We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection by the beach”
Review of Villa Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Santa Cruz
Ranked #1 of 17 Todos Santos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Perfection by the beach”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Villa Santa Cruz in late July for what turned out to be one of the best weeks we've experienced in our seven year relationship. Simply put, Villa Santa Cruz and the surrounding property offer the most relaxing, romantic and gorgeous settings you can imagine: the perfect getaway just a couple hours by plane from California. The colorful and beautifully designed Villa is a welcoming space; as soon as we entered the first day, we couldn't get over the beautiful glass-tile staircase, the rustic Mexican furniture, the huge kitchen, the earthy colors and the soft breeze that seemed to be a constant presence on every floor and in every corner. Our room, Granada, was just the right size with a balcony overlooking the luxurious pool and the palm tree framed ocean in the background. The bed was huge and comfortable. It's impossible to describe in words the perfection that is waking up with the French doors wide open to allow the sound of crashing waves and a gentle breeze to flow in over your face, and then to smell the fresh coffee that is waiting for you just on the other side of the door. Matt and Jessica Canepa, the owners of Villa Santa Cruz, would prepare the most delicious breakfasts and lunches (some examples are broccoli frittada, huevos divorciados, and chicken enchiladas with salsa verde), and both of them showed such professionalism in attending our every need while giving us all the space we needed to let us feel like we were at home in the Villa. Another highlight that should not go unmentioned is the fact that at night, the black sky overflows with sparkling stars (a luxury we don't get to experience often as big city dwellers), and it was extra special to be able to gaze at the stars either from the rooftop terrace or from the perfectly-warmed jacuzzi. The same can be said about the dramatic sunsets every evening, which we also enjoyed from the stunning beach in front of the Villa or from atop the palapa on the property. Also, while being at the Villa gives you the sensation that you are far away from the rest of the world, it is easy to drive to other beaches and towns nearby if you want to explore the surrounding area. All in all, a perfect vacation that I hope to repeat and that I recommend to anyone who enjoys a relaxing and exotic beach setting and who understands the true value of genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
149
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our second time at the Villa was beyond phenomenal, we stay for a longer time than our first trip and accompanied by a larger group, renting the next door “casa 3 Palmas” (great 3 BD villa just on the other end of the pool) allowed us to comfortably accommodate 7 families with kids. The Villa & soundings is and has everything that us adults and kids reverie off for a truly dream retreat.
Everyone in our party truly had a wonderful time, Villa Santa Cruz provided each one of us with lifetime memories and we can’t wait to go back.
Thank you Matt & Jessica!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My fiancé and I spent 5 nights at Villa Santa Cruz in June. We are getting married at the Villa in November, and after months of pouring over the gorgeous pictures and reading the highly complimentary reviews, we made a trip down to Todos Santos to see it for ourselves. From the moment that we arrived, we immediately understood why people rave about the Villa. The Villa and the property are absolutely spectacular. The Villa is extremely thoughtfully designed and every small element has been considered for guests. There is fresh water readily available, white robes in the room, a shallow ledge in the pool for wading, and a toasty rooftop fire pit lit every night just when you need it, just to name a few things. As for the food, Matt and Jessica cook delicious meals - fresh, fragrant, flavorful, and healthy. There is always privacy to be found, either on the miles of uninhabited beach, by the pool, at the palapa, or on the balcony in your room. We also loved how you can do as much or as little as you feel like - there are dozens of activities to do in the area and gourmet restaurants, but you can also hire a chef to the Villa to cook for you or just lay by the pool. Matt and Jessica are fantastic hosts, and immediately make you feel at home.The value here is outstanding. I have travelled to many places in the world, but I haven't fell in love with a place as much as I did with Villa Santa Cruz. We feel fortunate to have found the Villa, and I know that this trip was the first of many for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

For the last 35 years+ I have visited and photographed many places on the globe, the accommodations at Villa Santa Cruz are at the top of my list for relaxing tranquility as well as some of the most photogenic grounds. I have relaxed at the Villa on 5 separate visits to Baja Sur. On each of my return visits the Canepas have surrounded my family and I with the warmth of life long friends.
Truly one of those places that you want to keep to your own...
Oh yea, if your real lucky you might get a chance to meet the amazing legendary Johny Brown!!
Happy travels...

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location, the weather, the food, the accommodations and service were WAAAAAAY above average. This place is a precious jewel. Walking on the beach in the morning and at sunset were amazing. The surf was up and it really was something to behold. I would recommend Villa Santa Cruz to anybody who wants to experience Mexico, Todos Santos and real charm.

Room Tip: All four rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A perfect place to leave it all behind and really relax. Villa Santa Cruz is a beautiful Villa on the beach and totally seculded. Old world beauty with all the conveniences. Walk on the beach and see nobody for miles, a bit of heaven! Large fabulous pool area and hottub. From sunrise to sunset the views are amazing. I was there visitng with friends from Australia, San Francisco, Los Angeles and Texas and we had a blast. The staff is just the best and so accomodating to your every need. The food was prepared with all fresh herbs and delightful. I know we will return again and again! Thank you Matt! you have created a place people only dream of visitng! Diane Barretti

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

went to todos santos with my girlfriend and boys. we had a great time at the villa. the location was amazing right on the beach and away from everything. The rooms are beautiful and amazing views of the ocean. One morning we saw whales swimming along the beach from our balcony. Matt made fresh and organic breakfast every morning. we missed it once we left. They have a great pool and hottub and you can walk along and beach for miles and not see a soul. The villa is about 4 miles north of town and if you are look for a quiet beautiful getaway then this is the place for you. Matt was an great guest and made our time very memorable. thanks again Matt we will see you again very soon.

Room Tip: make sure to watch the sunset on the roof. amazing views you will never forget. great firepit on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
4.4 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.4 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
4.4 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#2 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#3 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Hotelito
The Hotelito
#2 of 17 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santa Cruz

Property: Villa Santa Cruz
Address: Camino a las Playitas | La Pastora, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply fabulous retreat. This spectacular hacienda-style beach front villa evokes the feel of authentic Mexico. Set on 20 acres with expansive beach front, it is an ideal getaway for rest and relaxation. All four bedrooms have their own en suite bathroom, balcony, and ocean view. Enormous pool, jacuzzi, and swim up bar. Spacious roof terrace for whale watching and romantic sunsets. Perfect for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santa Cruz Hotel Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing