We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tucked Away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotelito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotelito
Ranked #2 of 17 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Cabos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tucked Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I go to Todos Santos twice a year and I tend to try different places to stay each time I go. I'll continue this habit but I will always circle back to Hotelito more than any of the others. The rooms are modest, rustic, classy and clean. Air conditioning (mini-splits) work well which you will need in the summer in TS. The little restaurant/bar is not an excuse to stay put at Hotelito but rather a nice convenience. The rooms are priced just about right for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
150
32
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Great location, great small B&B feel. Close enough to town, but far enough away to avoid the busy traffic.
Beach is a bit of a hike, road is a "at your own risk" as far as walking and driving goes. It is 1 lane wide in spots, so have to be aware. Beach is incredible though and worth the hike. Whales close to the beach and crashing surf.

Breakfast is perfect with fruit plate, toast and muffins. Optional full breakfast available.
Love the Happy Hour Margarita's delivered to your room if need be.

All in all, was great and would return

Room Tip: We would choose the same room again for its lovely view of the palm grove and the farm below. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I've just returned to a freezing UK from 6 weeks staying at the Hotelito, the closest thing to paradise. I am a painter, so the first thing that struck me was the incredible light and the stunning landscape. I was spoiled for subjects to paint and Hotelito provided the perfect combination of privacy and company to explore my interests. 5 mins from the most stunning, deserted beaches, my first sighting of a whale spouting no more than 50' from the shore will stay with me forever.
My room was exquisite, modern and with the beautiful colors and furniture one associates with Mexico. Set up each morning with a delicious breakfast, I then had the tough task of deciding whether to swim in the saltwater pool, go riding or just quietly get on with my painting or reading a book undisturbed. Jenny Armit owns the hotel and without ever being intrusive is always there to provide the kind of insider knowledge that's invaluable. It was she that got me into the Music Festival which featured Peter Buck and Michael Stipes of REM. A margherita under a full moon may sound like a cliche, but I can live with that.
I can't wait to go back and everything was so reasonable I may not have to wait a year to rediscover this dream. Thank you Hotelito

Room Tip: all the rooms are fabulous, enormous en suite bathrooms and perfectly discreet from each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

My partner and I visited Todos Santos and stayed at the Hotelito for a week in January 2012. This time we stayed in Azul, and ended up staying in Verde one night because we decided to extend my visit one day and Azul was booked. Both rooms were lovely and everything was clean, as usual. The breakfast provided at The Hotelito is delicious and is a very good value. When I visited 3.5 years ago, I said I'd be back, and I feel the same way after this visit.

Room Tip: The Verde room has a twin size bed in addition to the queen size but has a smaller bathroom. The Azu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Just come back from staying at the Hotelito, and had the most incredible time. It is such a beautiful place and I think the perfect place to stay in this area. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the town so you are very near but also set away in a beautiful little spot, surrounded by sea on one side and mountains on the other. There is an array of things to do, all nearby like horse riding on the stunning beach, launching baby turtles into the sea and boogie boarding as well as eating delicious food in the town. There are also yoga classes twice a week right next to the gorgeous swimming pool which is surrounded by beds and hammocks where you can relax. The rooms are fantastic, so stylish and very comfortable, and you are so well looked after by Fanny and the rest of the staff. Jenny, the owner is incredibly welcoming and can tell you anything you need to know. I really cannot recommend this lovely hotelito enough!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Our family stayed in two of the little buildings in Hotelito in December 2011. Our stay was great. Todos Santos is a lovely little community with just enough tourist traffic to have good restaurants. Most of the beaches along this coast are dangerous for swimming because of the strong currents, but we spent most of every day on the wonderful beach just a few minutes south (Playa Cerritos). This beach was the best beginner surfing and boogie boarding beach we've ever seen, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The staff at Hotelito were lovely: very friendly, always cheerful, and willing to help. The owner speaks perfect english, but none of the rest of the staff speak any english, so we used our pidgin spanish, lots of hand gestures, and lots of smiles, which worked fine for us. The room came with complimentary use of a beach umbrella and lots of boogie boards (we had to replace one that we broke, which seemed fair).

The rooms were a good size, very basic in design. The bedding was comfortable and attractive. There wasn't much furniture in the rooms, but there were nice patio sets and hammocks just outside of the door.

Perhaps the most memorable part of our trip was a drive up north to help "launch" some newly hatched turtles. These turtles have been nesting on these beaches for millions of years, but the crowds and perhaps especially the ATVs have been lowering the survival rate below replacement. Some passionate volunteers collect the nests, re-bury them inside fences, help hatch the eggs, and then "launch" the turtles into the sea. An incredible experience. I believe the dates are generally in the October -> early January time-frame, though I'm no expert.

Room Tip: We stayed in the little houses on the property, which were lovely, and offered a little more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsurferJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have been travelling to Todos Santos for 20 years. Since The Hotelito opened it's doors, my family and friends stay no where else. We have rented the house and stayed in the four room/casita hotel. Truly, nothing beats this place. Like Jenny, the proprietor, the hotel and rental home are simple elegance. Jenny's staff go above and beyond to get whatever is needed and the recent addition of complimentary margaritas in the evening is superb. I prefer to stay on the otro lado (other side) because the hotel is set away from the sound of traffic in the center of town. It's an idyllic and magical place.

Highlights:

The staff Fanny, Rosa and Vicki
the breakfasts
the hammocks
the pool
and the beds are heaven

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmclcsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.7 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.5 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#2 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#3 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Santa Cruz
Villa Santa Cruz
#1 of 17 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotelito

Property: The Hotelito
Address: Rancho del la Cachora, Todos Santos 23005, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotelito 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotelito is a bright jewel of contemporary Mexican design. Hip, stylish and incredibly comfortable. Within walking distance to both the town of Todos Santos and the beach and lagoon of La Cachora, this is the perfect location. Each casita is individually designed and all are spacious, with the highest quality beds and English bed linens. Jasmine, shade and hammocks on every terrace. Recently featured in Architectural Digest, Italy,Hola Decoracion, Mexico.And Architectural Digest, Russia.Whilst Todos Santos undergoes it's face list to bring it up to the standard of other Pueblo Magicos, we are thrilled that we are just that little bit out of the center of town... And dust free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotelito Hotel Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing