We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Hotelito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotelito
Ranked #2 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton on Tees
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

The Hotelito is a beautifully presented, perfectly situated hotel in the gorgeous Todos Santos. Our room was spacious, well designed and very comfortable. During our stay it was just as easy to chat with the friendly staff and socialize with other guests within the courtyard as it was to have your own privacy within the 'mini garden' area adjacent to the room.
I would thoroughly recommend The Hotelito for it's ability to make you feel throughly at home yet definitely on holiday and I look forward to the next time I stay there.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tioep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
162
34
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pescara, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Stay at the Hotelito for one-day stay in August during our trip in Baja California. Refined but not formal, excellent breakfast, room clean and with many amenities. I suggest to stay to the Hotelito for a few more days!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thelittlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chpvoyage
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2008

A great hotel, actually better than an hotel because it's a different experience, like being at "home" (much better than my home anyway), staying at friends or in a guest house. The owner is an interior designer and everything is just beautiful, carefully chosen and designed (contemporary with touches of local and traditional artwork) and very comfortable. I never had such comfortable beds in any of the hotels I stayed at, in the US or in Europe.
4 rooms only that aren't rooms but little houses, each with their own color scheme and private patios, large windows and screens opening on the garden, hammocks, etc. And it feels very good to be there.

Very quiet, private, close to Todos Santos' center but remote from the touristic activity, perfect to relax, disconnect from the world and forget about your stress. But if you want or have to stay connected, they have WiFi, etc.

We could only stay one night but we regretted it.

  • Liked — comfortable, beautiful, quiet and realxing place
  • Disliked — The beds are high (which is good) but if you have small kids this can maybe be a problem ...You may want to ask for a smalller bed.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chpvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

The Hotelito: What a lovely, little gem. We spent 6 days here in April, welcomed by Jenny, her staff and her fabulous trio of canine concierges. Jenny has managed to create an intimate place that puts you at ease immediately, with just the right balance of privacy, hospitality, comfort and class.

The rooms and patios are appointed with everything you need to camp out and relax: good books, fresh water, comfortable beds and scrumptious linens, large and light-filled shower, hammocks, etc. Breakfast is served on the common patio, and it's delicious. We looked forward to it every morning: fresh fruit, excellent coffee, freshly baked pastries and home-made marmalade.

The inn itself has been designed to maximize the striking surroundings and provide guests with privacy, but also a sense of community if they so desire. We loved watching how the light and shadows bounced off the colorful angles everywhere. We also liked that the Hotelito is a bit off the beaten path, a 15-minute walk from the hustle and bustle that is becoming TS. We also liked the fact that it's just a 15-minute walk to a tranquil, mostly deserted beach. The best part was being led there daily by Jenny's adorable dogs.

The Hotelito is a special place, created by a woman with a special vision and a special talent. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  • Liked — Privacy, hospitality, comfort, design sensibility, definitely the Dogs (and of course, Jenny too!)
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing, other than the fact that the secret is out!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecodazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We came across this little inn by accident and ended up having the nicest stay in our whole Mexican trip.
Very stylish finishes and lovely courtyard for breakfast (a nice simple one is included in the room price).
Jenny the hostess/owner is absolutely lovely and very helpful.
A very tranquil spot.
Best to have a car to avoid the 15 min walk back from town at night.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hatstand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, b.c.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Just back from a week at El Hotelito in Todos Santos. And I can safely say that this was one of the best weeks in recent memory. A week of mouth-watering breakfasts (ask for the yogurt and honey), lazy afternoons in a hammock with a book that actually holds your attention -- just look at the selection in your room -- and night skies blazing with stars. Hostess Jenny Armint and daughter Tallulah welcome their guests with open arms, much-needed advice on where to eat and what to do and then step back and let you enjoy the best boutique hotel I've experienced on three continents. Just four casitas offer privacy, extraordinary beds and linens and those special touches that elevate the experience: excellent coffee, abundant fresh filtered water, the books, the flowers, the style and the ambiance. This is the creation of someone who understands that style is found in the small touches. Thank you Jenny.

  • Liked — the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoaster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

When looking for a refuge from the familiar and the commercial, think about Hotelito and its extraordinary innkeeper, Jenny Armit.

She welcomes guests to her new 4-room hotel as if you were long-lost relatives, or friends of relatives. With her great taste as a decorator, the rooms are cool, chic, and comfortable (beds by Ortho, so plush!). She greets you informally, sometimes with a cold beer, a glass of Tequila, or just a warm hug. (We had just decamped from Posada La Poza because of very loud jackhammer construction work adjacent to our room which showed no signs of abating and about which our host thought we were overreacting.)

Spending a holiday in Todos Santos, Hotelito style is to go native. After a satisfying breakfast of good coffee, freshly-squeezed orange juice, pastries and yogurt, you can borrow from Hotelito's supply of beach towels, chairs, coolers, and umbrellas, and head for one of the beautiful beaches, a short drive away. Follow Jenny's suggestions about food -- she's knowing and smart -- and that little fish taco stand she raves about is absolutely incredible! A huge lunch for two cost less than $9.00.

Her staff is friendly and discreet, the books in the room are books you actually would like to read, and the entire experience is delightful. At $145 per night, it is eons more comfortable than, say, Posada La Poza at twice the price. It's the little things that count, and the fresh flowers, the pitcher of milk and organic coffee in each room, and the hammocks and private patios for each room make you feel you are home. We were sorry to leave.

  • Liked — room itself
  • Disliked — wish there were a pool there.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobbytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.7 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
70 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Santa Cruz
Villa Santa Cruz
#1 of 16 in Todos Santos
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotelito

Property: The Hotelito
Address: Rancho del la Cachora | Looks across the palm grove to the plaza and church., Todos Santos 23001, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotelito 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotelito is a bright jewel of contemporary Mexican design. Hip, stylish and incredibly comfortable. Within walking distance to both the town of Todos Santos and the beach and lagoon of La Cachora, this is the perfect location. Each casita is individually designed and all are spacious, with the highest quality beds and English bed linens. Jasmine, shade and hammocks on every terrace.We added a small guest kitchen with microwave and BBQ. Recently featured in Architectural Digest, Italy,Hola Decoracion, Mexico.And Architectural Digest, Russia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotelito Hotel Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing