We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Paradise”
Review of Posada La Poza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada La Poza
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I had the greatlest pleasure in discovering this enchanting hideaway resort in Todos Santos. I can honestly say that this was the most beautiful location for a weddomg that I have ever seen, in person and or on TV. The brochures do not do it justice. The owners were the most generous and gracious people that I have had the honor to meet. I would highly recommend this for a romatic getaway and or a special event to share with friends and loved ones. My three day stay will be embedding in my memories as one of the most joyous, scenic, wonderful places I have ever stayed at. Love ya Lilly!!!!

Hope to see you next year! Patricia and Jayme.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exquisite
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plaframb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Posada La Poza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 361 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

From the moment we arrived for a 5 night stay, we were treated like Queen & King. Lilly and Jurg are the most inviting and friendly people we have met in ages. The rooms are perfect: super comfortable beds, nice showers, tastefully decorated (by Lilly of course), perfect jacuzzi facing the evening sun. Sunset drinks on the top deck with the best margaritas we've ever tasted (made by Jurg). Jurg is a trained gourmet chef from Zurich and each meal was a bite of heaven. We only looked at the menu once our entire stay, just leaving it up to him for suggestions and ideas. Normally we just use a hotel as a "base" and never eat at our base except for breakfast. We ended up having 4 lunches and 3 dinners at La Poza vs. going into town. Such a perfect sanctuary - surrounded by impeccably landscaped grounds and a lagoon, waking up to bird songs each morning. You can walk to the beach through a palm grove and have the entire beach to yourself. The BEST location in all of Todos Santos. I could not recommend La Poza more - it was the most memorable stay in any hotel anywhere.
Our only negative of the stay had nothing to do with La Poza itself. We chose to do a snorkel trip out of La Paz and should have known better that the Pacific is nothing like the Atlantic side of Mexico. Too long of a boat ride on rough seas, very limited visibility and cold water...Skip that trip and stay at the hotel for another great day at the salt water pool instead!

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the jacuzzi rooms if you can!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriGuy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We learned about Posada la Poza 2 years earlier from people at the next table in a restaurant in Jose Del Cabo. Last year we visited this magnificent small resort with friends and had lunch and drinks.
This year we added 3 days to our Cabo vacation just to experience Posada la Poza. We own a fabulous place in Cabo san Lucas that we truly love. But this year, leaving Lilly and Jurg and their incredible Oasis on the Pacific Ocean I was almost depressed to have leave and go down to Cabo.
We love this small piece of Paradise and we love Lilly and Jurg.

Room Tip: The best view are upstairs. All rooms are cozy.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This is Heaven on Earth
Wow, where to begin. My husband and I went on a romantic escape to Toto Santos. We looked online and had no idea where to stay. Based on the reviews and the photos we made our reservation at Posada La Poza. Getting to the hotel was easy and well marked. We were warmly greeted by Lilly and Juerg the owners who are absolutely amazing wonderful people and their canine greeting committee, all rescue dogs who are so sweet!!! We reserved one of the rooms with an outdoor Jacuzzi. The room was immaculate, a variety of local art on the walls. Very nice!! The grounds around this amazing little hotel are beautiful. Full of a wide variety of plants and beautiful flowers.
The pool area is very nice and relaxing. This hotel is located along a fresh water lagoon which is absolutely alive with beautiful birds and just a short distance away there is a beautiful sandy beach which you can either take a row boat or a kayak, (the boats and Kayaks are right in front of the hotel for the guests to use at their leisure). On this beach there is no need for shoes and you can walk for miles and maybe see 3 or 4 other people. This is a wonderful, safe location. The local people are so nice!!! There is a roof top dining area with amazing sunsets and the food, WOW!!!! Great prices and fantastic, Juerg is the chef and everything is fantastic!!!! You will not go away hungry!! The restaurants and there are many in town don’t hold a candle to the meals found at Poza. Juerg and Lilly are very happy wonderful people who take great pride in their little slice of heaven and do everything possible to make their guests feel welcome. Always smiling, they have created an environment like no other. Words and pictures do not begin to describe this wonderful place. You have to see and feel it for yourself. You’ll never forget it. I can see why people come back year after year. We hated to leave.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesFunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Yes, the place is lovely.
Yes, the setting is divine almost like paradise
Yes, the staff was nice.
Yes, it is off the beaten path away from town and down a dirt road.

We recently stayed at Posada La Poza. It is a pretty place but very isolated. We arrived past the busy season and found that the owners had been called away to Europe so that left just the chef and the other staff at the Posada during the day. At night they ALL went home. Since we were the only guests on several nights, you can imagine how one might feel a little ummm ... nervous. Several new guests arrived on one of the days of our stay (we were there for three nights) and couldn't find any staff to even acquire a pool towel ... they choose to not even stay the night. We did get breakfast every day and the staff was kind and friendly.

Hey, things happen. Owners get called away. It would have been nice to have been informed ahead of time, offered a discount, or to be referred to another place to stay if there wasn't going to be anyone around after dinner hours. (One night of the week the restaurant is always closed so on that day the gardener, chef, and other staff left well before the dinner hour.) You are locked in by a dead bolted iron gate and there is barbed wire along the top of the walls ... instead of making me feel safe, it had the opposite effect.

I'm sure it is a more welcoming place when the owners (who live there) are on site.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSUgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We love this clean elegant oasis in small-town Baja Mexico. We stayed 2 nights so that my wife could go to Jill Logan's painting class in Todos |Santos. La Poza is a inn with a cluster of separate casitas at the end of a rough but easy road, and once through the grand gates, we were in a lush tropical garden with an incredible variety of plants, in the middle of which is a huge pool and small waterfall. You can hear the surf pound beyond the lagoon, but it was far away enough to allow us a beautiful sleep. We took on of several boats and rowed to the beach at the ocean. The first night I saw a huge owl swoop over head. The second night we ate in the restaurant, prepared by Andre, a delightful chef from Germany. Our Parrot fish meal was cooked to perfection. Early every morning the hot coffee and biscuits were ready in a thermos outside our door, on our private garden patio. Breakfast is available in the "El Gusto" restaurant in the main building, which has a beautiful roof-top deck for drinks and watching the sunset. One of the owners is an artist, and my wife was fascinated to explore the many paintings on various walls. Our room was large, the bed very comfortable, and the two bathrobes a nice extra touch. I'm writing this on our last morning, on my laptop, with the wifi access.

Room Tip: Garden patio is less expensive, but excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you have the opportunity to stay at Posada la Posa - just do it! An amazing oasis surrounded by the Todos Santos' desert. The owners have created a romantic spot that only can be imagined.


This boutique hotel is separated from the Pacific Ocean by a fresh water lagoon where I spent many hours lounging and watching many varieties of birds play on thermals and forage in the lagoon.

The pool is fed with with filtered salt water and is a wonderful respite from the hot mid-day sun. And the gardens are stunning - from orchids to pomegranates!

The restaurant is fabulous - no need to venture into Toro Santos. Special menu requests are welcomed! The owner kindly made me a Swiss Rosti for dinner one evening, which was delicious. The rooms are beautiful and the bedding comfortable.



We were treated like old friends and with care. To my point, the March 2011 tsunami, created by the Japanese earthquake was cause for concern during our stay and the owners housed and fed us on safe higher ground.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janicetomich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
1.1 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
625 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
72 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Poza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Poza

Address: Camino a la Poza 282 | Col La Poza, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range: $151 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada La Poza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet boutique hotel, restaurant El Gusto! on site with full bar and whale deck, heated saltwater pool and saltwater spa, beautiful tropical and desert gardens, the only hotel on the beach, birdwatching, retreat and wedding destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Posada La Poza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Poza Hotel Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing