We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Todos Santos
Post
Inbox
Search

“OH THE DUCK”
Review of chez Laura

chez Laura
Ranked #8 of 121 Restaurants in Todos Santos
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: French
Description: Located in the heart of Todos Santos, in a lush garden, Chez Laura offers you a local French Cuisine by chef Aurelien Legeay, whom highlights the fish and organic vegetables from Baja California.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the heart of Todos Santos, in a lush garden, Chez Laura offers you a local French Cuisine by chef Aurelien Legeay, whom highlights the fish and organic vegetables from Baja California.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i do like duck, but the number of times I have had it and been disappointed are many.
The duck at Chez Laura is memorably delicious. They told me they marinated it overnight, amongst other things, and it is tender and absolutely delicious Just the way I had creamed of!.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cindersLarkspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 106 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2019

We had a superb meal at Chez Laura. The setting is beautiful and the food would not be out of place anywhere in the world. Paulina and her husband, the new owners, were lovely. Can’t recommend enough.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank SuzieR732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

This is our fifth dinner in Mexico and it was the best dinner to date. We had a chance to meet one of the Owners and she made us feel like we were at home. Every thing we ate was the highest quality and fresh!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank PeterScottF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2019

I understand the restaurant has relatively new management. The site is very pretty in the middle of a garden. Staff tries very hard and has a good attitude. On the Saturday night we were there there was only on person with fluent English, but that may be half the fun. The food was very good. Local ingredients and French preparation but not trying to be classic French. We had a beet based salad with goat cheese, an onion and bacon "tart" and each had an entree (one snapper special and one shrimp). The salad was great and enough for two. The "tart" is more of a pizza presentation with very thin crust that seems more like pastry dough (but not sweet). It was terrific and huge. We were sharing and did not finish. Both entrees were very good, if maybe a tiny bit salty. We had a bottle of red wine from Mexico that was nice with the food and a bottle of sparkling water, which all told came to $85. A great deal and a very pleasant evening. Nice jazz music in the background rather than Mexican music. Everything in its place.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 11douglast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2019

First of all you have to know that Aurelien the new owner and cook, is member of "Maitres cuisiniers de France" (Master Cook of France).

After that let's talk about food...French fine cuisine for gourmet only... lol

at "Chez Laura", you will taste REAL fine cuisine from France, made from local produtcs and you will be not be disappointed.

Numerous restaurants in Los Cabos pretend to cook "French Cuisine" and.... fail !

For your information, i'm not a culinary critic, just a satisfied French customer.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loïc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed chez Laura also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to chez Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing