We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Mexico classic property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Luis Lindavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Luis Lindavista
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Culiacan
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
460 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Older Mexico classic property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have stayed at this property 7 or 8 times since 2005. In between I have stayed at a different more modern chain in Culiacan. My last 2 trips I elected to stay at the San Luis due to the superior services they offer. Room service, restaurant, laundry service and large, comfortable rooms. The only issue I had over a 6 day stay was 1-2 times the TV cable service went haywire. Everything else was great. Some of the property is older since the entire hotel is actually 2 linked together.Quiet rooms and food is good, average price for Room Service cost.

Room Tip: Reserve in "La Torre" which is the newer area of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
9
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

The staff, while pleasant, was poorly trained and seemed to have no sense of customer service. Also the rooms are worn out and not what American travelers would expect. Everything the other reviews list seems to be true.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — One star quality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ace78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Culiacan hotels

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in November 2007 because we were unexpectedly too tired to drive any further that day and found this hotel in the AAA book as we were driving.

It is superbly located on a hill. We had a fabulous view of Culiacan from our 3rd floor room (room 330) which is a corner room with windows on two sides. The room was comfortable, large and quite upscale in decor. WiFi was complimentary and worked well. We had a good convenient and secure parking spot. If it hadn´t been for the service issues, we would have considered this a good travel experience with a few minor issues (such as the lack of a coffee maker in the room).

But, unfortunately, service/management issues spoiled the whole experience for us. The staff, while pleasant, was poorly trained and seemed to have no sense of customer service. For $150 (1500 pesos) per night we can do a lot better than this.

Services/Management Issues:

1. The main problem we had was that they had a policy (which is now changed due to our complaint) that if you wanted to be able to charge things to your room you had to fill out a special form WHICH THEY DIDN´T TELL US when we checked in with our credit card. Since we were so exhausted we ordered room service, they brought it and accepted our signature and tip. As we were enjoying it and the view, phone calls began from the front desk in rapid Spanish, asking us to pay up or go down and sign this form. To make a long story short, it was difficult at first to find out what they wanted from us but they kept bugging us (about 5 phonecalls and 2 banging on the door). My husband finally said, in Spanish, "Leave us alone, we´ll sort it out in the morning¨ Anyway, all of this was horrible and spoiled what should have been a relaxing evening in this lovely room.

2. They didn´t give us a break on the rack rate even though we arrived at 5 pm and, supposedly, the only rooms available were suites. When we used to stay at their sister hotel, the Santa Anita in Los Mochis, they always gave us a free upgrade if one was available when we checked in. Also, they only gave us one breakfast voucher and made us pay for the other one. This was very chintzy considering that it was the most basic of continental breakfasts (not even boiled eggs or hot cereal). The feeling was that they were "nickel and diming" us every chance they got.

3. We were barely finished our dinner when the room service staff banged on the door to get the dishes. Also, when they took away our dishes they took away the only two drinking glasses in the room. Since there was no coffee maker, we had only our water bottles. (We were not going to call the front desk and risk starting another flurry of banging on the door or phonecalls. Btw, there was no "Do not Disturb" sign to be found.)

4. When my husband checked out, the front desk clerk asked if the tv remote was in the room (i.e., did we steal it). I suppose I should be grateful they didn´t search our luggage and pockets.

On the good side, we had a good chance to practice our Spanish. I don´t think anyone spoke English. There´s nothing like having to argue to sharpen your linguistic skills. And the staff all seemed very nice and kind, just poorly trained. Also, the willingness with which the Manager gave us the name of the owner of the Baldachin chain suggested that there are policies that he himself would like to see changed.

  • Liked — Spectacular View
  • Disliked — Management and service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank careyeroslib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

The Linda Vista Hotel was a pleasant suprise after a very long day of travel. I will stay there again.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — walk to restaurant
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sonomajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2003

pathetic service, constant mistakes,double charged,never again!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanluis100, Manager at Hotel San Luis Lindavista, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
We now have a better service and have solved that problem in our sistem. our hotel is now remodeled, and it will be a pleasure to recive you to attend you as you deserve, at your orders sincerely the manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Culiacan hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Culiacan
Hotel Lucerna Culiacan
#1 of 29 in Culiacan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Culiacan
Ibis Culiacan
#5 of 29 in Culiacan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fiesta Inn Culiacan
Fiesta Inn Culiacan
#2 of 29 in Culiacan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#12 of 29 in Culiacan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Executivo Culiacan
Wyndham Executivo Culiacan
#11 of 29 in Culiacan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monterreal
Hotel Monterreal
#18 of 29 in Culiacan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luis Lindavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luis Lindavista

Property: Hotel San Luis Lindavista
Address: Avenida Alvaro Obregon No. 1 | Col. Guadalupe, Culiacan 80220, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Culiacan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Culiacan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Luis Lindavista 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Luis Lindavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing