We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere is nice and the reggae band that played in the bar was great. The decore is interesting, however, you can see where corners are cut. The rooms are nice but have no fridge or TV and the windows dont have screens and yes there were mosquitos. I think overall it is a nice hotel, but too expensive. If they want to charge those kind of prices they need to add the amenities that go with them.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AnilemA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    206
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
115
279
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is an unusual, very tastefully decorated hotel. Don't come here if you expect a beach resort, it is far away from any beach and actually on the main road of Todos Santos (Mexico 19; I hasten to add that traffic is not a problem at all). There is a very nice pool and rooms have A/C, pillows are aplenty etc, but what you should come for is the ambiance. Sitting on the roof under the stars while a distant band plays local music is something that you won't find in Cabo San Lucas. Truly, an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ate in the resturant, and it was loud, brask and the waiters just didnt care!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Orangetraveller6:
Please accept our apologies, we would really appreciate it if you could give us another chance to serve you and hopefully change your opinion about our restaurant.
If it's not too much trouble, we would love to email with you so please write us at info@hotelcaliforniabaja.com
saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

What a wonderful suprise. We went for a 50th birthday celebration of a friend. We were a group of about 25 people. An absolutely beautiful hotel, the food and service was amazing. We only stayed one night and I am not sure what you would do there if you were to stay longer so one night was perfect. Todos Santos was a place that I would like to return to and explore some more, off the beaten path it is a refreshing bread from the commercialization of Cabo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcalif, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Kelly:
Thank you for staying with us!
We remember that 50th B-day, you had a taco buffet one night!
So glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you back soon!
There are plenty of things to do in Todos Santos depending on the season. You can fish, surf, realese baby turtles, attend the different festivities like the music fest, art fest, film fest. You can also just sit and relax by the pool or beach, visit the art galleries and shops, incredible fine dining...possibilities are endless.
Next time you're in town let us know and we'll plan out a bunch of cool activities for you!
Saludos from Magical Todos Santos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We loved us quaint hotel set in lovely Todos Santos. Lovely setting, excellent grounds and pool and nice big rooms. Very clean and really friendly staff. Traveling in a group of 4 - we all loved this hotel and it's character. They are not trading off the Eagels song even when questioned BUT if you listen to the words you just can't help but wonder.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcalif, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Trish:
Thank you for visiting us all the way from New Zeland. So glad you liked our hotel. We are working on improving every day. We really appreciate your review and hope to see you back in Todos Santos really soon!

saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you visit Todos Santos, a stop and/or stay at Hotel California is a must. You can stay
in a small, but comfortable room, stroll around the grounds, or relax and read. If you
stay on a Friday or Saturday night, be prepared to enjoy the live music into the wee
small hours.

As for the restaurant, the food and atmosphere reflect the ethos of Baja California. Take your time and enjoy a nice selection of eats and drinks. The menu is diverse, and the prices are
reasonable.

The adjacent store offers a pretty cool selection of moderately priced gifts.

Oh, and just for the record, the Eagles DID NOT pattern their song for this fine
establishment, nor vice versa. With that said, you can check out any time at the Hotel
California, but you can never leave.

Room Tip: If you want a really good sleep, request a room away from the music and the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BajaAlberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcalif, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear BajaAlberto:
Thank you for staying with us and for this kind review! We are thrilled that you had a good time and hope to see you in the near future.
Saludos from beautiful Todos Santos!

Hotel California Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
356 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

What a delightful part of our vacation. We drove down a dark dusty highway, the road was under repair, and spent the day and night in Todos Santos. The room was terrific, quaint and just right, without being fancy. We slept like babies and got up in time to enjoy a wonderful breakfast. Todos Santos is small but relaxing and we spent time with the hotel's owner, Debbie, rounding out a pleasant visit. But the dinner in the newer restaurant near the lobby... wow! We had a meal that was world class. I think it is one of the finest in the world. The Chef, Dany Lamote, from Belgium was just perfect. He not only fed us beyond belief,, but entertained us at our table with his stories. We couldn't decide on a sauce for the special, so he create four delightfully different flavors that several days later, are still mesmerizing me. The wines were wonderful and the desert was unique. Ever had an Avocado Milkshake? Even the dip for the bread, a creamy chipolte something, was amazing. Our thanks to Debbie and Dany and a very pleasant staff. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#2 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#8 of 9 in Todos Santos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotelito
The Hotelito
#2 of 17 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing