We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Best Day

One of the best days of my life. First of all, Javier and Marielle were incredible as a team... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Becca J
Swimming with whale sharks 🦈

If you travel to Baja - you must swim with the whale sharks, what magnificent creatures! The staff... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
monar935
via mobile
Read all 162 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Todos Santos
from $70.00
More Info
from $118.75
More Info
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
160
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
160
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf shop ceviche whale sharks burrito delicious lunch la paz day trip coral reef boat captain marine biology sea lion colony life experience balandra beach once in a lifetime snorkeling experience tour companies recommend this trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 162 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

We wanted to do a hike while being in the beautiful landscape of Todos Santos, so we got in contact with the Surf Shop, and we definitely got what we were looking for!
Carlos arranged it all, with transportation early in the morning and lunch a couple of hours later. The Hike was guided by the very friendly Roberto, who showed us all the best spots and views at Punta Lobos, and we also had a great time with him during the hike! :-)

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank F7241MJmarcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 20, 2017

When we had planned a trip to Todos Santos, my wife looked up whale shark swimming excursions on a whim. We found this outfit run out of the Todos Santos Surf Shop. Carlos was awesome to deal with over email and he got back to us quickly to confirm availability
for the trip. We booked the trip for the two of us and our 4 yr old daughter.
Bobby, our guide, was absolutely INCREDIBLE! When he picked us up for the hour ride to La Paz where the boat was leaving from, we knew we would be in good hands. He was friendly, knowledgeable and put safety first, both while driving and while on the boat. Once we got on the boat, it took us a long time to find a whale shark since it is towards the end of the season and when we did, there were other boats in the area. Despite the delay, Bobby was adamant about waiting to enter the water in smaller groups since we didn't want to stress the whale shark. We each got about 2 snorkels alongside the largest fish in the ocean and it could not have been more perfect. Even our 4 yr old daughter got a wetsuit and mask on and caught a wide eyed glimpse as the shark swam by. Once we got over the adrenaline rush of that experience, we went over to another little island to swim with some sea lions and while going to a remote beach for lunch, we even saw a pod of orca jumping and splashing!
The lunch was delicious ceviche and burritos and we had sodas, waters and beer available for us. Spending time on the sandy beach surrounded by turquoise waters was so cool and our daughter found so many shells, she couldn't figure out which ones to bring home. The ride back on the boat was comfortable and everyone had such a good time, there was barely a peep on the way home.
If you are a sea life fan, take this trip and thank me another time.
BTW, Bobby is also a great surf instructor and my experience taking a surf lesson at Los Cerritos Beach the next day was excellent as well.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Toto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

My girlfriend and I joined two other couples who spent a magical day with Carlos on a tour. We got to swim with Whale Sharks, Sea Lions and Carlos had even packed us a lunch (ceviche and machaca burritos) we got to eat at a private beach that was amazingly beautiful. This was an experience of a lifetime and highly recommend this to everyone! Carlos is very kind and considerate and he knows his stuff as he is a marine biologist. I am coming back to take my daughter for this experience and it was the highlight of our trip in Todos Santos!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Irishman714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos R, General Manager at Explora Baja, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Thanks for sharing such a nice day with us. It wad fun to be out in the water with you. We will see you guys soon.
Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We are a family of three with a young daughter and have been coming to Todos Santos for several years. We finally decided to experience a boat tour and take our daughter snorkeling and swimming with the whale sharks with Explora Baja.

This turned out to be one the best experiences ever thanks to our hosts and guides. Every detail was well planned and the quality of the shuttle, boat, food, and the awesome staff was more than we could have hoped for! Our daughter was 6 and she jumped right in the water with the huge whale sharks. The guide held her and swam with her alongside the whales and she absolutely loved it!

The swimming with sea lions was amazing as well and it was topped up with a very tasty and fresh lunch on a stunning, secluded white sand beach. After many trips to Baja, I didn't realize the beauty of the bay of La Paz, highly recommended and not to be missed!

The kindness, professionalism, and enthusiasm that Paula and Carlos have at the Surf Shop and Adventure Center is off the charts! We've bought a custom shaped board from the local shaper there as well and it's a thing of beauty. I can't say enough good things about their store and tours; we can't wait to go back!

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank ShastaGuides
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 7, 2017

My friend Betty and I stumbled across Explora Baja after receiving a tip from a Todos Santos local. I'll be forever grateful that we did. Carlos and Bobby will give you a truly magical, once in a lifetime experience.

After a nice chat with Carlos at his surf shop in town we booked in for a day trip to snorkel with whale sharks. We were picked up the next morning to head to La Paz by our guide Bobby – a joyful, non-stop smiling dude with a deep passion for and genuine love of nature – and for sharing the magic of the Sea Of Cortez with his clients.

We had a glassy ride out to track down the whale sharks with our captain Israel and before we knew it we were face to face with several of these incredible creatures (sometimes two, side by side). Truly breathtaking.

It's clear the Explora Baja guys care about and respect the wildlife (which is important to me) – we were in a small group, requested to drop gently into the water so as not to scare the whale sharks and not to touch them but to just swim close by (literally inches away!) and soak up their majesty.

After everyone had their fill of whale shark time we zipped over to a reef area with more great marine life and a small group of sea lions for more snorkeling and delight. Then it was on to the absolutely stunning Balandra Bay for a delicious picnic style lunch on the beach. The place is impossibly beautiful. I feel so blessed to have seen and experienced it.

The entire day beginning to end was, in no other words, magical. Don't hesitate to do this. You won't regret it for a single second. Thank you Carlos and especially Bobby for sharing the magic with me.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank beclouise86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews