We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditto TTDon and Eugen AZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I won't waste more of your time reading the same thing you have read prior to my review but I will sum it up in bullets for you.

1. Beautiful property with amazing detail to design but whomever owns it definitely doesn't really care about the property as the details as they relate to small things such as cracks in tile, chairs being a bit worn, etc is obvious.
2. Arturo is AMAZING!!!! Will take care of anything within his power that you need during your stay.
3. Very clean and the cleaning staff is on top of it all.
4. No, not everything is perfect I.E. Pool is cold, oven doesn't work (but really are you going to cook a 5 course roast dinner) stove top does work and all other appliances also work.
5. Water is brought in by large tank trucks so yes, you may end up without water for a few hours (we never experienced this but saw the trucks coming in every few days)
6. No ITS NOT THE RITZ- you do not have a restaurant on site (and in my opinion the one on the beach is overpriced and only moderately good) and you don't have the luxury of going to the boutique store for band aids BUT you are minutes from town and that was fine for us.

In a nut shell think it like you are renting a house but instead you are renting a room in a beautiful mansion you share with others. If you get it on one of those deals, it is absolutely worth it. I can't imagine the owner would ever get full price. It is in no way worth their full price even with all it's beauty.

Enjoy! and say Hi to the two little kitties ( they love attention)

Room Tip: Southside rooms are the best (in March at least)- we could sit out on our patio all day. Northside r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmah2odog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We appreciate your review on our resort and do value your contribution. Constructive reviews help to make our resort the best it can be. We are happy that you feel satisfied with your overall experience, and thank you for clearly stating your opinions. Being in such an "off the grid" location supplies much needed privacy, but also a few obstacles that we are fighting to overcome. Thank you for your understanding and support. We will be sure and relay your appreciation to Arturo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow....the other reviews are right on. We had read the other reviews prior to our visit so we knew what to expect. I have to say that we were constantly amazed at what little time and $$$ it would take the owner to make this place well worth the higher prices it should command. Lucky us, we also only paid about $110 per night, via a discounted offer, so after all the inconveniences we concluded that we paid the right price. What a shame...the place could be so amazing with a little TLC. Arturo (in the front office) did everything in his power to help correct all that was wrong, except make our hot tub hot and our refrigerator work. A good all around fix-it-man on staff (with a budget to purchase broken stuff) would be a wise investment. The cleaning crews were great as the group kitchens were always kept very clean. As we enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of the hotel and the amazing views, we just couldn't help but think how cool it would be to take over the place and make it the shining diamond it deserves to be. There is so much potential and I hope that someday the place gets the love it needs before it is too late, that would truly be a shame. Very good surrounding restaurants BTW, and we would stay there again but not at a higher price.

Room Tip: Make sure your refrigerator works as there is one non-working fridge that gets moved from room to ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

So this place is unbelievably beautiful! Hand carved wood, clay tile everywhere, brick vaulted ceilings, travertine covered bathrooms, original paintings on the walls, huge handmade carved leather inlaid beds and chairs in rooms. Everything is set to be highest class! But sadly ... it fails :(

Seems like whomever was building this place, and it is VERY new, ran out of money to properly finish off the grandeur - light switches that do not operate any lights (not wired in) and lights that are off as they cant be operated by any switch, plumbing fixtures that need to be properly installed and sealed, bed furnishings that seen better days (however they are super clean), unfinished fireplaces and hut tubs through the property, etc Crazily warped pool table that is missing one ball, has 2 balls broken and no chalk for the cues, though it makes perfect settings for a game of Crazy Pool. Of course a gorgeous chess set with pieces missing heads and some pieces MIA entirely probably is good for a relaxing game of Crazy Chess as well. But only if you play those during daylight time as there is no working light in that game room or bring your own light from the room like we did (Little ingenuity gets you far :+) ) Though no ingenuity will get you shower those few times there was no water for a bit but it always came back and hot water was always available. (Water is brought onsite in huge tanks and we just happened to be there when it ran out and tanks were changed.) Yet lights never went out even when fire in Todos Santos put lights out for entire region - benefit of running on generator!

It MUST be said that property is extremely clean all over. There always was a person at the front office to help with needed and there is even WiFi ($10 a day) and room service available though nearest restaurant is only 5 min away walking on the beach.

To sum up:

New property that was not finished right
Lacking stuff and therefore maintenance
Do not expect much of personal service (bellboys, valets, concierges, etc)
Read above about shortcomings
Come with open mind

It was an AWESOME stay and we enjoyed every minute being at the Hacienda Cerritos!!!

Room Tip: Book early as it seems all the rooms priced same but rooms are not same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EugeneAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while at our resort, we appreciate your comments and feedback. Our Cerritos Beach Resort Management Team considers your suggestions valuable to the success of our guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Take a look at Amy' s review. she is right on the money. If you are looking for amenities....don't go here. If you are looking for one of the best views you will ever have and a beach that goes for miles with no people to be found, this is the place for you.
This is a 10 room hotel with huge beautiful rooms and balconies. We had coffee and the best sunrise everyday of our stay. And the sunsets could not be better, as you watch the sunset and look for whales.
The staff is wonderful and attentive. Gregorio is at the outside bar most of the days and is a wealth of information.
The communal kitchens are spotless. We had breakfast there every morning after going to Todos Santos for groceries.
It was a taste of Mexico and a welcome relief from Boston weather.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'm bothering to write this review because I got freaked out by the negative reviews just days before I was to visit this location. So, here's the skinny on this place - I bought it at a great discount, so I wound up paying about $125.00 a night, and for that money, I was thoroughly satisfied. Had I paid the full $500 a night, I would have been really upset. I'll get the negative stuff out of the way first. At first the place looks beautiful, but upon closer speculation, one can see it is falling into disrepair. The pools are not heated, so they are like ice, and, in a 70 degree climate, it's hard to justify getting in a pool with such a cold temperature. The main hot tubs near the pool are hot, but the bubble jets are broken. The private hot tubs take a very long time to heat up and the bubbles don't work there, either.
There is a possibility you will have visitors in your room in the form of bugs and vermin, I did not experience this but another guest of the hotel did.
And be aware of some things - this is not a full-service hotel - there is no food on site, nor is there a little store where you can buy groceries or suntan lotion or aspirin, Pepto Bismal, or things like that.
You can order food from the surf colony below, but it takes a long time to get to you.
There is coffee and tea in the morning in the main kitchen.
Now, for the good stuff. The place is immaculate, despite the visitors I mentioned earlier, they are not due to uncleanliness on the part of the Hacienda. The rooms are astonishingly beautiful, and the showers are like nothing I've ever seen.The staff is very friendly and willing to help, if anything is broken or not working they will try their hardest to try to fix it or sort things out, and quickly.
The view is absolutely incredible, you are out on a peninsula, so you can see all around you for miles. I had the good fortune of experiencing the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen. And there is a town with all amenities including drug stores, souvenirs, grocery stores, and good restaurants (best pancakes at Cafe Lix, lovely atmosphere at Hotel California) called Todos Santos, that is under a 15 minute drive North.
I think what the staff of the Hacienda is facing is an owner who no longer cares about the property and is not willing to invest more money in it, so they are the poor people who have to deal with the fallout. If you are going to visit this place, please do keep this in mind - don't take it out on them - they are at the mercy of the man who bought the place, but now neglects it.
Still, I'm giving it 4 stars because I had low expectations from the other bad reviews, so I was pleasantly surprised. If you got this hotel on a great deal, it's totally worth what you paid - there's nothing to complain about - you've been warned - now just relax, have a shot of tequila and enjoy the view!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are beautiful and have ocean views, and the bungalows have their own pools and ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I really wanted to give this a 5 star rating, but in fairness to others who have yet to come here I can't. If you are looking to be waited on with amenities and all the functions of an all inclusive or brand name hotel, this is not for you. If you are an adventurer, like to meet new people, work around little gliches, and just enjoy a good sunset....welcome home!!!

The place is stunning! We stayed in the North Penthouse, which is the most beautiful of the rooms. The main patio overlooks the coast and ocean the side overlooks the ocean and bar. Keep the doors closed at night or the bugs come in! :)

Yes, things are broken in the kitchens and some of the areas could be greatly improved. I would not pay full price, but a Groupon made it well worthwhile. Remember to not drive there at night for it is almost impossible to find. Also, get your groceries in Cabo or La Paz (by a sponge too). This is a somewhat remote location. Also, GET AN SUV!!! The dirt roads to the hotel are rutted and bumpy.

There are several restaurants within 5 km that are great. Look for the one on the dirt road entrace to the hotel with the two airstreams in front. The chef is on an exchange program from Napa Valley. Her organic and reasonably priced food is great. Beer & Art is quite an experience you won't forget. The food is outstanding (lobster stuffed with scallops and shirmp ceviche tostadas). The sister hotel, Surf Colony has decent food, great staff and a bit overpriced.

We had a great time and met some really fun adventurers as well. The two house cats are really sweet and greet all the guests (they love smoked marlin). On New Year's Eve, we cooked dinner with a group and brought in the New Year watching the fireworks off Cerritos Beach. Don't miss the sunsets, they will take your breath away. We will be going back again for sure!

Room Tip: North Penthouse with the two person shower and HUGE bathtub...incredible views as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crazyd0glady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights over the holiday for a special anniversary trip. Although the location and hotel are pretty, it was very disappointing. It is important to know that MANY things are NOT working at the hotel and also we were told there are no immediate plans to fix the problems. For instance, after preparing a meal to bake in the kitchen, we discovered the oven does not work, nor has ever been working. Plan B was grilling out on their outdoor grill, only then we discovered that the grill does not work either, apparently for over a year. The worst thing to us was that the pool and "hot" tubs were NOT heated and were way too cold to use during our entire stay. In addition, the advertised "mini-kitchen" in each suite in reality does NOT have any dishes, silverware, toaster, nor a coffee pot as advertised on their website. For this hotel to advertise as a "luxury boutique hotel" at the prices they request, there is no excuse for the property to not be in better condition to meet their advertised promises.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank We2LoveMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

After reviewing your comments, we are happy to inform you that The Hacienda Cerritos Luxury Resort Management Team has been restructuring and working hard to repair any past problems. Improved communication between location staff and management in the US being the top priority. We apologize for any disappointments or poor service that you may have experienced. Under new management and direction by the owner, we can assure that the conditions and experience will be optimal moving forward. Please feel free to contact us to discuss how we can better accommodate to your needs. We appreciate you taking the time to relay your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
8.5 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
369 reviews
8.9 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
8.9 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
469 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
75 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel

Address: Los Cerritos Beach, Km 65, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range: $426 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Cerritos is an exclusive boutique hotel that is located on a private bluff right on Cerritos Beach. This is the ultimate Mexican getaway. We are just 40 miles north of Cabo San Lucas and just down the road from the historic artist colony of Todos Santos. Cerritos Beach is world renowned for exceptional surfing and is the perfect destination for a family vacation or solo hiatus in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing