We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow slow service”
Review of Fonda El Zaguan

Fonda El Zaguan
Ranked #14 of 93 Restaurants in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: “Always good,always fresh”A locals favorite for overten years, committed tooffering the freshest fish,seafood and produce ataffordable prices.
La Habra, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“slow slow service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Food was decent, ambience was good, but the service is SLOW, SLOW, SLOW... And it was not just our table. All tables were waiting for their food. 15 minutes to get your drinks, another 15 minutes for appetizer, another 20 minutes for main course, 10 minutes to get your check, add eating time and you have stayed at the restaurant for 1 1/2 hrs. They did have a big group ahead of us, but the waiting staff was quite incompetent. Quite frustrating... Maybe it was because I was so hungry...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikcastellanos, Owner at Fonda El Zaguan, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
A sincere apology for Mr. Daniel K. on behalf of El Zaguan Restaurant. Every year we try to prepare ourselves as much as we can before the Christmas Holidays because the flow of tourists increases dramatically from around the 20th of December onwards. Being a small restaurant with a small kitchen, preparing every dish pretty much from scratch “daily fresh”, and having several tables coming in pretty much at the same time, significantly slows us down. We are implementing ways to better handle situations like this. Again, a sincere apology.
Erik Castellanos, Owner of El Zaguan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    42
    7
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unassuming find”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very small space and easy to miss. Food very good, but a little overpriced for what you good. Quality was very good. No view, minmal ambience but very relaxing. Only has outdoor seating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Another Good Fresh Food Experience”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Eight of us decended on this restaurant one night and we all had a good experience. I enjoyed watching the ladies working on our meal. This town is blessed with an abundance and variety of fresh seafood and produce, some organic. This restaurant knows how to put it to good use. We all passed plates around and I may have had a little too much bitter orange dauquri to remember any one thing that stood out. For dessert however I can tell you to pass on the mango ice cream and go for the passionfruit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chevybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A couple staying at the same hotel on Cerritos Beach recommended El Zaguan to us - they had eaten there the night before and said it was an excellent meal. We took their advice, and are so glad we did!! We had a fabulous meal, excellent service, and the wait staff was super friendly and informative about the area. I definite must while in Todos Santos!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch in friendly fonda”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great food,really tasty with a personal take on Mexican specialities.The fish was wonderful as were the scallops.Thoroughly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda El Zaguan also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Fonda El Zaguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing