We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT TO BE MISSED”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Granero

El Granero
Reserve with OpenTable
El Granero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 918 Restaurants in Monterrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mexico City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“NOT TO BE MISSED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

El Granero is an EXCELLENT choice when visiting Monterrey. Their main fare is steaks and "Cabrito" (roasted suckling goat), but they also have other more traditional dishes.

It is a good example of the Northern Mexican food, mostly based on meat.

I always keep it simple: start off with a huge bowl of Guacamole (delicious), maybe a melted cheese with "Chorizo", and a plate of "Atropellado" (literally meaning: "run over by a car") which is the famous northern dry meat (Machaca) in a great tasting sauce.

Main course: Steak, of course. My favorite: "Agujas Norteñas" - "Nothern Needles" (sometimes hard to get...you might want to pre-order when making the reservation). A marvelous "on the bones" Rib Eye, with the ribs cut pointy as in a "needle" (hence the name).

Some dessert (good and plentiful menu) and you're done for the day (literally) having tasted some of the best the Mexican Northeast has to offer.

The best location is the large room upstairs, with the view to one of Monterrey's nicest areas (Calzada del Valle), and YES, smoking IS allowed there...sorry... the ventilation works perfectly and you'll survive!!!!

You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    34
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Have been multiple times to the restaurant and always had excellent food, the service is superb, I think the best service I have received in any restaurant in the world, the staff is friendly and they know their business, my favorite dish is the cabrito en salsa but sometimes prefer the costillas de rib eye. The best of Monterrey

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monserrat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia, Portugal
Level Contributor
192 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I expected more!....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This restaurant is well located, the room is nice and the piano player creates a good mood at the dinner.

The starters are ok!..... But what justify my review is the main dishes!..... I was expecting something a lot better, since it was recommended to me as a very good restaurant.

The menus should be reduced!.... Literally, not the number of options but the size of the paper, it seems like you are reading a Outdoor sign!...

For the pice range I was expecting a more "refined" and detail oriented restaurant.

To repeat only if someone invites and insist to go there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fneriteixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant for a special ocation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Thin is a nice opción for aún Aniversary dinner. I love this place, the medallones a las tres pimientas, a meat plate, is the best Everest try.
Highly recomended. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsievdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Norte de Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse in Monterrey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you love meat, this is the place that you cannot miss if you are in Monterrey. The service is very good (there is valet parking service, since it is difficult to find parking in the area). All dishes are tasty, meat is fresh. I always look for a good dessert after a good meal, they have a good variety of desserts. The place is different. It looks like the typical American steakhouse from outside, but the interior decor is good. This is a common restaurant for business lunches. However, it also offers an intimate atmosphere for a romantic dinner. Best steaks in the city (and keep in mind that Monterrey is well known for steaks).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploradorMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Granero also viewed

Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
 
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
 
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
 

Been to El Granero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing