We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gets better each time we return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Bentley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Bentley
Ranked #9 of 17 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Gets better each time we return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was our third trip to Casa Bentley in the last 5 years. Each time we stay here there are subtle changes and improvements that shows the care and importance to small details that make for a very pleasant stay. Our stay this time was in the Mango Suite which is a light filled large suite which enters onto the patio and swimming pool level. It was quite and very comfortable and felt like a private home instead of a rental/hotel. Bob and Beatrice again made recommendations for activities and restaurants and brought us up on the lastest "happenings" in Todos Santos. Although we looked at a couple of new hotels here, Casa Bentley remains our home away from home in Todos Santos.

Room Tip: Each room is different - good descriptions on website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Traveler194069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    25
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
81
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the home away from home Fountain suite 2/26/- 2/29. Not long enough for sure. All that has been written in the posts here....ditto! All the comments are true. Can't say anything about noise, the Fountain suite is quiet, fountain "noise" only. Did hear some neighbor dogs bark a couple of times at night but I also heard someome yell at them to stop which they promptly did. That doesn't even happen in our home neighborhood....owners telling their dogs to stop barking. Bob is awesome and with us also from being from WA state, I learned alot about Washington geology while sitting at the pool with Bob one afternoon enjoying some scotch. It's true, the architecture is amazing, photos do not do it justice. We love staying at places with communal kitchens. The morning banter with the other guests is always enjoyable. Fortunately, all the guests when we arrived were from the Northwest, so the coffee was always great first thing in the morning no matter who made it. The kitchen is very well furnished for all your cooking needs. Everthing is very clean and in great shape.
Did see a couple of other rooms, all were great, even better than the online pics. Didn't have alot of contact with Beatrice but she seemed very nice. I think she is the organizer of the business end. Steve, apparentently a new added employee, was very attentive and made sure our stay was comfortable and everything was functioning properly. Muchas Gracias to all of the staff. The town is magical, found it to be quiet and clean. Very safe to walk around no matter what time of day or night. The residents of TS are very friendly and helpful. Awesome restaurants in town. Big shout out to La Casita and especially Mariscos mi Costas, best cerviche ever.
Driving to TS from the airport is fairly easy, you just have to be attentive. The road between Cabo and TS is not as close to completion as some internet postings say it is. There are several single lane areas where caution and slow speed is required. I would not drive this road after dark.
We loved the whole experience. Casa Bentley is in the lead for celebrating my 60th next year!
We travel alot and Casa Bentley is one the top five places we've ever stayed.

Room Tip: Fountain room is awesome. We arrived after dark and thought Bob had taken us into the lobby of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockcreekbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Wish we had stayed longer in this eccentric and wonderful place. Very reasonable rate. Very cold water in the pool last week.

Room Tip: Spacious FOUNTAIN ROOM is actually a suite and has beautiful Fountain and patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This place has a great location in the center of town. The architecture is really interesting and the management is quite friendly and informative. The room was dark and cool and very comfortable. My only niggle is with the dogs , which although loud are also pretty charming. The ones owned by the owner bark a lot and loudly and the ones owned by the neighbors do the same. The pool was closed for repairs but it looked really great. I had an excellent place to park my motorcycle that was completely convenient and safe. The internet only worked out by the pool.There are also a lot of vehicles tearing around town with noisy mufflers. The fort like construction of the lodge does a lot to mitigate this but Todos Santos a rather hectic, dusty and loud little town. All in all it was a very good choice and value.

Room Tip: I was on the downhill side and it was very private except no wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasomonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

If you are looking for a truly wonderful (and affordable) experience in a smaller Mexican town (Todos Santos on the Baja, one hour north of Cabo San Lucas on the Pacific Ocean), this is it. The owner of Casa Bentley, Dr. Bob Bentley, is a retired geology professor from Central Washington University in WA. He has lived in Todos Santos for many years. And has built -- and lives in -- a traditional Mexican casa "boutique" hotel. Each suite in this small haven in a mango grove is uniquely furnished in traditional Mexican decor. The pool is grand. The hosts are wonderful. The town of Todos Santos is more than charming. If you feel the need for more people and excitement, Cabo San Lucas is only an hour's drive away. But, truly, once you arrive at Casa Bentley, you may not want to leave Todos Santos -- or Casa Bentley -- at all. Both are grand!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Todos Santos was a bit of culture shock for me. It's a very small, dusty and sometimes very noisy little town, but Casa Bentley was a very nice escape from almost all of that. Yes it is occasionally noisy there, because it is right against the road. (Not the busiest road in town, though, by a long shot.) Also, the town is so small that if there is anything going on in the plaza, you're going to hear it no matter where you're staying. But overall, Casa Bentley is just beautiful, and the rooms are very spacious, and you get a lot of bang for your buck. You'd better like dogs, and be okay with some eccentricities. If not, I guess go stay at the Westin in Cabo. This is Todos Santos, baby! Go with the flow!

Bob and Beatrice are good people, who made me feel very welcome. I'd stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The Fountain Suite is magnificent, and probably the quietest since it's farthest from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Gracious hosts and friendly canine companions shared their enchanting space with us and we were completely amazed. We loved our suite with private garden and cicular brick shower area with bench, iron and gem accents built around a growing tree! The shared kitchen area and upper pool would be great for entertaining. This gem can be barely found, behind big gates - please ring bell, within 2 blocks of Hotel California on the first back street. Beatrice is a doll and Bob is the gracious king of his castle - thanks for sharing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#2 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#3 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotelito
The Hotelito
#2 of 17 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bentley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bentley

Property: Casa Bentley
Address: Calle Del Pilar 99 | Colonia Centro, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bentley 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bentley Boutique Hotel is a small luxury hotel unlike any other one in Mexico, located in historical center of town. Large (up to 1000 sq ft), comfortable and uniquely furnished suites, have private patios, unique tranquil lush garden settings, relaxing atmosphere, secure, peaceful and quiet environment and private parking. 40' heated pool, open-air kitchen, walking distance to fine restaurants, galleries, and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Bentley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing