We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

What a wonderful suprise. We went for a 50th birthday celebration of a friend. We were a group of about 25 people. An absolutely beautiful hotel, the food and service was amazing. We only stayed one night and I am not sure what you would do there if you were to stay longer so one night was perfect. Todos Santos was a place that I would like to return to and explore some more, off the beaten path it is a refreshing bread from the commercialization of Cabo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcalif, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Kelly:
Thank you for staying with us!
We remember that 50th B-day, you had a taco buffet one night!
So glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you back soon!
There are plenty of things to do in Todos Santos depending on the season. You can fish, surf, realese baby turtles, attend the different festivities like the music fest, art fest, film fest. You can also just sit and relax by the pool or beach, visit the art galleries and shops, incredible fine dining...possibilities are endless.
Next time you're in town let us know and we'll plan out a bunch of cool activities for you!
Saludos from Magical Todos Santos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    219
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
124
290
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We loved us quaint hotel set in lovely Todos Santos. Lovely setting, excellent grounds and pool and nice big rooms. Very clean and really friendly staff. Traveling in a group of 4 - we all loved this hotel and it's character. They are not trading off the Eagels song even when questioned BUT if you listen to the words you just can't help but wonder.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcalif, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Trish:
Thank you for visiting us all the way from New Zeland. So glad you liked our hotel. We are working on improving every day. We really appreciate your review and hope to see you back in Todos Santos really soon!

saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you visit Todos Santos, a stop and/or stay at Hotel California is a must. You can stay
in a small, but comfortable room, stroll around the grounds, or relax and read. If you
stay on a Friday or Saturday night, be prepared to enjoy the live music into the wee
small hours.

As for the restaurant, the food and atmosphere reflect the ethos of Baja California. Take your time and enjoy a nice selection of eats and drinks. The menu is diverse, and the prices are
reasonable.

The adjacent store offers a pretty cool selection of moderately priced gifts.

Oh, and just for the record, the Eagles DID NOT pattern their song for this fine
establishment, nor vice versa. With that said, you can check out any time at the Hotel
California, but you can never leave.

Room Tip: If you want a really good sleep, request a room away from the music and the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BajaAlberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcalif, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear BajaAlberto:
Thank you for staying with us and for this kind review! We are thrilled that you had a good time and hope to see you in the near future.
Saludos from beautiful Todos Santos!

Hotel California Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

What a delightful part of our vacation. We drove down a dark dusty highway, the road was under repair, and spent the day and night in Todos Santos. The room was terrific, quaint and just right, without being fancy. We slept like babies and got up in time to enjoy a wonderful breakfast. Todos Santos is small but relaxing and we spent time with the hotel's owner, Debbie, rounding out a pleasant visit. But the dinner in the newer restaurant near the lobby... wow! We had a meal that was world class. I think it is one of the finest in the world. The Chef, Dany Lamote, from Belgium was just perfect. He not only fed us beyond belief,, but entertained us at our table with his stories. We couldn't decide on a sauce for the special, so he create four delightfully different flavors that several days later, are still mesmerizing me. The wines were wonderful and the desert was unique. Ever had an Avocado Milkshake? Even the dip for the bread, a creamy chipolte something, was amazing. Our thanks to Debbie and Dany and a very pleasant staff. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had a great lunch on the back patio of the Hotel California. We were still on Michigan time so when we sat down we were the only ones there. The staff is laid back and friendly. We had duck tostadas, chicken quesadillas, and chips with salsa and guacamole. The guacamole was amazingly fresh and flavorful. The tostadas were amazingly well prepared. The margarita while a bit overpriced was also good. Overall a great experience and much better than we thought we were going to get at a "tourist" destination.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derekzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Todos Santos is a small quiet city on the Pacific coast. About a 50 minute drive from Cabo.
We stayed at the Hotel California for two nights in March 2012. The rooms are very quaint but the hotel and the grounds are magnificent. Lots of artwork and great food. A very friendly helpful staff. But the real magic starts at night, the lighting and grounds decor is outstanding. Very romantic and relaxing. Many good places to eat in town besides the hotel and once your in town walking works better than driving. Absolutely worth a night or two. Not much for the young kids to do so leave them at home for this excursion.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cred1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I booked this hotel after reviewing it on Tripadvisor, checking the hotel website and then calling the hotel.
I was looking to book a suite with two bedrooms as we were travelling with my parents and our young child. The hotel appeared to have what they described as a large 2 bedroom suite on their website but, to be sure, I called to check that there were 2 separate bedrooms, and was assured that this was the case, but the person I spoke to added that there was no door in between the rooms. When we arrived at our room I was surprised to see our room was essentially a double bedroom, the beds being about 3 metres apart, and not at all "large" as advertised (see photo below). When I went down to reception to express this surprise I was told that another room was available but we would be charged full price of a further $110 on top of the $170 for the "suite".
There was no common area in the room we booked which, for me, is a requirement if you are going to call hotel accommodation "a suite". There was a small shared bathroom and only one closet which was also small. In all we felt conned by the description and the staff reaction was insult to injury.
Just for the record: this place has no connection to the Eagles classic but it does seem to play on this in order to justify overpricing its' rather ordinary rooms. Todos Santos is well worth the visit, but you should stay elsewhere as this is basically a tourist trap.

Room Tip: Don't go for the 2 bedroom option unless you want to listen to your Dad snore like a walrus all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michaelmurphy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmass, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Hotel California would like to apologize for the misunderstanding with the room’s description. We are working on changing our website so that our guests don’t feel misled. Hotel California has been in Todos Santos, Mexico since 1950 and has become a legend and a tradition in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
1.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#7 of 8 in Todos Santos
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#1 of 13 in Todos Santos
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing