We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful, romantice getaway!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel California for 4 nights/ 5 days in June and had a great time. The decor in the hotel was beautiful, the food in the restaurant was amazing, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the service was superb. It was great to hear the bells from the mission next door. The memories that we brought back with us from our stay will last forever...for as they say, you can check out but you never really leave. We will be back for a return visit for sure. Saludos!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martyaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 649 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2010

We recently stayed 4 nights at Hotel California and it one of our best vacations in years! The hotel has an air of days gone by with their beautiful decor. Gorgeous courtyards in the center of the hotel, a great restaurant with delicious food (we ate all our meals there except one lunch in Cabo), and a very gracious and helpful staff. We spent most of our time either in Todos Santos exploring the area or at the hotel, though we did get to Cabo for a day. The beds are extremely comfortable, and from our balcony over-looking one of the courtyards you could see the ocean in the distance. We will definitely return with friends!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty3Connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My sister and I came here to stay for two nights. We had a wonderful time and the staff and service is excellent! The food at the restaurant is excellent! The pool is a little small, but since there are very few quests, it is not a problem. I would highly recommend this hotel! In the evening, there are candles lit all over.....beautiful!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

The Hotel California is a wonderful excursion away from the noise and businessess of Cabo San Lucas. We stayed for only one night during our 10 days in Baja recently and we were so happy with everything about this great hotel. The staff was so friendly and the owner Debbie was there to personally greet us upon our early arrival. She upgraded us to a roof top studio ocean view room overlooking the courtyard that had great dance music on Saturday night. On our private patio I could have spent my whole vacation basking in the sun and sipping margaritas. And the food was excellent -- you won't go away hungry. When we went downstairs for breakfast (happy to say they were serving as early as 7 a.m.) I couldn't help but notice everyone working there was singing and smiling. I said to our waiter, "you must love your job" and he replied, "this is Todos Santos -- everybody is happy here!" We will return next year for a longer stay so we can get out and explore more of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abba2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed at Hotel California for three nights. The hotel decor is amazing - I never got tired of just looking at all the furnishings, iron work, lighting. We stayed in a room on the street and expected it to be noisy, it was. The street the hotel sits on is very busy with traffic all day - and four-wheelers into the evening. We expected it. The room was clean, yeah small but so what. Bathroom was good size, nice shower. The bed was very comfy with very nice linens. Service in the hotel was great, staff were always cheerful and accommodating. Restaurant was fantastic and food and service was great. The hotel internet didn't work, but was able to connect at a cafe up the street. We are used to some kind of evening shopping - there was none in Todos Santos.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arctic_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

I can't believe that we stayed at the same place as the last 3 reviewers! We took over 5 rooms and were there for 5 nights for a wedding in Pescadero. Debbie and her staff were a delight to deal with, certainly helpful before and during our stay. The meals I had were all very tasty and the huevos rancheros sauce had me close to licking the plate.

It's old and cool and funky and you'll keep discovering new, beautiful, weird items of the decor - what could be better than that?

And as to whether or not it is THE Hotel California, come on people, the photo on the album cover is of the Beverly Hills Hotel, for one, and the Eagles were overwhelmed by their initial Hollywood experience - "such a lovely place" but with ominous undertones. Sitting in the lobby waiting for my people I watched 3 groups walk in off the street to take photos and tell each other about the Eagles - should a staff member run over and tell them they're wrong? Or should there be a big sign saying "This is NOT the place"/ It's not advertised as the basis for the song but they're not silly enough to go out of their way to disabuse those who want to believe it.

Our 6-day wedding fiesta in the Todos Santos area was magical, the Hotel California was the perfect base (and sometimes getaway) for the whole experience. Thanks Debbie and all of your staff.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We went to Todos Santos for a stop on our honeymoon trip to the Baja. We had a reservation for a specific room. When we arrived to check in, the OWNER informed us, we had a room, but it is not the one that we reserved. The whole experience was like an episode from Seinfeld. She had let the people that were already in the room stay and we could have a room with 2 single beds on the street side. We had RESERVED the room with a king bed and ocean view. She insisted that they do take reservations, but that they could not guarantee the room that was reserved...Hmmmm that doesn't sound like a reservation to me. She said she had made a business decision to let the other stay were they were and we had to take the room left. Needless to say, we did not stay. If that is her business ethics, we didn't want to be a part. She was cold and unwilling to work with us. I would stay clear of the hotel. There is a wonderful guest house at the end of the street that is very quiet and beautiful. Hacidenda guest houses. We highly recommend them!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
9  Thank maddux19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range: $163 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing