We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”
Review of Casa Bentley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Bentley
Ranked #9 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2006

My wife & I spent part of our honeymoon at the Casa Bentley, and we can't say enough about it. The fountain suite is an amazing room, with stonework and an open floor plan that makes you feel like you're the King and Queen of Todos Santos.

The pool is just perfect for either splashing around to beat the heat or gettting a few (short) laps in before hitting the town. And the town is virtually at their doorstep. Great dining is just a few blocks away along with groceries, gifts, books, real estate, travel and drug stores.

Bob and Beatrice are wonderful, with Bob willingly sharing his incredible knowledge of the area (as well as his addiction to Google Earth) and Beatrice going out of her way to make sure you are enjoying every part of your stay.

The outdoor kitchen is a great place to prepare and share meals with friends, and the hule tree has to be experienced to be believed. The dogs make you feel welcome and protected, though small children may take their exhuberance the wrong way.

This is definitely the best value around, though I'm sure the rates will be going up soon.

Do stay here if you :
Want insider knowledge (or gossip) of the area
Want a unique place that is unlike anything anywhere
Want a place in town to be close to the arty expats scene and the warm locals scene.
Want a quiet place to relax completely
Want to feel like your staying at a house. Because you are!
Want to stay with other couples or as a family. Plenty of room and privacy yet great common areas.

Don't stay here if you:
Want A/C - I hate the heat but found the bountiful fans made it very pleasant inside.
Want to be steps away from the beach.
Want the feelling of a Cabo resort (but then I guess you wouldn't be looking in Todos Santos!)
Looking for a place that is just like the US. While it is luxurious, it is still in Mexico and has just enough quirks to remind you you're not at home. Some lights are burnt out, some switches hard to find, and there is plenty of dust due to the dirt roads.

If you want plenty of sunlight and one or two steps to the pool, stay in the Mango or Hule Suites. If you like privacy and more luxury, stay in the Fountain or Dolphin Suites.

Just remember to ask Bob about the elephant and the monkey!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pstanley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 170 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
California
12
Reviewed July 13, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Casa Bentley in Todos Santos, Baja, for our honeymoon. My wife's intial reaction alone was worth the price of the trip. We didn't know what exactly to expect, so we were so happy to see the suite, clean and ready for us, after our 12 hours of travel. The Bentley is absolutely beautiful! Bob has spent about 20 years building the place, and it is truly one-of-a-kind. Bob and Beatrice are gracious hosts, and guests should be sure to hit them up for tips on restaurants, beaches, and other local activities. Highly recommended, especially in the off-season, when you might get a discount and you'll avoid most of the other tourists.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bellingham, WA
13
Reviewed June 24, 2006

Bob Bentley and his enchanting stone and gem abode truly embody the spirit of this phrase. My husband and I arrived at Casa Bentley in May 2005, and after a single night’s stay we felt right at home and decided it would be worthwhile to extend our visit considerably. By the time we had left, we had stayed in every room at the house and observed many different types of travelers passing through.

Bob’s home is a safe, peaceful, and comfortable OASIS (I can't emphasize this word enough) at the edge of downtown Todos Santos. After exploring the region for a while, we found little reason to leave the property for anything other than groceries, the occasional adventure, and sunset walks on the beach nearby. If you are prepared to relax and have fun, you will love Casa Bentley. Bob is an absolutely loveable curmudgeon with a priceless knowledge of the region, who loves nothing more than to show his guests a good time. After reading other reviews, it seems redundant to tell you that Bob will point you in the right direction for the best dining, hiking, and site-seeing experiences, including arroyos, canyons, and beaches that you would never have known about if you did not have the good fortune of being Bob's guest. On the other hand, some of your most engaging moments will be at the Casa Bentley.

It's beyond words, and the website photos definitely don’t do it justice. So, if you're going to Baja Sur and you want to get a little further off the beaten path, go to Todos Santos and be Bob's guest at his beautiful oasis, Casa Bentley.

P.S. Bob is also the perfect source for advice if you happen to be looking at property to buy in the region.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis
12
Reviewed June 16, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Casa Bentley for nine days in early May and had one of the most relaxing holidays we’ve had in years. We enjoy staying at B&Bs and small guesthouses and have visited quite a few over the years. Casa Bentley is truly unique and was beyond our expectations. Its as much a work of art as it is a guesthouse and has clearly been a labor of love for the builder and owner, Bob Bentley. Wandering around the pathways and stairways connecting different rooms and areas at the Bentley I occasionally felt as if I was navigating an Escher painting. Each room is unique and the privacy and solitude of the rooms and the entire compound was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in the Dolphin room and felt as if we were off in a world of our own complete with a private patio with a water wall which provided soothing background sounds, not unlike a babbling brook. We cooked our breakfasts in the outdoor kitchen in the shade of the Mango trees. There are numerous private spaces created for sitting and relaxing alone or with a companion, and spacious areas around the pool or under a giant rubber tree for larger groups to come together and socialize. The old growth mango trees, flowering plants and gardens are truly stunning – the pictures on the website do not do justice to the diversity of the complex! Bob, and his manager Beatrice, were great hosts, providing all the information we needed about Todos Santos – from where to eat (almost all within a few minutes walk) to the best beaches, hiking routes and places for site seeing. As other reviewers have noted, Bob is also a great resource on the history and geology of the TS area. We would totally recommend Casa Bentley to anyone visiting Todos Santos. It was exactly what we needed and we are already plotting our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2006

I have understood those parents that brag about their "wonderful" family vacations. For me, taking one's children with you as you run away from the daily grind---is a reciepe for disaster. Knowing this, I took my family of four girls to Todos Santos to stay at the Casa Bentley for 3 weeks in August. Within an hour, I knew I finally found the perfect family vacation. Our first visit was in August--off season, hot and buggy. Yet, the 100 year old mango trees that surround the property, an oasis of fountains, a waterfall pool, and gem stone decorated stone walls, put all of our seasonal concerns to rest.

The owner and proprieter, Bob Bentley, is a long time resident and more importantly a gracious and spirited host that can both entertain his guests while leaving them to their own experience.

What I loved the most was the out door kitchen. Although Todos Santos has many wonderful restaurants--I wanted to cook---especially with 4 girls in tow--. We bought fresh fish off the boats that came in to the local beach and cooked it under the palapa kitchen --

Our girls loved Bob's pool --we played music and picked mangos as we all swam around the waterfall in the center of the pool.

We returned for Thanksgiving to celebrate with Bob Bentley and his lovely home.

This was and will remain a family vacation that we will cherish!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2006

A friend and I stayed at the Casa Bentley for 2 days in March 2006. We stayed in the Mango room, which had huge windows overlooking the mango grove. The room was clean and very large. We had a chance to view all the rooms in the house and all were extremely beautiful and spacious (except the Adobe, which is attached to the main house). Bob, the owner, was extremely nice. He recommended good places to eat and great beaches to visit. The location of the casa is off the main road, which was good for walking, but far enough away for quiet. The pool and the patio surrounding the pool were very inviting. I would recommend staying at the Casa Bentley when visiting Todo Santos.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Colorado
12
Reviewed April 21, 2006

Dangerous! Avoid the Casa Bentley, particularly if you are offered the 100-year-old Adobe Casa. We settled in over the Christmas holiday and were slowly becoming accustomed to the very loud traffic noise at night (the inn is just a few feet from the road, as it turns out!) only to be awakened at about 1 a.m. on the second night of our stay by a truck crashing through the wall of our bedroom. Judging by the cinderblocks on my pillow, (not adobe blocks) this was not the first time this had ocurred. The workers who cleared up the rubble, confirmed that in fact it may have been the third!

Despite the severity of the crash and the fear and injuries we were left to cope with (not to mention the damage done to an expensive family vacation) our intrepid innkeeper never said a word of apology. He did not comp us a new room (We were offered a cleaned-up garage with no bathroom for the remainder of our stay). We were able to find another place to stay, which unfortunately lacked dependable running water. Yes, parts of the Casa Bentley are lovely (stay away from the Adobe Casa!) but in our experience guests are only as valuable as the revenue they generate. Once our room was destroyed, we were no longer welcome and our needs and concerns were of no interest. One bright spot: the emergency room at the Todos Santos hospital was efficient and inexpensive!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
0.1 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Tota
Hotel Casa Tota
#10 of 16 in Todos Santos
155 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Santa Cruz
Villa Santa Cruz
#1 of 16 in Todos Santos
330 reviews
9 mi away
Cerritos Surf Town
Cerritos Surf Town
#3 of 4 in El Pescadero
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bentley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bentley

Address: Calle Del Pilar 99 | Colonia Centro, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bentley 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bentley Boutique Hotel is a small luxury hotel unlike any other one in Mexico, located in historical center of town. Large (up to 1000 sq ft), comfortable and uniquely furnished suites, have private patios, unique tranquil lush garden settings, relaxing atmosphere, secure, peaceful and quiet environment and private parking. 40' heated pool, open-air kitchen, walking distance to fine restaurants, galleries, and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Casa Bentley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing