We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My friends and I rented out the whole house for the week. We had such an amazing time!! We had 27 people and there was more than enough space. We hired a cook and a bartender, who were both amazing. We bought all our food from Costco. I loved how it was out and a way from cabo... much more relaxing. We rented boogie boards and surf boards, a bunch of us got surf lessons from Irak. You can walk pretty far out into the ocean and the water only gets up to waist deep, which is great if you have kids. The message therapists were great also. You can see whales practically all day. If you have little ones I would recommend the beach houses down below the house. The staff was very accomidating if there was any issues they had the problem fixed immediately. There's 2 resturaunts that you can walk to and todos is very close. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Most of us that went this year are going to go again next year. FYI if you have an injury the hopital/ clinic is very nice in Todos. I felt like there was plenty to do!

Room Tip: If you like to watch the surfers then the south side is great. If you want more privacy and watch th...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 208 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

The location is phenomenal, the rooms are huge and amenities are outstanding. We booked the whole place with a group and hired a local woman to come in for breakfast and lunch and a bar tender for the evenings. Even with all the rooms filled there was still tons of space in the house and at the pool for everyone to spread out and relax. The views are spectacular and the area is remote and unspoiled.

Getting there will require a vehicle from the airport to the hacienda, which according to the map takes 1 hour 27 minutes. The road was under construction when we went so it was closer to 2 hours. The sights along the route include many resorts, Cabo San Lucas, open stretches of beach, cactus covered hills and villages where locals live. When you come over the hill to Cerritos you will see it perched on the rocks above the beach at the last point where land falls into sea. The road from the highway is unpaved and dusty and runs through a small colony of trailers, but only takes 5 minutes.

The hacienda itself is incredible. The rooms are big, the bathrooms are huge and all have about 15 foot ceilings. Our bedroom had huge sliding glass doors on 2 sides which provides for amazing views and the sound of the waves. The bed was comfortable. The room had two huge exterior glass doors that tuck into the wall providing a near 180 degree view of the ocean. The bugs came out in the evening, so it's best to close them before the sun goes down. The water pressure in the shower was somewhat low, but was not a problem. The pools and hot tubs were great and there are many of them. We found out that the hot tubs heat up more the longer they run, so it may may just be warm if not used, but they heat up relatively quickly.

The area is the best part of the hacienda. It is remote and as such it is not geared toward tourists the way other places are. This makes the experience that much better and more interesting. Surfing and swimming are just down the steps, there is shopping and dining in Todos Santos, fishing and other trips can be arranged, among other things. As stated above, there isn't the thriving industry catering to tourists like in Cabo so it behooves you to do research about the activities you want to do before going.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The hotel is incredible! The beach is right next to the hotel and just takes a couple minutes to get there! Great service and it is so relaxing just to get away and spend time in the pools! There are amazing views and you will never want to go back home! I had a great time! Unforgettable vacation! Hacienda Cerritos is the place to visit!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jhen6232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I am a regular traveler to Los Cabos. I discovered a beautiful hotel on the way to Todos Santos. We just stopped for a drink...so glad we did. It was the most amazing location ever! Delightful bartender...customizing drink orders. We snuck throughout the hotel and was completely astounded by the beauty of the decor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsShady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at the Hacienda in February of 2012 and it was simply amazing!!! This is not your typical hotel but an amazing private boutique hotel that offers a once in a lifetime trip.
The travel time from the airport to the hotel was about an hour and a half, but once you get there you will soon forget it!
The views are incredible and the house is to die for! The cook and bartender were the sweetest people and even helped look after our friend when he injured himself.
There is access to the beach which is beautiful, or just relaxing by the pools is paradise as well.
If you are up for a true adventure and ready to get away from the crowds you need to visit Hacienda Cerritos!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Great pools and pool area and the beach was just down the stairs from the hotel. The service was great and friendly. Hotel is about 2 hours from the airport, which I thought was a drag until I saw the hotel and realized it was totally worth the drive. The only complaint was the flies and mosquitos, got eaten alive the first nignt until they sprayed for insects. I would bring insect repellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

On the drive from the airport to the Hacienda, you may be asking yourself, "Where are these people taking me?", the answer is simple...PARADISE!!! As early reviews have mentioned, the roads are under construction so they can be a bit bumpy and slow going at times. It is approximately an hour and a half to two hour drive depending on your driver. Our driver, who was amazing, said construction is scheduled to be completed within the year. For me, one of the biggest draws to Cerritos beach is that it is so remote!! Driving through rural Mexico to get to this amazing place is part of the fun and really shows you the "real" side of Mexico. For me, that is one of the great things about traveling. And I would like to add that Baja is completely safe and was at no time during the trip concerned about safety.
I have been lucky enough to do a great deal of traveling all over the world and stayed in some amazing places. Hacienda Cerritos is one of the most spectacular locations I have ever stayed. Even the most incredible photos do not do it justice. It is absolutely breath taking. The house is incredibly well done and the decor leaves nothing to be desired. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Lower South Suite. It blew our minds!!! The leather work on the four post bed, bench and chairs is beautiful. There is an amazing brick fireplace that crawls up the wall to meet an even more amazing brick cathedral ceiling with iron chandelier. The bathroom is even more amazing!! The brick work continued into the bathroom where we found a double shower, incredible bathtub, jack and jill sinks and a huge walk in closet!. All of the doors throughout the hacienda are made out of beautifully carved dark wood and are probably 10+ feet tall. They are amazing!! We had two sliding glass doors that allowed us to basically remove two walls of our room and bring the outside inside. We did this often and it added that extra something. There is also a patio with an outside shower which we used to rinse off after trips down to the beach.
The communal areas both inside and outside are again beautiful and well appointed. There are double bed sized lounges surrounding the main pool as well on a few private patios around the property. We used these everyday for hours on end!! We stuck to the main pool and front two hot tubs placed perfectly to watch your choice of sunrise or sunset. But there are three more pools and I believe two more hottubs on the property. There is a hatched roofed bar which you can swim up to or have a seat and relax, whale watch or watch one of the incredible sunrises or sunsets.
We were fortunate enough to have our friend, the lovely Jennifer Johnson, arrange all the details for us. If you chose to rent our the entire Hacienda like we did(and I highly recommend doing it that way) the staff at the Hacienda will help you arrange cook, bartender and maid staff if you so choose. All of our meals, made by Aide where wonderful. Her carne asada was the best I have ever had!! All drinks and food were made with fresh produce from the surrounding area. Everything else was bought at Costco on the way to the hacienda and that worked perfect!! We had dinner one night at the Surf Colony, a five minute walk down the beach. It was wonderful!! I highly recommend the poblano soup if it is still available!! We never did this but they will deliver to the Hacienda if you so choose. Cerritos restaurant in El Pescadero, a 10 minute drive, was also a highlight of our dinners there. It is a family run, open air (thats right, no walls) restaurant that will blow your mind. It is a culinary experience you should not miss while in the area.
On the beach just below Hacienda Cerritos you can arrange for surf lessons or just rent boards, get massages, arrange for fishing trips, among many other activities. All for much less than you would pay in Cabo. We also took a day trip into Todos Santos as well as to Palm Beach. Both were amazing!!
Hacienda Cerritos is not a full service hotel but it has never claimed to be. It is unfortunate that the people posting negative reviews on here are mostly doing so out of lack of research and preparation on their part. I would also like to add that the hacienda will work with anyone to help them arrange whatever additional amenities they need during their stay. Including cook, bartender and maid. They were great to work with and anything we needed addressed they did so right away. Renting a car and stopping a costco or grocery to get what you need for your stay would be advised or you can simply eat out or have meals delivered. We did our research and did this and our trip was worry free. It is truly a once in a life time experience and we are already looking into booking a return trip next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JLGPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todos Santos
8.5 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
360 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
22 reviews
8.9 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
450 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel

Address: Los Cerritos Beach, Km 65, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range: $415 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Cerritos is an exclusive boutique hotel. Located on a private bluff, this peaceful and private destination is sure to make your visit magical. This is the ultimate Mexican getaway. We are just 40 miles north of Cabo San Lucas and just down the road from the historic artist colony of Todos Santos. Cerritos Beach (world renown for exceptional surfing) is the perfect family vacation or solo hiatus paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing