We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Monterrey
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classic Mexico”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Good location in the center of the city, and pretty nice inside, particularly for the age- I had heard that it was old and tired, but I thought the rooms were actually nice- and a welcome change from the standard chains. The lobby is very cool with a classy, historic feel. Service was excellent all around.

I had both lunch and breakfast at the hotel, and I would rate breakfast as excellent and lunch as average, with lots of options but nothing that wowed. My company footed the bill, so I can't comment on value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    104
    71
    25
    23
See reviews for
52
76
20
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It is centrally located to the shops and museums and many restaurants. I wonder for hours all around the area and it was busy and safe. Hotel staff is absolutely great, restaurant and bar are excellent. Hotel had all the comforts in the room, high speed internet is free. You really cannot go wrong in this hotel...and on top of all that a great price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and had a great time. The renovations were done nicely and the hotel had good up-keep. The staff was very friends and the breakfast buffet was worth it! This hotel is located in a great central location in walking distance to a shopping area, a beautiful catedral and museums.

Also I know many people are worried about the security in Mexico right now. We went out even at night and had no encounters what so ever. This area felt very safe and the hotel even made sure we used secure taxis.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalvestonGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

It is a very old building, rooms are also old and carpets seem a bit suspect. Service is mediocre at least. The restaurant is the only good thing particularly on sundays when they display a big brunch. I used to love the sunday brunch until i had a kid and realize they don't have diaper changing station anywhere...they don't have ramps for handicap or for strollers by the time i sat in the table i didn't want to eat anymore...the worst thing is that i told them about this and the manager says they don't consider necessary to change...Very bad attitude.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlineD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My parents staid in the hotel while visiting me one week ago and I asked them for their opinion so I can post it. They said the service is incredible, the people really friendly but some things just don't match the "Gran" in the name. Cleanliness varied widely from perfect to average, depending on the personell that actually did the cleaning. Maybe the biggest problem was the food. My parents stayed at the Executive Floor and had a breakfast on the floor/in the room included. They traded for the buffet available on the ground floor and I joined them for one day. On this day the selection was fine. On other days the breakfast seemed to lack even the basics, cheese and cold meats just to name some. One day we ate in the alacarte restaurant and the food didn't come as advertised, some of it cold. So the hotel should really do something about their catering department. For the rest I can recommend it to you, also because of its great location next to the center. But just to give you a tipp: If you ever need a Taxi, don't take the once next to the hotel as all the drivers we had tried to rip us off. Just walk 2min to the entrance of the pedestrian and go from there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWiedemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernestoc
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My wife and I spent new years with a group touring the Monterey area and we stayed several night.
DO's
-Visit this incredible city!
-Stay at this location!
-Walk a few blocks to " El rey del Cabrito"..and order an order of cabrito over the open pit!
-A bus tour is a good way to travekl the city and practical way to enjoy the sites.
-The night life is vibrant and lots of young people in the discos and the parks.
-The breakfast bufet is very good.
- Experience the culture and history of this incredible city.

Don't
- Stray away form the downtown area..it's a big city with big city problems.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestoc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed six nights last week at this pleasant hotel in the heart of Monttery. The on-line reservation process, check-in, and any need I had during my stay was handled efficiently. The hotel has recently been renovated. My non-smoking room with a comfortable king size bed was clean and reasonably sized. Wired high speed internet in the room was easy to use. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. It's a large hotel and there were lots of groups staying there throughout my stay and although that made me feel rather anonymous at times, the staff was friendly and professional at all times. Staff was clearly well-trained: Any request for directions was reciprocated by the staff member walking with me to where I needed to go.

Tip: If you can find a rate that includes the buffet breakfast, it's well worth it. Also, when booking on-line, be sure to try rates other than "Best Available Rate" which is often not the best available rate. :).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterrey hotels
0.3 mi away
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
0.7 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#14 of 98 in Monterrey
355 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Tecnologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krystal Monterrey
Krystal Monterrey
#2 of 98 in Monterrey
643 reviews
1.8 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
#5 of 14 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
Crowne Plaza Monterrey
#21 of 98 in Monterrey
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira

Property: Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira
Address: Ocampo 443, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamma is a new hotel concept that gives you the best of both worlds – the charm of a small local hotel and the backing of the trusted Fiesta Inn national chain. Feel the warmth of our service, the uniqueness of our spaces, and enjoy the thrill of being in a destination that celebrates the best that Mexico's northern region has to offer. Cherish many unforgettable moments at Gamma by Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira. The hotel, recognized as a National Historic and Cultural Treasure, has been an icon for more than 100 years. Artists, political and intellectual figures, and other notable personalities have inhabited its rooms throughout its existence. It is located in the Historic Downtown District, near Cintermex and the city's most important tourist destinations. The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a Business Center, pool, restaurant, bar, and fully equipped meeting rooms for work groups and special events. Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira is an Eco-friendly hotel, so it is a 100% smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gamma de Fiesta Americana Monterrey Gran Hotel Ancira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing