We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay for families/friends!”
other travelers have booked this property
Three-story Guest House in foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Three-story Guest House in foreground
Main house with Sunset suite on the right and 3 story Guest house on the left. Main house Great Room with pool table.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Three-story Guest House in foreground
Main house with Sunset suite on the right and 3 story Guest house on the left.
Main house Great Room with pool table.
Main house kitchen.
Four rows of peeling San Pedrito surf seen from our living room window.
Looking north from the front yard.
Sunset Suite - above main house, with private bathroom and deck.
Sunset Suite - private bathroom.
Guest House - Studio apartment
Guest House - Studio apartment
Open air living area adjoining the Apartment
Study on second floor of guest house, additional bedroom off this study
New single bedroom on second floor of guest house
Interior of Surf Lookout (3rd floor guest house)
Fishing on the beach directly in front of the property.
Whales are a common, but always amazing sight.
Horses at fresh water creek nearby ... A favorite field trip.
Bougainvillea growing on perimeter fence
Ocean front trampoline is a big hit.
Guests enjoying our wood fired outdoor hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Todos Santos, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alana L
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay for families/friends!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Dr. Robert is a wonderful host. He's kind, funny and accommodating. Here you have the ocean at your doorstep--swimming, kayaking and watching whale spouts all day long!! We stayed in the main house with 2 families (4 kids). We were all warmly welcomed and instantly enjoyed Dr. Robert and his stories! We really appreciated Robert--our kids loved him and we really enjoyed sitting around the campfire with him! He allowed our dog to join us too. The house was clean and nice. People who have never traveled Baja before should be aware; you sort of have to role with the punches in Baja --it's a rustic land and resources can sometimes be tricky. This place isn't for the fancy-schmancy traveler who nit picks details and wants to be catered to with super high end accommodations. This incredible property is for people who are down to earth, enjoy spending time with new friends and can appreciate enriching experiences. It's for people who truly enjoy nature, appreciate simplicity and want to make memories for a lifetime! Thank you Dr. Robert, for our trip of a lifetime! Our families enjoyed our time with you and we loved your incredible ocean oasis!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggif201...
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise, indeed!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have been happier!
My partner and I stayed at Dr. Robert's for 11 nights and felt like we were in paradise the whole time - no wait, we WERE in paradise the whole time! Robert is a wonderful host, a warm soul and a caring man. The room was wonderful - clean with beautiful views and a nice kitchen. We had fires on the beach, made friends with the other guests and are now actively planning how soon we can go back. If you want an excellent beach experience with a fantastic host, go to Robert's Ocean Oasis.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2014
Maggi and her partner have become great friends and represent an interesting trend. 75% of our guests are now Canadian! I plan to return to Canada again this summer to meet more of these kind, incredibly competent, and humble people who come from those islands in the frozen north. Maggie's knowledge of what I call 'consciousness based' organizations is vast and her partner is an award winning architect who designs and constructs the kind of buildings that Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs would be proud to live in. This is the kind of thing you get to learn about sitting around the camp fire sharing stories. What a priviledge. Viva Canada!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haley D
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay on the beach for 3 lovely ladies!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Two girlfriends and I stayed at Dr. Robert's for 3 nights in June and loved every minute of it. We stayed in the second floor apartment which was perfect for the 3 of us, complete with a super comfortable queen bed (really! that was a great bed) and a twin. The apartment looks west over the ocean and opens up onto an awesome deck. It's so lovely going to sleep and waking up to the waves crashing. There's an awesome wood fired hot tub on the property - a great place to hangout at night and gaze at the brilliant stars (and don't worry, that wood keeps the hot tub nice and toasty!). The common areas here are great - I can imagine this place being a great spot for a family reunion or wedding. The waves were a bit too big for our liking to use the kayaks, but I'm sure they would be fun for an experienced kayaker in different surf! Maybe next time. A short ~10 minute drive takes you to Todos Santos to the north and Los Cerritos surf beach to the south. We did some exploring to those destinations, eating copious amounts of tacos/deliciousness in the colonial Todos Santos and surfing (ehem, trying to surf) in Los Cerritos. I just wish we had stayed longer and had more time to lounge on the beach, read, soak up some sun and chill with the resident dog, Izzy (what a sweetie!). Dr. Robert was very accommodating and really has a nice slice of paradise there... What a perfect way to escape the Portland rain. Can't wait to return someday. Thank you Robert!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, common areas, comfy bed, host
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aa L
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had the Pacific Ocean all to ourselves”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

If we were any closer to the water we would be fish. The beach is vast and empty, it felt like it was only us at the edge of the world. Took the sea kayaks out through the surf one day. All sun, sand and water. Robert is a gracious and generous host, going into town to get the things we needed.

We stopped to stock up on food and bev on the way from the airport, and didn't leave the Oasis over our 5-day stay, except for one evening going dancing at a local cabana bar. The heartbeat of the surt lulled us to sleep at night, as we left insomnia behind together with city life and worries.

A perfect getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willy M
Mentone, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beachfront Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Five miles south of Todos Santos, this beachfront villa affords you with the best Pescadero has to offer: a fantastic strip of unpopulated beach, great views, a variety of accommodations, a knowledgeable host (who can recommend all the best local spots), and all at quite affordable rates! A little piece of paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The magnificent Pacific Ocean right outside our door.
Liked least: The temperature in July was unusually high.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mia415
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oceanfront. Private. Clean. Lovely.”
Reviewed November 11, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
4
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed for just 4 nights last January. We originally wanted the surfer lookout on top, but when we saw it, it was a little too basic for us, so we upgraded to the one bedroom apartment. The apartment was gorgeous! The kitchen was superb; well equipt with beautiful authentic, clay Mexican plates, bowls and cups. The bed was very big and comfortable, and whole place was nicely decorated, including a great couch and dining table. The best part was the balcony! Epitome of beachfront - ocean and vast beach right in front of the hotel. Every morning I would make coffee and sit on the balcony and watch the whales swim by and blow water out of their blow holes. Dawn/early morning is the best time to the see the whales. We were able to cook most of our meals and eat on the balcony. Forgot the name of the beach, but there is a beach nearby where fishermen dock and bring in their fresh catch of the day for sale - we got 4 fresh red snapper fillets for like $5 i think (homemade fish tacos!) There are also a handful of restaurants on the main highway, before the turn off to the house. Please get good directions - very confusing dirt roads, very easy to get lost. Bring lots of maps of area so you can explore all the great beaches nearby.
Complaints? Did not know this beach was not suitable for swimming - very rough waves. Saw quite a few surfers in there though. Also a bit of construction going on right under our balcony, which wasn't too bad since we were gone most of the day, and the construction is probably over now.
The beach is wonderful for long walks, and the beach is huge, so easy to find a very isolated spot to sit. Robert is very welcoming and friendly, and will try his best to accommodate you. I have not seen the inside of the "main house" which sleeps many people, but it looked great from the outside, and I know it has a pool table. But I highly recommend the one bedroom for a couple!
Overall, very relaxing stay on a gorgeous stretch of beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, and sitting on the balcony
Liked least: Beach not for swimming
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing