We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our next visit at Serendipity!”
Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serendipity
Ranked #6 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our next visit at Serendipity!”
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Wow!

Our original plan was to stay just two nights. But we found such solitude and happiness here at Serendipity - that we chose to stay one additional night.

My wife and I stayed in the "Ocean View" casita - which was perfect! During the day - fresh summer ocean breezes wafted through the windows (though given the September heat - the AC was welcome for sleeping at night).

On the first morning - we enjoyed a simply yummy 'desayuno' of fresh fruit - with mangoes and bananas right off Serendipity's trees - plus superb 'juevos rancheros' - done in Sharon's New Mexico style. Passion-fruit juice was a treat!

We spent the day by the pool and at the nearby Pacific Ocean - as well some time bird-watching in the beautifully flowering "desert nature preserve" between the pool and ocean. Wood creepers, wood peckers, many hummingbirds, Kestrels, Quail, Roadrunners, Pelicans, Frigate birds, and many other shorebirds can be observed - and well as desert hares and geckos. Sunset from the "tower" was spectacular! At night - we sat outside and gazed at the Milky Way.

On the second morning - we awoke to find the host's dogs (Concha and Raya) waiting outside our room! They encouraged us to accompany them on the five minute walk down to the Pacific ocean beach - which we did. These are two sweet, well-mannered dogs - and they let you know how appreciative they are for your company. This morning walk quickly became a ritual for our stay.

The grounds are meticulously maintained - and with all the rain from TS Julio weeks earlier - most of the desert plants were in full bloom.

We also loved the pueblo of Todos Santos. Though it was the first week of September - and a few shops/restaurants were closed for holiday - we enjoyed delicious meals at "Mi Costa" (e.g. shrimp ceviche and hot steamed shrimp), "Miguel's" (e.g. chille rellenos) and the restaurant in the Hotel California (e.g. Puerco Asado en Mole and grilled Dorado or Mahi-Mahi).

We are looking forward to returning to Todos Santos - but especially - returning to Serendipity!

Sharon and Harry have really created an beautiful oasis in the Baja desert.

  • Liked — We were treated like family!
  • Disliked — Having to depart!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Cabos/Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We're part-time Los Cabos locals who live in Cabo (my husband is Mexican, I'm Canadian), and we can't believe what a jewel we found at Serendipity. We're familiar with all the Cabo hotels, some of those in Todos Santos, and many in La Paz, and we have never, ever, experienced a place like this. We live in Cabo, on the beach, and still didn't want to go home! We planned to stay for two nights and ended up staying six - and the only reason we left was because we had business commitments we couldn't cancel! The breakfasts were big and wonderful (lots of fresh fruit, mangos right off the tree, and made-to-order eggs or anything else that you feel like in the moment), and Sharon and Harry are wonderful hosts. The place is spotless, and so charming - it's clear that it was created with much love and care - they really wanted to create a tranquil oasis where people can come to rejuvenate and truly relax. Be sure to ask Sharon to tell you the story of how they came to create this wonderful B & B. You feel like you're in the countryside, but right on the beach (which is endless and isolated), and the quaint restaurants and "town life" of Todos Santos are just a few minutes away by car. You will love it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I had to go home
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank solmexicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Words can't truly descripe Serendipity. It's similar to a B&Bl but MUCH better! There are 2 tower rooms & 2 casitas for rent all seperate from the main house. There is a pavilion style room where the main kitchen & living room are located. We stayed in the lower tower room next to the pool/hot tub. From the top stroy of the tower there are beautiful views of the ocean & sunsets.. The breakfasts are supreb cooked to order with fresh furit & juice served on the back or front patio. These breakfasts are huge & can easily hold you until wandeing into town for dinner. This place is beautiful with every attention to detail taken it is a rare find. The hosts, Sharon & Harry, (along with mascots Raya & Concha who love to walk guests down to the beach) are great, it's apparent they love to share their home, they go out of thier way to make you feel comfortable & welcome. We can't thank them enough for sharing their "little piece of heaven". Serendipity is highly recommended for everyone, it's quiet with every amenity. We plan to come back next year to rent a casita!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank idnatve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

My wife and I had the pleasure of stumbling upon Serendipity online, after learning that our previously favorite place in Todos was no longer in operation. Well, serendipity indeed! Harry and Sharon, the lovely couple that run Serendipity, have made an incredible space available at ridiculously reasonable rates, with a panorama view of the Pacific. Besides being terrific people, they also prepare incredible made-to-order breakfasts (don't eat all of Harry's bacon), and just generally make you feel at home. The pool area is stunning, complete with large hot tub, and gorgeous garden. Whether or not we will return is a no-brainer - We'll be there as soon as we can book more time off of work!

  • Liked — Relaxed attitude of the owners, coupled with the amazing quality of accomodation.
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jdyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2008

This was my third stay with Sharon & Harry, as usual it was perfect for the mind and soul.

We are building a small house nearby and it's always a real treat to know that I'm staying there. It's totally relaxing surroundings.

Breakfast is such a pleasure to start your day off, fantastic local fruits and produce, sitting out by the pool watching the whales swim by.
Don't be fooled into staying in town, it's noisy and not relaxing at all compared to Serendipity tropical surroundings.
You won't be disappointed staying here.

  • Liked — the tranquil feel of slapping ocean waves
  • Disliked — nothing, it was gtreat
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2lucky4larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

A magic place in a magic "pueblo". Everything is meant to make you feel like being in paradise. Serendipity truly happens here! After cancelling our whale watching trip our last day, several whales just showed up while we were having breakfast in the patio and played around for about 15 minutes in front of us. Maybe is due to the atmosphere that Sharon and Harry are able to create every day.
Great place to stay to feel the real Mexico...don't miss it!

Marco & Marianella

  • Liked — The location atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth, sol
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

We were there in the off season but just had a wonderful stay. Probably, the best vacation we have had. The Inn was confortable, close to the beach for walking, quiet, and adorned with beautiful plants. Harry and Sharon epitomize the old saying, "mi casa es su casa." Truly a gem.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Capo_in_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
2.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
357 reviews
2.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
2.0 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
624 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#1 of 13 in Todos Santos
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Property: Serendipity
Address: Las Tunas, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Serendipity 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity is located in Todos Santos Mexico, an oasis on the Pacific Ocean and a favorite spot for tourists visiting Mexico's Southern Baja area. Serendipity provides a beautiful ocean setting for your next vacation, wedding, family reunion, retreat and/or conference experience. Add the personal touches of a bed and breakfast and you will agree that this is the perfect get-away experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing