We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Are Returning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Colibris Casitas
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Los Colibris Casita property is gorgeous. Our private rooftop terrace offered an additional place to relax, read, whale watch and enjoy the stunning view. And the hosts Bryan and Sergio always happy to accommodate. We loved our visit so much that we will be returning to Todos Santos and more specifically to Los Colibris, this year.

Upon arriving at the property, my boyfriend and I were greeted by Bryan and her dogs (I fell in love with these dogs). We felt at home immediately. We arrived in the evening so we ventured down the hill into town for dinner. Todos has wonderful restaurants ranging from tasty, inexpensive taquerias offering fresh seafood, to more upscale California fusion. Bistro Magico and El Brote create wonderful inexpensive vegetarian and vegan options. The town is quiet and charming, most roads paved while some still unpaved and dusty (part of the charm).

Bryan and Sergio own and operate Todos Santos Eco Adventures and can hook you up with any activities such as surfing, kayaking, mountain biking, bird watching and more. Being the active type and not the “lay around the pool” kind of couple, I thought my boyfriend and I would be on the mountain bikes right away. Wrong!

Los Colibris is located on a hilltop and claims the most beautiful views around which we discovered to be true. We awakened to the view (from our bed) of a terraced hillside leading down to a lagoon, a gorgeous strand of secluded beach, and an ocean view as far as the eye can see. The backside of the property offers a cactus, mountain view. So instead of immediately hopping into activity, we were coaxed into relaxation.

This turned out to be extremely therapeutic as my boyfriend had recently started a stressful new job and didn’t realize how exhausted he was until he reclined on a lawn chair relaxed by the view. For three days we alternated from sunning by the pool to hanging out on our shaded private rooftop terrace. The terrace is furnished with a table and chairs for rooftop dining or a glass of wine, and a day bed for reclining. This was perfect for me as I have a back injury. I was able to lie down, be really comfortable, and read my book only to be interrupted by whale sightings literally every few seconds.

It’s so relaxing and scenic that you might not want to leave your casita… but do. Los Colibris is one of the few properties in Todos where you can actually walk to a beach. (And if you’d like, the dogs will accompany you.) As mentioned there are many activities and eco adventures to take part in, as well as excursions and other beautiful beaches just a short drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Los Colibris Casitas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 185 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

We come to Cabo annually and discovered this gem three years ago, it has become our port of entry to the area. We love the relaxing atmosphere, stunning views, isolated beach, and the exceptional hospitality provided by the owners, staff, and furry friends:)
Whether you just want to kick back, explore the area, or schedule activities there is something for everyone and this year an optional breakfast was added to the choices. We stayed in Mr. Bings casita and loved waking up with the view from the bedroom, along with coffee on the patio.
The whales were very active as usual and sea turtle camp is not too far up the beach.
It's a phenomenal place and kudos to Sergio & Bryan for continuing to create a unique oasis for travelers!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My friends and I wanted to check out Todos Santos for one night. There were four of us and we wanted to stay in one unit yet not be crammed into a small hotel room. The answer: one of the casitas at Los Calibris! I'm so glad we found this place...it's absolutely beautiful. Perched on a hill overlooking the pacific, the view from the casita or from the pool is breathtaking. You can tell the owners are very passionate about this place and that they put a lot of love into it. Skip the tourist traps of Los Cabos and treat yourself to a quiet respite in charming Todos Santos.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwterp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Without a doubt, one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed at. The view from the hot tub was incredible. Met two other couples and we just talked and enjoyed the scenery for over an hour. We had only reserved LCC for one night and I was only there for ten minutes when I wished we had not all ready prepaid our next stop. The room was very comfortable and the interior decorator gets an A+! Sergio was a great host and the following day took us on a fantastic, informative whale watch. It was just a short walk to Posada La Poza for a special dinner. Cannot recommend this place enough-just incredible.
Michael
Brimfield, MA

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Do you love finding one-of-a-kind travel locales that hardly anyone knows about? Have you been searching for the perfect getaway that’s not too far away? Well, then, Los Colibris Casitas is for you. This is a small resort with phenomenal service and the small infinity pool, although shared, feels like your own private plunge pool. And the Jacuzzi at the end of the day, with a beer in hand, is the best way to ease into the evening.

The resort has a calm and relaxing feel to it. It's a bit off the beaten path, but a real value and the owners sincerely care about their guests and they do everything to make you feel welcome. Bryan and Sergio will work with you to make your time in Todos Santos the most enjoyable experience ever…so enjoyable that you’ll be booking your next trip before you leave! They also run Todos Santos Eco-Adventures (TOSEA) and thus know the most interesting things to do, for any activity level and for any size group. They’ll share their favorite spots for hiking, surfing, whale watching, kayaking, horseback riding, snorkeling, cooking, and more. Such a wealth of local insight.

Our time at Los Colibris was a truly magical experience. Everything is top-notch—the views, the service, the accommodations and the people. We’ve stayed in a casita overlooking the pool and also the house which is just down the road (easy walking distance) and both times we felt so lucky to wake up to such spectacular scenery every morning and then to watch the sunsets before going to bed. It is so peaceful and relaxing that it’s hard to explain.

This last time at Los Colibris, we had a cook come into our home to make breakfasts. That was a true treat! The breakfasts were authentic and very flavorful. Total YUM factor. Finally, hikes and walks on the beach, just down from your casita, allows for some quiet time, yet the waves and wildlife ended up being nature’s T.V.

As we were leaving Todos Santos, Bryan was talking about their newly launched Sea Turtle Camp. This is a unique adventure in which volunteers have the opportunity to work with local biologists to protect endangered turtles. Each night, during the laying season, you can help combat declining populations by volunteering with biologists as they collect the eggs and relocate them to a protective nursery. In many cases you'll be able to see mature nests bubbling with turtle hatchlings and have the opportunity to guide the hatchlings on their way to the sea. It means staying up all night, so one evening is usually all you’ll want to do, but it is a great program. This is just another example of how Bryan and Sergio are true stewards of Todos Santos and how they are dedicated to keeping the area viable and sustainable.
GO! You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were flying to Cabo San Lucas for 4 days of R&R after a very hectic week of wedding celebrations in California and because there were 4 of us, all with very different requirements, I did a lot of research to find just the right place to stay. We decided on Todos Santos - quieter and less of a party then Cabo, good surfing nearby with a wave that worked in November, an authentic Mexican town within walking distance with shops and restaurants and somewhere we could do a day trip or 2 from if we chose to. Oh and the accommodation itself had to be nice!

Well we hit the jackpot when we found Los Colibris…it was exactly what we were looking for! Not only did it tick all the boxes I mentioned above but our casita was perfect - great rooms, full kitchen with all facilities, A/C, and beautiful views. The grounds themselves were stunning, the pool was the best place to watch the sunset from (coming in a close 2nd by our balcony with Coronas in hand!). The dogs and cats were a wonderful addition and made it feel a little more like home. And Bryan was just incredible! She offered so much assistance in accommodating our every whim…whether it was horseback riding on the beach (a lifelong dream of mine), yoga on their new deck (not to be missed!), surfing lessons or a day with the whale sharks….she was just fabulous. I'm an event producer and if she lived in Australia, I would fight to hire her!

I look forward to returning to Los Colibris. I only hope it's for a much longer visit next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in Casa Colibris and it was perfect for the 4 of us - 2 bedrooms (one with a double bed an...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

On November 9 we arrived from San Jose del Cabo after riding for five days on mules. We were dirty, tired and in need of some R & R and a place to re-organize our gear. Los Colibris delivered on all accounts. We were given sparkling clean rooms, access to a kitchen area where we could cook as a group and spread out our maps and computers. There was land next door where we could tether our mules before they were boarded elsewhere for a couple of days. And best of all, there was plenty of hot water! Best shower ever! We used the laundry facilities-I know my clothes needed it! We were able to spread out our gear on the patio, repack, then relax while we enjoyed stunning views of the sun setting over the crashing waves. There was great internet access for us to post all of expedition updates. And, a coffee maker in the room, not something you see too often in Mexican accommodations. There was an infinity pool that I didn't have time to use but one of our other team members did and she said it was wonderful. The hosts were friendly and super helpful. I will definitely come back some time to simply relax and enjoy life. :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrrldgrrlLeslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio J, Owner at Los Colibris Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We were so thrilled to have La Mula Mil - the Mule 1,000 - women here with us at Los Colibris! Thank you so much for letting us be just a small part of your grand adventure. For those who may not be aware, La Mula Mil is retracing the Meling expedition of 1963/64, riding mules for 1,000 miles up the Baja Peninsula and documenting what they see and learn. One of the riders in the original expedition - now 78 - is riding with the group for several weeks as well. Inspiration for all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1.1 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Colibris Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Colibris Casitas

Address: 88 Calle Guaycura | Colonia La Poza, Todos Santos 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Todos Santos
Price Range: $112 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Colibris Casitas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Colibris (“The Hummingbirds”) was made for nature lovers seeking beauty and tranquility. Our 3 casas and 2 casitas each have magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and a palm grove oasis to the front, and the Sierra la Laguna mountains to the back. We have the most stunning views in Todos Santos. We are a 5-minute drive to the shops, restaurants and artists galleries of Todos Santos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Los Colibris Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing