We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid if you are driving and are unfamiliar with the territory” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacio Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palacio Del Sol
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Chihuahua
Chihuahua, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Avoid if you are driving and are unfamiliar with the territory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel for a couple of time over the years, being from the state of Chihuahua and having lots of family that live nearby. I recommend this place to locals or people that know their way around downtown. However, I only recommend this to tourists that have someone pick them up and transport them around town. This hotel sits at a one way street leading AWAY from downtown and into a freeway of sorts that runs along the canal. Make sure to only drive if you know your way around because the downtown area is a maze of one way streets that make it easy to miss turns and find yourself driving away from the places of interest and towards the city's northern exit.
Having said that, the hotel itself provides a slightly above average experience, small rooms that are clean and comfortable will fulfill their purpose, don't expect anything fancy. Also, Beware the elevator!, I have had the luck to find myself stuck in it twice on different ocassions, once on my own, second time with a group of people that started yelling right away, NOT a fun experience, both times it took them around 40 minutes to get it back to move. So, I do recommend this hotel to locals or people who know their way around downtown but NOT to tourists, there are other hotels in the area in not so complicated streets.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex_de_large734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
15
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chihuahua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Not 3 stars at all! Very old hotel, Light at the bathroom did not work, heat did not work properly and made a lot of noise, breakfast was included in the expedia rate and they did not made it valid.. plus you can hear everything your neighbor speaks..

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank feb2011chih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chihuahua hotels

mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

The rooms smell bad, they are very old, the carpets are dirty and everything looks old. The place is very expensive for what they charge and the service is really bad. There are lots of good hotels around and would recommend any of them, but not Palacio del Sol. We stayed there just for one night horrible place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
261 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed in Palacio Del Sol for one night on a bed and breakfast basis.

Check in and check out were done quickly and efficiently

The room was spacious and comfortable and we had good views over the city. The bathroom was also of a good standard

The breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of freshly cooked food

All staff with whom we came into contact were pleasant and helpful

Of the six hotels we stayed in in Mexico this was the only one who gave free internet access

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Level Contributor
365 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed here as part of a tour package. I noticed that previous reviews were mixed. Our experience was as well. The hotel, while renovated a couple years ago, is showing its age. The room was sizable and on the 15th floor with a lovely view of the city. It was decorated with ornate draperies and furnishing. Good internet connection and cable tv. However, we encountered a few problems. One of the beds had a mattress pad which was beady and uncomfortable; they were using double sheets on queen beds; the iron had a sticky substance on it which made ironing difficult; and the toilet flushed poorly. The public restrooms on the main floor were filthy!

We ate two breakfasts and one dinner in the hotel. The first day I asked for milk and received what I think was a glass of condensed milk. It was not drinkable. The second morning they had no packaged yogurt only a bowl of plain yogurt. Steer clear of the cactus juice. The dinner was rib eye steak. The steaks at our table were stringy and poor quality for cattle country. Further, while the servers asked how we wished the meat prepared, they seemed to have no way of knowing when the steaks were delivered to the table which were rare, medium, etc.

The hotel is an easy walk to downtown attractions and seemed safe. The is a large grocery across the street and an artisan's market 5 blocks away.

  • Liked — The downtown location
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Godguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

huge old fashioned luxury style rooms - good location and great views of chihuahua town if on a higher floor. room service limited. staff appalling when we stayed there - very un-professional and unhelpful following a late arrival and no help with transfers - after a formal complaint was made to the manager an apology was received however it was rather too late for us as our time here was tainted by poor service. if you are going to stay in chihuahua i recommend one of the balderamas hotels as the other two we stayed at on our copper canyon trip were great.

  • Liked — huge comfy bed!
  • Disliked — apathetic staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

This hotel was included as part of a 8-day package from El Paso, Texas through Mexico's Copper Canyon and back. The property wasn’t too bad, just a few details that spoiled it. One being the dirtiest windows we’ve ever seen in our travels. But, it served the purpose. Our stay was for two nights, breakfasts were buffet with ample hot and cold dishes. Big queue for the egg man!

The hotel staff were courteous but not over-friendly.

The guest room was a nice size and comfortable. The location was pretty good within walking distance of shopping and museums.

M loved the shopping street FULL of zapatos! (shoes - cheap & what a choice!)

  • Liked — Location, convenience, comfort.
  • Disliked — A little bit extra housekeeping needed
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chihuahua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Chihuahua
Quality Inn Chihuahua
#12 of 26 in Chihuahua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Chihuahua
Ibis Chihuahua
#7 of 26 in Chihuahua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Tierra Blanca
Posada Tierra Blanca
#85 of 109 in Chihuahua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chihuahua
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cumbres Inn Juventud
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chihuahua
Fiesta Inn Chihuahua
#16 of 26 in Chihuahua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Del Sol

Property: Palacio Del Sol
Address: Av. Independencia No 116, 31000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Chihuahua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio Del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Palacio Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Del Sol Hotel Chihuahua
Palacio Del Sol Chihuahua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing