo 310 Oriente | Zona Centro, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Monterrey, the Sheraton Ambassador Hotel offers a prime location for today's business traveler. Our friendly staff will put you at ease, recommending local restaurants and activities. You can even take care of a car rental onsite. 229 oversized guest rooms and suites with comfortable beds and bathrooms have everything you need to make your stay more enjoyable. Stay active with a health club as well as tennis and racquetball courts. Relax in our beautiful outdoor pool or solarium. Gather with friends or colleagues for dinner at our restaurant or a drink at our bar. All rooms now feature wireless High Speed Internet Access at a fee, HD LED TVs, and The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Stay connected to friends and family with Link-at-Sheraton Experienced with Microsoft®, a connectivity hub in the heart of the lobby. A11 meeting rooms are available for meetings and conventions, offering a combined 10,200 square feet of space. Our Grand "Embajadores" is ready to welcome up to 750 people for whatever type of event you are planning. The Sheraton Ambassador Hotel is a great place for your next meeting or convention, offering stylish comfort and total convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ambassador Hotel Monterrey
Sheraton Hotel Monterrey
Sheraton Monterrey
Monterrey Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing