We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Cerritos and Mario's School”
Review of Mario Surf School

Mario Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surfing is one of the most exhilarating, healthy and natural experiences available. At Mario Surf School we can provide you with the best quality surf instruction, customized to your level of skill to reach your surfing goals!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love Cerritos and Mario's School”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A little tricky to find it's about 3km South of Todas Santos. Look for two large yellow flags that say Baja surf club and then drive towards the "Boutique Hotel". The beach is public and you will see some blue umbrellas there, that's Mario's surf school. The instructors I met were very friendly, took their time teaching us, and then allowed us to surf long after the lesson ended. I will definitely go back and next time will consider staying in that area. The break there is sooo much nicer than the area near cabo. The waves gently roll in on a gradual slope and the undertow is minimal to non existent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rightousbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    8
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lots of attention!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My instructor Carlos had a positive attitude and a true love for his work. He was a great teacher and it was worth every penny!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank santinaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Instruction”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I spent three days with Mario and his instructors at the beginning of May. My goal was to get a head start on surfing (I had only surfed twice before), and made tremendous progress. Although it won't happen for everyone, I was able to get up on the board, ride to the shore consistently, and tackle a few bigger waves. I talked to Mario at length about the plan for how I can get better now that I'm back in San Francisco, and he was extremely helpful.

Honestly - you shouldn't have to consider going anywhere else... Mario Surf School is a sure thing. You'll be very happy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very good surf instruction.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Highly recommended even if you have to travel some distance to get here. Playa Los Cerritos is an excellent surfing spot for introductory surf lessons. There is quite a variety of wave height and shape here and as you learn you can step up to greater challenges . Mario and his team of instructors are absolutely excellent and they worked successfully with kids, teens and adults while I was there. Everyone who took a lesson seemed to get up and surf and really have fun. Both my son and I plan to return. Mario is really dedicated to making this a quality experience and it shows.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tncarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best surf instruction around.”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Mario Surf School, operating out of Los Cerritos, is the major provider of surf lessons in the Todos Santos area. Wandering over to Los Cerritos for the first time can be something of an adventure, so be sure to have some extra time available for your first visit. After several stops, we arrived with a few minutes to spare, just in time for the first session of the day. Mario met us on the beach, and proceeded to turn us over to his instructors. In two separate days, my wife and I had two separate instructors, and these guys did an excellent job working with us to stand up on the board, time and catch waves, etc. With one-hour sessions, we weren't going to become experts overnight, but we learned and improved a lot. I've had instruction elsewhere in the world, and these guys exceeded it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank joelthepole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario Surf School also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Mario Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing