We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh for their recipe...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Coronela

La Coronela
Ranked #16 of 91 Restaurants in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Poplar Grove, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Oh for their recipe...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Without intending to, we found ourselves at La Coronela on a Sunday evening. Our destination had been Tequila Sunrise, our hearts set on their stuffed poblano peppers. But at 6:30 they were closed so we went across the street to Hotel California and found La Coroneta. What a delight! The outdoor patio area was lovely but because it was cool, we chose to eat indoors where we could watch the chefs work. One was busy stuffing something and since we had come to Todos Santos for stuffed poblanos, we decided to try them but not expecting much. Wrong!!! La Coronela's shrimp and scallop stuffed poblanos were absolutely fabulous!!! The peppers were quite large and very generously stuffed with loads of fresh shrimp and scallops in a delicious mozzarella cheese concoction.. They are hands down our favorite stuffed poblanos.. Oh yes, the rest of the meals, drinks and service were great too...can't wait to go back for those seafood poblanos!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank viajer0s810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    111
    46
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a nice time, was up for a day trip from San Jose. Waiter was very accomodating and had a great sense of humor. Lunch was good, the boys had steak sandwiches and ceaser salad which, was fantastic. The girls had the surf and turf quesedillias (sp) which we did find to be a bit greasy (perhaps was the cheese used). Overall the atmosphere was nice and the service was very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Check you VISA”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had lunch , food good service not too bad , nice place. How ever the waiter thought the tip should have been larger so he added to it after we left. VISA is going to take care of it but who needs the hassle.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a late breakfast here and it was lovely. The atmosphere is comfortable with interesting decor and artwork. The food was good but not excellent and a bit pricey. Overall, it was a nice and relaxed way to start a day in Todos Santos. It's a very easy drive on the newly finished roads between there and Cabo so the town is worth a day trip to wonder through the galleries. Everything in town is a little pricey and works a little too hard to be cool and "artsy" but it's definitely a nice break from Cabo and some time well spent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RamblinRoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pricey but Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We each had the fish tacos and the black pepper parpadelle with beef tips. Both were fresh and well executed. Its a little pricey considering its a small tourist town. But you're on vacation, and this town is popular with celebrities during the art festival - its probably why the prices of souvenirs are overpriced and mostly non-negotiable. Service a little slow but it was obvious they were busy as well. We sat in the courtyard - and we recommend that as opposed to sitting indoors (where it's a little dark and don't seem as comfortable)

It was a good selection of choices on the menu. There are also daily choices.

Its right on the main street and not difficult to find. It's part of the hotel as most would guess from the title of this post.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LL608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Coronela also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to La Coronela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing