We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, old hotel”
Review of Palacio Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palacio Del Sol
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Chihuahua
mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible, old hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The rooms smell bad, they are very old, the carpets are dirty and everything looks old. The place is very expensive for what they charge and the service is really bad. There are lots of good hotels around and would recommend any of them, but not Palacio del Sol. We stayed there just for one night horrible place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
11
16
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
287 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed in Palacio Del Sol for one night on a bed and breakfast basis.

Check in and check out were done quickly and efficiently

The room was spacious and comfortable and we had good views over the city. The bathroom was also of a good standard

The breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of freshly cooked food

All staff with whom we came into contact were pleasant and helpful

Of the six hotels we stayed in in Mexico this was the only one who gave free internet access

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Level Contributor
366 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed here as part of a tour package. I noticed that previous reviews were mixed. Our experience was as well. The hotel, while renovated a couple years ago, is showing its age. The room was sizable and on the 15th floor with a lovely view of the city. It was decorated with ornate draperies and furnishing. Good internet connection and cable tv. However, we encountered a few problems. One of the beds had a mattress pad which was beady and uncomfortable; they were using double sheets on queen beds; the iron had a sticky substance on it which made ironing difficult; and the toilet flushed poorly. The public restrooms on the main floor were filthy!

We ate two breakfasts and one dinner in the hotel. The first day I asked for milk and received what I think was a glass of condensed milk. It was not drinkable. The second morning they had no packaged yogurt only a bowl of plain yogurt. Steer clear of the cactus juice. The dinner was rib eye steak. The steaks at our table were stringy and poor quality for cattle country. Further, while the servers asked how we wished the meat prepared, they seemed to have no way of knowing when the steaks were delivered to the table which were rare, medium, etc.

The hotel is an easy walk to downtown attractions and seemed safe. The is a large grocery across the street and an artisan's market 5 blocks away.

  • Liked — The downtown location
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Godguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

huge old fashioned luxury style rooms - good location and great views of chihuahua town if on a higher floor. room service limited. staff appalling when we stayed there - very un-professional and unhelpful following a late arrival and no help with transfers - after a formal complaint was made to the manager an apology was received however it was rather too late for us as our time here was tainted by poor service. if you are going to stay in chihuahua i recommend one of the balderamas hotels as the other two we stayed at on our copper canyon trip were great.

  • Liked — huge comfy bed!
  • Disliked — apathetic staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chihuahua hotels

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

This hotel was included as part of a 8-day package from El Paso, Texas through Mexico's Copper Canyon and back. The property wasn’t too bad, just a few details that spoiled it. One being the dirtiest windows we’ve ever seen in our travels. But, it served the purpose. Our stay was for two nights, breakfasts were buffet with ample hot and cold dishes. Big queue for the egg man!

The hotel staff were courteous but not over-friendly.

The guest room was a nice size and comfortable. The location was pretty good within walking distance of shopping and museums.

M loved the shopping street FULL of zapatos! (shoes - cheap & what a choice!)

  • Liked — Location, convenience, comfort.
  • Disliked — A little bit extra housekeeping needed
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We checked into this hotel at midnight after getting off the Chihuahua Pacifico train. I was so tired that it was going to have to be bad to make me complain!

The room was very big, two queen sized beds, and the bathroom was large and clean. It was really quiet too which was a huge bonus.

On pulling down the bed sheets on one of the beds, I would question when the last time the sheets on this bed were changed - there was hair, bits of cotton and the sheets had that worn in look about them. Luckily the other bed was spotless and the sheets were crisp, so we slept in that one. Had we been there for more than one night I might have said something, but I let it slide.

Reception were friendly enough, holding our bags while we walked around the town. The location is great, near major supermarkets and local markets for shopping, and also walking distance to the major tourist sites.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antsuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2008

Central location and clean. Undergoing renovation and will be a great place to stay when completed. Right now its ok

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chihuahua hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Tierra Blanca
Posada Tierra Blanca
#76 of 111 in Chihuahua
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Chihuahua
Quality Inn Chihuahua
#10 of 26 in Chihuahua
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Chihuahua
Ibis Chihuahua
#6 of 26 in Chihuahua
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chihuahua
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chihuahua
Fiesta Inn Chihuahua
#15 of 26 in Chihuahua
320 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chihuahua Juventud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Del Sol

Property: Palacio Del Sol
Address: Av. Independencia No 116, 31000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Chihuahua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio Del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palacio Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Del Sol Hotel Chihuahua
Palacio Del Sol Chihuahua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing