We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food and service. There are lots of better choices in Todos Santos!”
Review of Miguel's

Miguel's
Ranked #19 of 93 Restaurants in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Taste the best Chile Rellenos in Mexico. Stuffed with lobster or shrimp...wonderful. Great tequila bar and world class food.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service. There are lots of better choices in Todos Santos!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We (a family with kids ages 9 and 13) decied to eat at Miguel’s during our weeklong visit to Todos Santo because several people mentioned it. The owner was there when we ate. He told us how famous his restaurant is and pointed out several clippings from reviews from U.S. newspapers framed on the walls. We really couldn’t figure out why the reviews were positive. The food we were served was mediocre, the restaurant was rather dirty, and the service was poor. We went to the main branch of the restaurant, on Calle Degollado. It’s surrounded by bamboo walls and has a dirt floor. We came a little later than most people, and there was food on the floor here and there.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank EEDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    57
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendora, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best chile rellenos, sorry abuelita”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were in Cabo and wanted to see the town of Todos Santos, we rented a car and drove up the coast. Of course we drove right by the place on the way in to town. After spending hours shopping and having great Margaritas (my grandma's name) in the arts district of the historic town we decided to get some food - well chile rellenos. We found the little place on the way out. May wife had readgreat reviews, it looked quaint enough to guarantee some authentic mexican cooking, so we venture in.
Yeah yeah it has dirt floors and a thatch roof - what do you think cabo looked like before everyone discovered it. But I digress. We ordered up all the varieties of the rellenos, they were all delicious. The one common thing on all the chiles, the thing that made them uniquely delicious was the paper thin crunchy coating. The sides were great, the beers were cold and my friends and Ienjoyed the Baja Surf Shack atmosphere complete with Mexican relgious icons and surf boards.
Up to this point in my life I have been making rellenos like my Abualita Margarita with the fluffy egg coating and simple tomatoe and chile sauce. But now I only (try to) make them like Miguel's. Todos Santos is a great trip, off the beaten path, Miguel's is a must stop

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TecateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galiano Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“good value and attentive service”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Miguel has also opened a restaurant at Cerrito Beach, south of Todos Santos, off a dirt road on the Hwy to Cabo. Having eaten at both his restaurants during our stay in the area, we preferred the Cerrito Beach restaurant. This is good because we stayed for a week at the clean, comfortable little palapa accomodation that has recently been built behind the restaurant and so ate our way through the menu. The mixed plate was fabulous. Miguel is a genuinely nice guy and we enjoyed our week.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Miguel's features delicious authentic Mexican food - but this is "casual" Mexican food, as opposed to the more "gourmet" Mexican food that can be found in a couple other restaurants in town (like Los Adobes). That said, it is very good.

The setting is not the prettiest, though - the dirt floor is unappealing for a restaurant (unless we were at the beach), and the open-air walls let in too much of the traffic noise.

Try the Chilles Rellenos, which is one of Miguel's specialties. It's definitely worth a stop for lunch here during your stay in Todos Santos.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryAlphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Miguel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing