We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel caro, expensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Colonial Juarez
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Ciudad Juarez
districto federal mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hotel caro, expensive hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

we stayed here for the first 3 days of our trip. The first night they gave my husband and I double beds with a view of the street and you could hear loud music from the night club across the street. They never asked if I wanted one or two beds.The beds was hard and the room small. There were federal police all over the place. The second night they changed me to a room with a view of the garden with one bed and it was a much better room. and a much better view. The bed was better too. Still after 3 days I changed to a cheaper hotel and wish I had started there to begin with. Turned out to cost a lot more than I had planned on because unlike most Mexican hotels they didn t include taxes in their advertised price so it ended up being like 599 pesos a night. They do have a shuttle service. They charge a deposit for the channel changer and the tv in the room was old. The breakfast is horrible not what I expected from a 4 star hotel. sugar water of orange flavor, coffee, some fruit, and very poor quality bread. and dry cereal with milk.
Now quedamos ahi 3 dias. La primera noche nos pusieron en un cuarto con doble cama. Nunca nos preguntaron si queriamos doble cama. Iba con mi esposo solamente. El cuarto estaba chiquito y se escuchaba mucho ruido del disco que estaba enfrente. Habia policias federales por todos lados. Despues ya que les pedi me cambiaron a un cuarto con una sola cama que estaba mucho mejor con vista al jardin. Este cuarto estaba bien aun que la tina no sellaba, la tele estaba vieja, y cobraban un deposito para el control de la tele. El desayuno es horrible y mejor no baje despues del primer dia. naranjada, cafe,pan dulce pero no se de donde sacaron pan tan feo, fruta, y leche y cereal. Y el hotel termino costando 599 pesos con todo y impuestos mas de lo que habia pensado asi que despues de 3 dias nos cambiamos a un hotel mas barato y ojala y hubiera empezado ahi mejor.Si es un lugar seguro y hay transporte.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristi19ruano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
6
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

OK, this was a last minute reservation due to some change in plans. Still, the hotel its self is great. The staff was great, rooms where super clean, security is great, and they have taxis waiting out front. The hotel also has shuttle service to the airport (Mex not US) only available at 12 pm. The location of the hotel is a bit close to the border 9but you will still need a taxi), and far from the new US consulate. The hotel has a great pool area, quiet and most of the people staying there are doing business with the consulate. Overall, it’s a great buy but far from restaurants, malls, or any amenities, marginally close to the border, and the consulate its self is far from this hotel. If you are in town on business with the consulate I would not recommend this place due to how far it is from the consulate.

  • Liked — Clean, safe, and last minute availability
  • Disliked — No amenities around the hotel.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank worldwidetrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

This hotel has an excellent location - exceptionally close to the Bridge of the Americas and the beautiful shopping center Pueblito Mexicano. The hotel amenities included at the time, included continental breakfast which was better than many bigger hotels, good service, clean rooms, very pretty hotel in traditional Mexican hacienda style, has a nice and clean pool. The hotel has an air of happiness.

  • Liked — Location and safe parking
  • Disliked — Check in (was late at night and was not given the special posted on the board the first 2 nights)
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovesummer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

well first of all i had tried to make a reservation with a different hotel by internet & then by phone, they were not very friendly or forthcoming with all the info i wanted. so we accidentally ended up at hotel colonial, yes it is a little more costly than some of the others but you can't beat the service, atmosphere & security that this hotel offered to my family & i. not to mention the continental breakfast, we stayed for the whole week. i loved it there! Luis in reception gave outstanding service! the whole place was clean. the whole staff was friendly, not one of them was rude in anyway, even when i went down to them over & over asking for things! if you do happen to be in Juarez looking for a place to stay i highly recommend the colonial.

  • Liked — the stafff & how the received us at the lobby
  • Disliked — the vending machine only takes pesos
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank juareztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

I was in Cd. Juarez for business at the American Consulate like just about everyone who comes to this ugly city. I want to advice people who are coming here for the first time about what happens and a little about my experience. I decided for this hotel for safety issues: 1. They had a shuttle at 6am and another at 7am to the Consulate. 2. They have security at the main entrance and it is a gated hotel. (about 6 feet high brick wall) your car is safe in the parking lot. The hotel puts out breakfast in the lobby every morning. Coffee, orange juice, milk, cereal, fruits and pan dulce. Enough to get you through the morning. There is one computer with internet access for your use. Very nice hotel. The pictures don't do it justice. It is better and cheaper than the Holiday Inn down the street. There's an ATM outside by the security gate. I had to stay for 4 nights, was planning on two but had issues at the Consulate. They don't accept passport fotos from Walgreens. You have to take them here across the street from the consulate ($15). DON'T DO your medical exams in the US. They won't except them. You have to do them at their two medical facilities across the street and next to the consulate.($200) That was my bad and I had to stay extra and they rescheduled me for two more weeks so I have to go back and I will be staying at this hotel again. PLEASE have the beneficiary have his/her Mexican passport because you can't get the medical exams without it. ($80) copies across the street ($20). You have to go with $$ or you are not getting anywhere. Only $5 for a taxi from the Consulate to the hotel. DON'T PAY ANYMORE!! There is a little market place across the street that you could go and stack up with snacks. A taco place next to it and ladies, a little boutique with nice clothes next door too. There's a seafood Restaurant across the way too. Please have your documents ready. I hate for someone to go through the same hell that I did and I have to go back. FYI..husband/wife, only beneficiary is allowed in the interview. The other has to wait outside across the street. Sometimes for 4-6 hours. Make a meeting point. Hope this helps alot of people.

  • Liked — It had shuttle service to the
  • Disliked — You could hear the club music across the street if you get a room facing the front
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank yah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2007

I have been going to Mexico for the last 18 years and have stayed at the Hotel Colonial all but one time. The rooms are always clean, employees friendly, grounds and pools(2 standard and one wading) are kept very clean and the whole compound is very secure. The rooms were remodeled about 5 years ago, with new bathrooms and furniture. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Juarez and not sure of where to stay.

  • Liked — felt safe while staying at this hotel
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_from_nm1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Not such a spectacular place. It was clean, modern, secure. The pool was nice, clean, kid friendly. Breakfast bar was standard.
Why put up with a snooty desk clerk? They never did explain where the door bell was to the front security gate to the street. I had to learn about it through observation while waiting for taxi.
Upon arrival I notice no iron in the room ( common). What is not common, no offer of assistance, nor did I get use of one until third night into my four day trip, ( with an insistence that i use and return it quickly).
No restaurant or bar on the premises. Sometimes after a long day at work a sandwich and a beer is just fine.
There are other hotels in the area just as nice, with a few more amenities. I doubt if i will return, or recommend Hotel Colonial for business travel.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — no eating facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ciudad Juarez hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Del Sol
Villa Del Sol
#17 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
13 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#16 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regis
Hotel Regis
#14 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Flamingo
#19 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
14 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Suites El Paseo
Hotel Suites El Paseo
#22 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
iStay Hotel Ciudad Juarez
iStay Hotel Ciudad Juarez
#1 of 34 in Ciudad Juarez
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial Juarez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial Juarez

Property: Hotel Colonial Juarez
Address: Avenida Abraham Lincoln 1355, Ciudad Juarez 32510, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Ciudad Juarez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Ciudad Juarez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Colonial Juarez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colonial Juarez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Juarez Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing